Please see our COVID-19 Statement
ZerO Glide Nuts

ZerO Glide Nuts

The easy way to install a nut, and accurate string height is built in.

Better tuning, better open string tone
The zero fret approach reduces string contact in the nut by 93%. Strings glide freely on the polished fret, and return to tune fast and reliably.

No modification needed
No cutting or changing your guitar. You can switch back to your conventional nut if you ever feel like it. Fretboard radius is not an issue: choose the ZerO Glide that fits your guitar, and the zero fret flexes to conform to your fretboard.

Available preslotted for most string spacings, and unslotted for any situation.

Upgrade option! ZerO Glide now available in stainless steel
ZerO Glide now offers stainless steel zero frets, available separately. You can easily install these frets in your existing Zero Glide nut, or add them to a new installation.


$35.70

Add to Cart Below
Preslotted ZerO Glide Nuts
LENGTH x HEIGHT x THICKNESS
ADD TO CART BELOW
ZerO Glide Nuts ZS-7F Slotted for Fender

ZS-7F Slotted for Fender

Length: 1-11/16" (42.8mm)
Height: 13/64" (4.9mm)
Thickness: 7/64" (2.82mm)
String Spacing: 1-3/8" (34.8mm)
Radius: 9.5"; fits 7.25" to 12"

Item # 7030-F
In stock, ready to ship!

$35.70

+
ZerO Glide Nuts ZS-1 Slotted for Gibson

ZS-1 Slotted for Gibson

Length: 1-51/64" (45.8mm)
Height: 15/32" (12mm)
Thickness: 15/64" (5.9mm)
String Spacing: 1-7/16" (36.5mm)
Radius: 12"; fits 8" to 16"

Item # 7030-G
In stock, ready to ship!

$35.70

+
ZerO Glide Nuts ZS-3 Slotted for Martin

ZS-3 Slotted for Martin

Length: 1-49/64" (44.7mm)
Height: 15/32" (11.9mm)
Thickness: 15/64" (5.9mm)
String Spacing: 1-23/64" (34.5mm)
Radius: 16"; fits 12" to 20"
This is a flat-bottomed Martin nut, not an angled-bottom nut.

Item # 7030-M
In stock, ready to ship!

$35.70

+
ZerO Glide Nuts ZS-5 Slotted for Taylor

ZS-5 Slotted for Taylor

Length: 1-51/64" (45.8mm)
Height: 15/32" (11.7mm)
Thickness: 15/64" (5.9mm)
String Spacing: 1-13/32" (35.7mm)
Radius: 16", fits 12" to 20"

Item # 7030-T
In stock, ready to ship!

$35.70

+
ZerO Glide Nuts ZS-14 Slotted for Dreadnought

ZS-14 Slotted for Dreadnought

Length: 1-3/4" (44.5mm)
Height: 15/32" (11.7mm)
Thickness: 15/64" (5.9mm)
String Spacing: 1-15/32" (37.5mm)
Radius: 16"; fits 12" to 20"

Item # 7030-D
In stock, ready to ship!

$35.70

+
ZerO Glide Nuts ZS-15 Slotted for 000 Guitar

ZS-15 Slotted for 000 Guitar

Length: 1-3/4" (44.5mm)
Height: 15/32" (11.7mm)
Thickness: 15/64" (5.9mm)
String Spacing: 1-33/64" (38.5mm)
Radius: 16"; fits 12" to 20"

Item # 7030-000
In stock, ready to ship!

$35.70

+
ZerO Glide Nuts ZS-13 Slotted for Classical

ZS-13 Slotted for Classical

Length: 2-1/8" (53.8mm)
Height: 7/16" (11mm)
Thickness: 13/64" (5.25mm)
String Spacing: 1-45/64" (43.3mm)
Radius: Flat (fits flat to 16")

Item # 7030-CL
In stock, ready to ship!

$35.70

+
ZerO Glide Nuts ZS-8 Slotted for Banjo

ZS-8 Slotted for Banjo

Length: 1-29/64" (37mm)
Height: 15/32" (12mm)
Thickness: 15/64" (5.9mm)
String Spacing: 1" (25.4mm)
Radius: Flat (fits flat to 16")

Item # 7030-B
In stock, ready to ship!

$35.70

+
ZerO Glide Nuts ZS-10 Slotted for Mandolin

ZS-10 Slotted for Mandolin

Length: 1-17/64" (32.3mm)
Height: 15/32" (12mm)
Thickness: 15/64" (6mm)
String Spacing: 61/64" (24.4mm)
Radius: Flat (fits flat to 16")

Item # 7030-MA
In stock, ready to ship!

$35.70

+
Unslotted ZerO Glide Nuts
LENGTH x HEIGHT x THICKNESS
ADD TO CART BELOW
ZerO Glide Nuts ZB-12F Unslotted for Fender

ZB-12F Unslotted for Fender

Length: 1-11/16" (42.9mm)
Height: 13/64" (5.1mm)
Thickness: 7/64" (2.82mm)
Radius: 9.5"; fits 7.25" to 12"

Item # 7030-FB
In stock, ready to ship!

$35.70

+
ZerO Glide Nuts ZB-2 Unslotted for Gibson

ZB-2 Unslotted for Gibson

Length: 1-25/32" (45.4mm)
Height: 15/32" (12mm)
Thickness: 15/64" (5.9mm)
Radius: 12"; fits 8" to 16"

Item # 7030-GB
In stock, ready to ship!

$35.70

+
ZerO Glide Nuts ZB-4 Unslotted for Martin/Taylor

ZB-4 Unslotted for Martin/Taylor

Length: 1-57/64" (48mm)
Height: 15/32" (11.9mm)
Thickness: 15/64" (5.9mm)
Radius: 16"; fits 12" to 20"
This is a flat-bottomed Martin nut, not an angled-bottom nut.

Item # 7030-MB
In stock, ready to ship!

$35.70

+
ZerO Glide Nuts ZB-11 Unslotted for 12-string

ZB-11 Unslotted for 12-string

Length: 2" (50.7mm)
Height: 15/32" (11.9mm)
Thickness: 15/64" (5.9mm)
Radius: 16", fits 12" to 20"

Item # 7030-12
In stock, ready to ship!

$35.70

+
 
Total:
Qty:
Scroll to Top

ZerO Glide Nuts

About This Item

The easy way to install a nut, and accurate string height is built in.

Better tuning, better open string tone
The zero fret approach reduces string contact in the nut by 93%. Strings glide freely on the polished fret, and return to tune fast and reliably.

No modification needed
No cutting or changing your guitar. You can switch back to your conventional nut if you ever feel like it. Fretboard radius is not an issue: choose the ZerO Glide that fits your guitar, and the zero fret flexes to conform to your fretboard.

Available preslotted for most string spacings, and unslotted for any situation.

Upgrade option! ZerO Glide now available in stainless steel
ZerO Glide now offers stainless steel zero frets, available separately. You can easily install these frets in your existing Zero Glide nut, or add them to a new installation.


Simpler than making a nut from scratch
Making a traditional nut is tricky: it means cutting six string slots, each to a perfect depth. The ZerO Glide is so much easier: the built-in zero fret sets all the string heights at once, uniformly. The precut string slots are only needed for string spacing.

Swap out your existing nut
ZerO Glide is a direct replacement, with sizes to fit a wide range of guitars and banjos. You get four frets of different heights, to match the frets on your guitar. These are of a special nickel silver alloy that's harder and longer-wearing than conventional frets.

The zero fret sits at the exact right point for accurate intonation. Tuning is smoother too, as the strings glide across the polished fret surface.

"It was an improvement on my banjo... It actually means the nut sounds exactly like the fretted notes. So if you're doing music like I do, where you're going back and forth from open to closed strings in different places up and down the neck, having them sound exactly the same is an improvement. I found it was a fuller sound. I'm a fan of that."
Bela Fleck, Banjoist and Composer

"It's a totally logical way to do a string nut. If you want exactly the same tone on an open string and a fretted string, there's nothing quite like putting a fret there."
Rick Turner, Rick Turner Guitar Company

Installation instructions included. Minor trimming may be needed.



CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING
WARNING: Cancer and Reproductive Harm - www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.


Video

Instructions

Product Instructions

Zero Glide Nuts Sizing Sheet

Find the Zero Glide Nut that fits your instrument.

Product Instructions

How To Install the ZerO Glide

How to install the ZerO Glide Nut in your instrument.

Customer Reviews

  • Excellent
  • Good
  • Average
  • Fair
  • Poor
Write a review
4.5
  • 4.53 average rating from 125 reviews
Sort by
Displaying 2 of 13
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13
5.0

Great Sound!

By

Verified Buyer


I got this for my Martin HD28 to help bring out the highs on it, as it has great low end, and needed the highs to make a great sounding guitar. It wasn't too hard to put on (lots of sanding) and I was able to "trial" the size of the "zero fret" as the strings held the nut and zero fret in place so I could try out different heights. I then glued them in place (diluted wood glue for the bone nut and gelled super glue for the zero fret). Now my Martin has the sound I've always wanted from it. Great low end, and sparkling highs (when pared with Gibson Masterbuilt 80/20 strings)!

5.0

I like it

By

Verified Buyer


I ordered the unslotted gibson version for my stewmac 335 kit (1 5/8") on the morning of March 19, received it and installed it the evening of March 20th. that was fast... 2nd guitar i put one on, makes a huge difference in tone, better than bone (imo). Although I am not a guitar legend by any stretch of the imagination, I am a customer and can affirm that stewmac service is the best.

4.0

zero fret!  great old idea!

By


ive gravitated to this so often but hated the string retainer usually associated with the Japanese style of the sixties. here its back again and ive tried it and I really like it, but it does rattle some. the fix came to mind when I thought if I could only have an extremely thin soft pad that followed the contour of the nut slots, it would dampen that rattle without losing the slip ability for tuning and of course, the fret tone.so I put a piece of nylon string behind the fret and in front of the slots and the rattle goes away. need to include 2 inch piece of string.

5.0

Skeptical at first

By

Verified Buyer


When I first saw these 2 years ago I was skeptical but I took the plunge and couldn't be happier that I did. Nice to have some easy adjustment in an acoustic nut, Makes playability much easier when doing setups. Big upside.

2.0

I want to love this- can't

By

Verified Buyer


The zero fret ends up notched very quickly- you do a low bend and you can hear a loud pop as the string exits the fret groove and re enters it.

I've gone through two of these frets already.

When the fret is not failing these are great with a bigsby/Les Paul.

5.0

Now on all my guitars

By

Verified Buyer


Every guitar that I refinish gets one of these zero fret kits. I love the way they sound!

1.0

Poor performance

By

Verified Buyer


I've tried three of these,, One slotted and the other two I filed myself... All of which have terrible issues with the string vibrating in between the slots (most pronounced on the pre-slotted nut as they file the slots rather wide. It's a very difficult balance between getting the slots deep enough so the strings won't buzz on the fret and not too deep that there is too much width in the slot which allows the string to move back and forth and make annoying click sounds when bending strings... I would not recommend these unless you have very exact files sizes that match your string gauges... I would avoid the pre-slotted nuts altogether.

Response from StewMac


Hi Greg,

Thank you for sharing your hoest feedback with us, we truly appreciate it. We're sorry to hear that the ZB-12F ZerO Glide Nut did not meet your expectations. We stand behind our 100% customer satisfaction guarantee -- if you are not satisfied with a product we sell, you are welcome to return it at anytime for a refund or exchange. If you can, give us a call at 1-800-848-2273 and we will take care of this for you. We look forward to helping you with this.

4.0

Great, but I need to pay more atension!

By

Verified Buyer


the nut cuts are not really great, there square, a bit sharp on the edges and so on. it comes whit 4 fret options for adjusting the action. it doesn't fit snuggly like the old one but when you glue it in it should be good!
but I didn't realize that Epiphone Les pauls have a slightly tighter string spacing than a Gibson so I'll have to do something about that, maybe put a binding on it to widen it a little bit?!

4.0

Zero Glide Nut Adaptation

By

Verified Buyer


HI,
I've adapted this nut on a low cost Strat copy,and i've had some troubles,cause the radius was not a fender ,as i thought,and the width of the slot was different ,so my problems!After a lot of brain works...it fits and I'm satisfied enough,but after a lot of patience and trimmings.

5.0

Great Nut Replacement!

By

Verified Buyer


I bought this for my Squire Strat to replace the plastic nut. The guitar really rings out and there is no binding at the nut, so the Strat stays in tune much better now.

I replaced it myself, but I have experience doing guitar repair. I found it to be easy and straightforward to install, but I recommend finding a tech if you are inexperienced doing this type of work.

Displaying 2 of 13
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13