Robo-Sander Flush Trim Sander

Robo-Sander Flush Trim Sander

Robo-Sander Flush Trim Sander 1" x 2"

1" x 2"

Item # 5662
In stock, ready to ship!

$19.93

+
Robo-Sander Flush Trim Sander 2" x 3"

2" x 3"

Item # 5663
In stock, ready to ship!

$26.90

+
Robo-Sander Flush Trim Sander 3" x 3"

3" x 3"

Item # 5664
In stock, ready to ship!

$44.67

+
Robo-Sander, Complete set of 3

Robo-Sander, Complete set of 3

Item # 5665
In stock, ready to ship!

$91.50

+
 
Total:
Qty:
Scroll to Top

Robo-Sander Flush Trim Sander

About This Item

Works with your drill press! The Robo-Sander™ abrasive drum features a built-in guide wheel for accurate pattern-sanding using templates you make in your own shop.

Available in three diameters, the Robo-Sander runs on a bronze bearing for smoothness. It works with your drill press to sand wood and other materials up to 2-3/4" tall. Each Robo-Sander is supplied with a 50-grit abrasive sleeve.

Sold individually or as a complete set. Replacement sleeves sold separately.


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING
WARNING: Cancer and Reproductive Harm - www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.


Customer Reviews

  • Excellent
  • Good
  • Average
  • Fair
  • Poor
Write a review
4.5
  • 4.39 average rating from 41 reviews
Sort by
5.0

Helpful !!

By

Verified Buyer


This product is extremely helpful when rounding fender guitar nuts.

4.0

Good tool is understood- -- my take on it

By


I was also dismayed that the "bearing" not flush with the sanding drum after I purchased the robo sander.

However, I see this tool as a way of getting smooth, continuous, "risk-free" shape based on a template. It leaves a bit of material between the template and the work so you can then kiss off the rest of it with a router bit to get a truly finished edge. With how end grain in hard woods like maple can throw your work, I think getting the work as close as possible to the template is ideal. And that is what I see is the purpose of the tool. It's not to create your finished edge, it's to safely shape the work prior to creating a finished, routed edge.

2.0

not impressed!

By

Verified Buyer


This will not cut flush. I got it to sand down bindings and save on the Hand work time. it barely did anything so the hand work was not saved much. Probably good for very rough trimming where router bit might cause chipping. I will keep it and try to find something it is good for.As for Stewmac... this came very quick and packaged well. good job as usual.

5.0

Works great!

By

Verified Buyer


I bought the Robo-Sander for sanding long sweeping curves on half-hull models. The sander follows a template nicely and it's safe to use.

5.0

Robo-Sander Flush Trim Sander

By

Verified Buyer


This exactly the drum sander I was looking for. It helped take the place of my router destroyed some expensive Cherry stock. Made the job much easier.

Thanks

1.0

Totally useless.

By

Verified Buyer


It should be clearly noted at the top of this product listing that it is in no way a flush-trim sander. The bearing is oversized, the sanding drum will never get anywhere near your workpiece, so unless you like sanding thin air all day, this product is totally useless and in no way as advertised. I've spent thousands at Stew Mac over the last couple of years, and have consistently enjoyed the quality of the tools I have purchased and the customer service. But this? What a waste of money, time, and shipping.

Response from StewMac


Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us. We're sorry our Robo-Sander Flush Trim Sander didn't work for you as you expected. We stand behind our return policy -- if you are not satisfied you may return it anytime for a refund or exchange. Please call us at 1-800-848-2273.

In the meantime, I've placed your suggestion with our product development team -- customer comments like yours have been the catalyst to many changes to our products.

3.0

So so

By

Verified Buyer


I agree with the rest of the negative. Not a flush trim sander as advertised. Easy fix. Give is 2-3 bearing to go smaller gradually with finer grits. Try doing a neck blank with this. Thought I’d try this for highly expensive roasted maple to avoid the too common tear out. The hand sanding required to get the blank to exact size would take the fretboard is glued and trimmed to the blank. I can do it faster with a spindle sander. Defeated the purpose of why I wanted to try it. Only ok for body shaping as it can be less exact.

4.0

Manage expectations

By

Verified Buyer


I purchased #5663, the 2" x 3" sander. The bearing on the sander is about 1/32" over sized, as noted by some other reviewers. (I failed to see that before ordering) I contacted tech support and was told that it was engineered that way to allow for sanding out of the scratches left by the 50 grit, and offered for me to return it if I wasn't satisfied.

After using it a few times, I can say the unit does perform as described. I will probably make a few new bearings with closer tolerances to use with the finer grit sleeves which should reduce hand-sanding .

I am satisfied with the sander, will continue to use it, and can recommend it with the above noted caveat. Stewmac should note the tolerances in the product description, in my opinion, to disclose that it is not a truly flush trim sander . . . it's more of a "flush-ish" trim sander.

4.0

Good Product

By

Verified Buyer


Drum works great. However, the template collar is not flush with drum in some areas....
Like most tools, the operator should inspect and tweak, before the desired use. Little off the sides and the unit followed my template perfectly.

3.0

A sincere review of this product.

By

Verified Buyer


I haven't had a chance to try this out. However, Stew-mac keeps hounding me for a review. Maybe if they wouldn't be in such a hurry, next time I could tell you more.

Showing 10 of 41 Read more reviews >>
 


StewMac PDF Catalog, page 43 See Robo-Sander Flush Trim Sander
on page 43 of our StewMac Digital Catalog



  • ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.