Please see our COVID-19 Statement
Acoustic Guitar Necks

Acoustic Guitar Necks

Acoustic Guitar Necks 14-fret Dreadnought, dovetail

14-fret Dreadnought, dovetail

Item # 1105
In stock, ready to ship!

$181.55

+
Acoustic Guitar Necks 14-fret Dreadnought, bolt-on

14-fret Dreadnought, bolt-on

Item # 1104
In stock, ready to ship!

$181.55

+
Acoustic Guitar Necks 14-fret OM, dovetail

14-fret OM, dovetail

Item # 1108
In stock, ready to ship!

$199.11

+
Acoustic Guitar Necks 14-fret OM, bolt-on

14-fret OM, bolt-on

Item # 1109
In stock, ready to ship!

$199.11

+
Acoustic Guitar Necks 12-fret 000, dovetail

12-fret 000, dovetail

Item # 1107
In stock, ready to ship!

$199.11

+
Acoustic Guitar Necks 12-fret 000, bolt-on

12-fret 000, bolt-on

Item # 1106
In stock, ready to ship!

$199.11

+
 
Total:
Qty:
Scroll to Top

Acoustic Guitar Necks

About This Item

Save hours of work! Start with these precision machined necks, so you have more time to work on the details that make the guitar your own.

High quality one-piece quartersawn mahogany necks for Martin-style guitars. What's carved for you:
• Tuner holes • Neck heel
• Truss rod slot • Diamond contour at the peghead base

Dovetail necks have a traditional "V" mortise neck heel. Matching neck block sold separately.

Bolt-on necks have a straight mortise neck heel, with two bolts and nuts installed for attachment without gluing. Matching neck block sold separately.


14-fret neck with solid peghead for Dreadnought or other acoustic guitar with 14th fret at the body. Each neck is slotted for our Hot Rod Truss Rod (item #2551, 4mm Allen nut, 14-1/4" long).

Peghole diameter 1/4" (6.35mm)
Peghole spacing 1-5/8" (41.27mm)
Width at the nut 1-3/4" (44.45mm)
Width at the body 2-3/16" (55.56mm)
Truss rod slot width 7/32" (5.56mm)
Truss rod slot depth 7/16" (11.11mm)

Dreadnought neck
Heel Height 3-3/4" (95.25mm)
Dovetail Height 3-3/16" (80.96mm)
Tenon Height 3-1/32" (76.99mm)

OM neck
Heel Height 3-3/16" (80.96mm)
Dovetail Height 2-9/16" (65.09mm)
Tenon Height 2-13/16" (71.44mm)


12-fret neck with slotted peghead for 0, 00, and 000 (non-Dreadnought) acoustic guitars with 12th fret at the body. A peghead veneer is recommended. Each neck is slotted for our Hot Rod Truss Rod (item #2550, 4mm Allen nut, 12-1/4" long).

Headstock thickness 5/8" (15.87mm)
Peghole diameter 1/4" (6.35mm)
Peghole spacing 1-3/8" (34.92mm)
Width at the nut 1-7/8" (47.62mm)
Width at the body 2-5/16" (58.74mm)
Truss rod slot width 7/32" (5.56mm)
Truss rod slot depth 7/16" (11.11mm)
Heel Height 3-1/4" (82.55mm)
Dovetail Height 2-9/16" (65.09mm)
Tenon Height 2-13/16" (71.44mm)

A short mahogany filler insert is included for truss rod installation. Final sanding and finishing are required.

Also available: fingerboard, matching neck block, truss rod, peghead veneer and string nut are sold separately.


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING
WARNING: Cancer and Reproductive Harm - www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.


Customer Reviews

  • Excellent
  • Good
  • Average
  • Fair
  • Poor
Write a review
4.0
  • 4.24 average rating from 25 reviews
Sort by
4.0

At least it's one piece

By

Verified Buyer


Good diamond cut in the back but there's no way to make a V neck because it's already cut too much so you have a low profile neck. I'm willing to do a little work.

5.0

Great!

By

Verified Buyer


Just what the Dr ordered.

5.0

Replacement Neck

By

Verified Buyer


This neck was a replacement for a twisted guitar kit neck. The new neck is very good and the staff were great at fixing the issue at no cost. Shipping was very fast to Canada.
Many Thanks
Bob Jensen

5.0

Great service!

By

Verified Buyer


Got two necks with problems, StewMac was very reactive and super fast to send replacements. I've been dealing with SM since the early eighties, great place to shop!

5.0

Perfect for any build!

By

Verified Buyer


This neck was actually a replacement part for a neck damaged in shipping. Stew Mac, led by Young Dan?? (in the DVD) is the greatest provider of parts and customer service I’ve ever seen! Without question, they solved my replacement issue lightnin’ fast! I am a “Forever Stew Mac” buyer. Props to Matt, Zach and of course “Young Dan” for support and education. Hey, if you’re hiring..... I’m in! Peace out.
Rob Wiacek.....check guitars

5.0

Excellent Customer Service

By

Verified Buyer


The neck included in my Dreadnought Guitar kit had diagonal grain in the peghead and heel. It was unattractive and I feared that a corner might split off.

I phoned STEWMAC to request a replacement neck with straight grain and they made the exchange without protest at no cost to me and the replacement neck is beautiful.

5.0

Great for first time build

By

Verified Buyer


I got the bolt on so I could finish my build this year. I’m a meticulous wanna be luthier and a bit of a rookie with necks, so NEXT time from scratch, but this was is a great way to go for now.

5.0

A thing of beauty

By

Verified Buyer


This neck gets an A+ can't wait to play it

5.0

Update from before.

By

Verified Buyer


I was going to use the first neck they sent. I could have fixed the problems with it but Stew Macs service department E-Mailed me (At no request from me) and insisted they send me a new one even though I started to work on it. Kudos and a piece of raisin pie to the service department just for caring. Now the new neck has some minor flaws but is 10 times better than the first. Minus 1 star for that but plus 1 star for the excellent service. Once again - Thank You Stewart MacDonald.

1.0

Don't know what to say.

By

Verified Buyer


I was looking for a quality neck for a high quality build. I figured with Stew Macs reputation and the price tag, I was going to get a nice one. First off if this is quarter sawn the cut it out of the wrong corner, not even close. But it is a true one piece, no scarf joints. It is twisted about 3 degrees counterclockwise, the tuner holes were drilled on a angle, no big deal I have to enlarge them anyway for some Grover's (By the way I got them from SM and they are excellent). The general routing is not the best. It looks like something that was rushed by an employee about an hour before closing on a Friday night. I know this was made in rough form for more custom ability but with all the extra work I have to do to fix the problems with it, I could have gotten one from E-Bay for 30 bucks with no difference. Sorry Stem Mac for the bad review but this neck is poor quality.

Response from StewMac


We are very sorry to hear you were unhappy with the neck you received. I sent you an email regarding getting a replacement neck sent to you right away. It sounds like a bad one got past our QC and we would be more than happy to fix this for you.

Call us or reply to the email if you have any questions. 1-800-848-2273

Spencer, Customer Support

Showing 10 of 25 Read more reviews >>