Bleached White Bone Nuts

Bleached White Bone Nuts

Bone's hardness and density contributes to good tone, it polishes well, and it allows more precise slot filing.

Stewart-MacDonald is your source for quality bone!
Bone is traditionally preferred for making nuts and saddles on quality instruments.

Blank nuts have oversize length and height, for custom shaping in your shop. They're ready for trimming, filing, sanding and slotting.

Preshaped nuts will save you a LOT of work — a head start for the novice builder, and a bonus for the busy repair shop where time is money! The dimensions have been carefully researched, and minor trimming, slotting, and sanding are all that's needed to fit most popular guitars.


from $4.17MIX + SAVE

Add to Cart Below
For Fender® guitars and basses
LENGTH x HEIGHT x THICKNESS
ADD TO CART BELOW
Bleached White Bone Nuts For Fender, blank

For Fender, blank

Blank
1-7/8" x 9/32" x 1/8"
(47.63mm x 7.14mm x 3.18mm)

Item # 6000
In stock, ready to ship!

$4.17

12 or more $3.59
24 or more $3.09
+
Bleached White Bone Nuts For Fender, 7-1/4" radius

For Fender, 7-1/4" radius

Shaped
1-45/64" x 3/16" x 1/8"
(43.26mm x 4.75mm x 3.18mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top and bottom radius

Item # 6001
In stock, ready to ship!

$11.36

12 or more $9.77
24 or more $8.41
+
Bleached White Bone Nuts For Fender, 9-1/2" radius

For Fender, 9-1/2" radius

Shaped
1-45/64" x 3/16" x 1/8"
(43.26mm x 4.75mm x 3.18mm)
9-1/2" (254mm) top and bottom radius

Item # 6002
In stock, ready to ship!

$11.36

12 or more $9.77
24 or more $8.41
+
For Gibson® guitars, basses, banjos, and mandolins
LENGTH x HEIGHT x THICKNESS
ADD TO CART BELOW
Bleached White Bone Nuts Gibson-style blank

Gibson-style blank

Blank
2-3/16" x 7/16" x 3/16"
(55.56mm x 11.11mm x 4.76mm)

Item # 6010
In stock, ready to ship!

$5.41

12 or more $4.65
24 or more $4.00
+
Bleached White Bone Nuts For Gibson, shaped, 1-5/8" length

For Gibson, shaped, 1-5/8" length

Shaped
1-5/8" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(41.28mm x 8.33mm x 4.76mm)
12" (304.8mm) top radius

Item # 6011
In stock, ready to ship!

$11.96

12 or more $10.29
24 or more $8.85
+
Bleached White Bone Nuts For Gibson, shaped, 1-45/64" length

For Gibson, shaped, 1-45/64" length

Shaped
1-45/64" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(43.26mm x 8.33mm x 4.76mm)
12" (304.8mm) top radius

Item # 6012
In stock, ready to ship!

$11.96

12 or more $10.29
24 or more $8.85
+
For Martin® and classical guitars
LENGTH x HEIGHT x THICKNESS
ADD TO CART BELOW
Bleached White Bone Nuts For Martin, blank

For Martin, blank

Blank
2-3/16" x 7/16" x 1/4"
(55.56mm x 11.11mm x 6.35mm)

Item # 6020
In stock, ready to ship!

$6.04

12 or more $5.19
24 or more $4.47
+
Bleached White Bone Nuts For Martin, shaped, 1-13/16" length

For Martin, shaped, 1-13/16" length

Shaped; angled bottom
1-13/16" x 3/8" x 1/4"
(46.04mm x 9.53mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.2mm) top radius

Item # 6022
In stock, ready to ship!

$12.23

12 or more $10.52
24 or more $9.05
+
Bleached White Bone Nuts For Martin, shaped, 1-13/16" length, flat bottom

For Martin, shaped, 1-13/16" length, flat bottom

Shaped; flat bottom
1-13/16" x 21/64" x 1/4"
(46.04mm x 8.33mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.2mm) top radius

Item # 6023
In stock, ready to ship!

$12.23

12 or more $10.52
24 or more $9.05
+
For Dobro® guitars. Also for vintage Rickenbacker basses
LENGTH x HEIGHT x THICKNESS
ADD TO CART BELOW
Bleached White Bone Nuts For Dobro, blank

For Dobro, blank

Blank
2-1/8" x 3/4" x 3/16"
(53.98mm x 19.05mm x 4.76mm)

Item # 1526
In stock, ready to ship!

$12.27

12 or more $10.55
24 or more $9.08
+
 
Total:
Qty:
Scroll to Top

Bleached White Bone Nuts

About This Item

Bone's hardness and density contributes to good tone, it polishes well, and it allows more precise slot filing.

Stewart-MacDonald is your source for quality bone!
Bone is traditionally preferred for making nuts and saddles on quality instruments.

Blank nuts have oversize length and height, for custom shaping in your shop. They're ready for trimming, filing, sanding and slotting.

Preshaped nuts will save you a LOT of work — a head start for the novice builder, and a bonus for the busy repair shop where time is money! The dimensions have been carefully researched, and minor trimming, slotting, and sanding are all that's needed to fit most popular guitars.


Trade Secrets!

Trade Secrets!

The best nut-making material: Bone for Tone!

Customers ask, "What material makes the best string nut?" Erick Coleman's says it's Bone for Tone.

Instructions

Product Instructions

Making a Nut, Step-by-Step

Dan Erlewine, of Stewart-MacDonald's R&D Team, walks you through making and installing a new nut.

Customer Reviews

  • Excellent
  • Good
  • Average
  • Fair
  • Poor
Write a review
5.0
  • 4.86 average rating from 111 reviews
Sort by
Displaying 1 of 12
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
5.0

Good to the bone

By

Verified Buyer


So far this nuts carve well and sound good

5.0

Pro replacement blank nut

By

Verified Buyer


These are great replacement blanks and are priced for anyone. Thanks again Stew Mac for keeping the fun in fixing instruments with all the great tools and parts!

5.0

Great Quality on Bone Blanks

By

Verified Buyer


Here is the finished product after cutting fitting and polishing.
Excellent quality shows in the finished nut.

5.0

Great product

By

Verified Buyer


I began using 3/16" nut slots in my necks and Stew Mac is one of the few that supplies nuts of that size.

5.0

Excellent Value - Great look

By

Verified Buyer


I will continue to buy these because of their consistent color and dimensions. I always know that I am starting with top quality material and can expect an excellent final result.

5.0

great sound

By

Verified Buyer


Although I ordered the wrong nuts these work great on Gibsons. I usually order nuts for Martins. I have played guitar for sixty years and maintain that bone nuts are the best for creating a great sound with an acoustic guitar. I once had access to ivory from whooley mammoth tusks. My source died a few years ago and it dried up. But bone nuts and saddles are one step behind ivory. If you're fitting a nut for a Martin Stew/Mac nuts have one side square and the other for a Martin angle. Thank God and Stew/Mac for the best in supplies.

5.0

Exactly as described; perfect for my needs!!

By

Verified Buyer


So glad I can easily find what I need and not worry about poor quality or exaggerated descriptions. Thanks!!

5.0

Perfect in every way!

By

Verified Buyer


I just purchased a bone Blank from Stewmac and I couldn't ask for better quality or price!
Dried, bleached, and milled to perfection. No voids or imperfections! Buy with confidence!
Thanks Stew Mac A+++++

5.0

JUST PERFECT!

By

Verified Buyer


Perfect in size, shape, and quality. I've been in the stringed instrument repair business for nearly 50 years and have been using Stew-Mac nuts (and saddles) for a long time. I have never found any better. Stew-Mac's service is great too.

Rob Z., Lititz, PA

5.0

Martin precut nut

By

Verified Buyer


These precut nuts are a great time saver. But sometimes the spacing is a little off. Had that problem on a Martin D-!. No fault of the nut the fret board just have more fall off on the edge. But the nuts are so beefy I could cut down and still re-slot a little narrower. Thanks Stew-Mac

Displaying 1 of 12
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
 


StewMac PDF Catalog, page 7 See Bleached White Bone Nuts
on page 7 of our StewMac Digital Catalog