Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Vises : Nut and Saddle Vise

Nut and Saddle Vise


Read 55 Reviews   |   Write a Review

A better way to hold nuts and saddles for easier, faster shaping.

See details below

Email a friend
Nut and Saddle Vise

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1816 Nut and Saddle Vise Yes
$35.45


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Bleached White Bone Nuts



Understring Radius Gauges



Bleached White Bone Saddles



Gauged Nut Slotting Files



Essential Nut Making Tool Kit



Bleached White Bone Nuts
Understring Radius Gauges
Bleached White Bone Saddles
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
Sure, most of us already have a shop vise. And for a long time, you've probably used yours to hold nuts and saddles for filing and shaping. But you've also noticed that your vise jaws get in the way when you're trying to file the top of that nut or saddle, so you're constantly repositioning the work in the jaws.

We considered the problem and designed a special vise that gives you the clearance you need for an easier and more efficient job.

The custom jaws are extra tall, with steep angles for easier access to your work. The end of the vise is beveled for extra relief, too. The 2"-wide steel jaws are hardened for durability and specially undercut to stay parallel under pressure, holding the nut or saddle uniformly without slippage.

For other jobs, the jaws open to 2-7/16", making it versatile for gripping all kinds of small work. This is a well-made, heavy little portable steel vise with a 2" x 5-5/8" footprint; you can clamp it to the edge of your workbench, or into your larger shop vise.

The Nut and Saddle Vise is included in the Essential Nut Making Tool Kit, which has all the basic tools you'll need for shaping, string-spacing, slotting and fitting string nuts like a pro.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Nut and Saddle Vise
Nut and Saddle Vise
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 55 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  6 >
2 3-19-2014
lack of stability

There are no mounting holes on this thing if you want to attach it to your workbench. It has to be held with ANOTHER vise. Drill some holes in this thing so people can put a couple bolts through it.

AM  Hollywood, CA Read my reviews (2)
1 3-14-2014
Cheap junk

Wish I could give it a better review, really wanted to like this product. It's poorly machined, the travel of the moving vise is not smooth (gets stuck a lot), and the beveled vise plates (pretty much the main reason for buying this, right?) don't line up flush on the top face. So for example, you wouldn't want to use this to file the bottom of a nut or saddle down using the tops of the vise plates as your depth stop, because they are uneven with each other and that will ruin your flush bottom. I complained, Cust service said they'd have someone hand pick a replacement for me that didn't have this flaw, and the replacement I got was just as bad. Since I still needed something like this, I just sent the replacement back, kept the original, and filed the tops down flush myself. Pretty disappointing though, clearly does not look like a quality product, looks like cheap junk the moment you take it out of the box.

Charlie Livingston  Waxhaw, NC Read my reviews (6)
5 3-06-2014
Tough little vise!

I've used this vise for several years. It's the go-to tool for every nut & saddle I make. It's a tough little vise, well made, and heavy.

JR H  Rochester, NY Read my reviews (3)
5 2-13-2014
What was I thinking...again.

I originally bought a vise that swiveled at a hardware store for $20. Well that thing is down the road since I got the nut and saddle vise. Smooth action and nice and heavy. I love this thing.

ElectricLarryLand  New Braunfels, Tx Read my reviews (8)
5 2-06-2014
Well worth the money!

I have been looking for a small and precise tabletop vise and this is it! To consider this a "nut and saddle" vise exclusively does not do it justice - it can be used for so much more!!!!

jedi008  Charlotte, NC
5 2-05-2014
Stew Mac Nut & Saddle Vise

If you're going to be doing a couple of nuts or more, this tool is a must have!! Priced right, very solidly built. Well done Stew Mac

furynut69  Germantown,WI. Read my reviews (7)
5 12-29-2013
Versatile tool!

I prefer to shape nuts on the guitar but this is great for doing acoustic saddles. Furthermore I find it really valuable when doing violin bridges and a lot of other small jobs around the shop. When I bought this I thought I was buying a luxury item. I was wrong. This has become an integral part of my work. Glad I bought it!

Chris Thomas  Elizabeth, PA Read my reviews (19)
5 10-19-2013
Solid

Must have for fabricating nuts or sadles. I put this one in my bench vise and vualaa it's great. The angles are right on the money for accuracy.

vettster2008  Fairfield,Ca Read my reviews (4)
5 10-16-2013
This works well!

When it comes to saddles and nuts this vise is incredibly handy. As with most things, I find myself using it for other stuff too.

Mike Tonn  Orient Ohio Read my reviews (11)
5 10-15-2013
Perfect!!!

You Need, This, please buy This!!!

Carlos GirĂ³n  Ny Read my reviews (28)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 20 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce