Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Scrapers : Scraper Blades

Scraper Blades


Read 54 Reviews   |   Write a Review

For ultra-smooth wood surfaces. The first time you use a scraper blade, you'll discover why it's a favorite tool of traditional woodworkers.

See details below

Email a friend
Scraper Blades

Play video

 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0654 Large, rectangular Yes
$6.84

0628 Large, curved ends Yes
$6.38

0655 Large, French curve Yes
$9.64

0625 Mini, concave/convex 1+ month
$6.98
This item cannot be
ordered at this time.
0626 Mini, oval Yes
$6.49

0627 Mini, rectangular Yes
$7.98

0629 All 3 mini scrapers SAVE $3.00 1+ month
$21.45
This item cannot be
ordered at this time.
0630 Scraper blade kit (all 6 scrapers) SAVE $3.00 1+ month
$41.31
This item cannot be
ordered at this time.

Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Scraper Burnisher



Complete Illustrated Guide to Finishing



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



De-Glue Goo



Scraper Burnisher
Complete Illustrated Guide to Finishing
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
De-Glue Goo



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
Our versatile stainless steel scrapers leave wood surfaces ultra-smooth. They're also the best tools for smoothing plastic bindings, because they don't heat, soften or scratch the material the way sandpaper can. Occasional squaring and burnishing of the edges keeps them sharp and efficient (the Scraper Burnisher makes it easy). These scrapers are available with convex, straight and concave edges, for smoothing and fine-contouring wood surfaces on practically any instrument.

Large scrapers have a variety of contours for trimming bindings, neck profiling, fingerboard surfacing, archtop contouring and graduating, wood deburring, acoustic bridge shaping, and more. Supplied unburnished.

#0654 Rectangular2-1/2" x 6" x .028"(63.50mm x 152.40mm x 0.7mm)
#0628 Curved ends2" x 6" x .028"(50.80mm x 152.40mm x 0.7mm)
#0655 French curve3-1/8" x 5-1/8" x .028"(79.38mm x 130.17mm x 0.7mm)


Mini scrapers are for smoothing smaller areas with finer control. Among their many uses, the concave/convex version is handy for acoustic guitar bridge contouring, and the oval scraper makes quick work of spot-leveling drop-fill finish repairs. The rectangular version has rounded 1/8" and 3/32" notches for fast and easy acoustic bridge saddle crowning (a bonus inspired by an idea from Freddie Cisneros). Supplied unburnished. Order all 3 and save!

#0625 Concave/convex1-31/32" x 1-17/64" x .016"(50mm x 32mm x 0.4mm)
#0626 Oval1-25/32" x 1-3/16" x .008"(45mm x 30mm x 0.2mm)
#0627 Rectangular1-25/32" x 63/64" x .016"(45mm x 25mm x 0.4mm)


Our scraper blade kit includes all 6 scrapers (3 large, 3 mini) in a versatile money-saving set for the guitar shop.

Scraping, not sanding, to prepare wood for finishing
Scraping, not sanding, to prepare wood for finishing
Scraping, not sanding, to prepare wood for finishing Read more

In this issue:
Dan Erlewine shows why he uses scraper blades instead of sandpaper for the final smoothing before the finish goes on a guitar.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Scraper Blades
Scraper Blades
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 54 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  6 >
5 7-03-2013
Excellent

I have no other scraper to compare it to but so far it's been of very much help. After some instructional videos online, I was able to make a nice edge on it.

Gustav  Sweden Read my reviews (18)
5 6-13-2013
A Must-have For Binders

This tool is indispensable if you want to do binding. Be sure to get the burnishing tool as well, or the scraper is useless. They don't come with a scraping edge.

Cagey  Clinton Twp., MI Read my reviews (4)
5 3-19-2013
Work very well

I used these to remove the lacquer from a guitar I built, that had checked badly, because of inferior lacquer. Not from Stew-Mac. I learned my lesson.

51ultraspringer  Westville Read my reviews (2)
5 10-04-2012
Binding made easier

Sanding bindings is messy and cumbersome. The scrapers make a much neater,if slower, job and achieve a more consistent finish.

Mark Harper  Lexington KY Read my reviews (44)
5 9-23-2012
Nice!!

Very good quality metal ! Great to work with, get a set!

chris rochow  Youngstown, Ohio, USA Read my reviews (10)
5 9-13-2012
small scraper

perfict size for that recurve

bluesplayerx  ca Read my reviews (9)
1 9-02-2012
don't waste your money

This may be the first negative review I have ever written about a S M product. These scraper blades are way too thin to even get an edge on. I was expecting the same thick type scraper that I purchased from SM in the 70's, When the only shape available was the 3"X5" rectangular one.It was so impressive that I cut pieces of it off to reshape in to shapes for the scraping that I was doing at the time. The concept of this set of blades is good (different shapes for all applications) but inferior material is used. I wound up cutting a curved piece of glass to suffice. Don't waste your money on these cheap scrapers.

banjerinepickinjerry  Mtn View, Ar Read my reviews (3)
StewMac responds

banjerinepickinjerry,
We're sorry you were disappointed with the scraper blades. We offer a 100% guarantee; if any item fails to meet your expectations, you may return it, unaltered, for a refund or exchange.

5 8-14-2012
perfect!

absolutely fabulous tools for "that little extra" as well as customizing and trimming. handy as a pocket on a shirt.

Steve Fazekas  Sarver,Pa. Read my reviews (5)
5 8-01-2012
scraper blades set

this its the first time i use scrapers blades, and i can tell you this are one of the best tools i ever use!!

luis ubaldo rey  meoqui, chihuahua, mexico Read my reviews (3)
4 7-31-2012
Handy.

Still getting my head around how to sharpen these properly but with practice I am sure I will get it. Perfect for scraping bindings when properly sharpened.

Dingobass  Perth, Australia Read my reviews (76)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 32 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce