Dragon Hand-cut Rasp

  • 43 Reviews
  • Write a review

Fast working, super-smooth cut.
Unequaled for neck shaping and contouring.

Read more
MIX 2+ SAVE
Buy ANY 2 or more and save $2.62 or more per item.
Enter quantities below, to see your savings. Buy more, save more!
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp Large, coarse

Large, coarse

Item # 4151
Due 3-4 weeks
Notify Me

$52.23

MIX 2+ SAVE
+
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp Large, fine

Large, fine

Item # 4152
In stock, ready to ship!

$52.23

MIX 2+ SAVE
+
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp Small, coarse

Small, coarse

Item # 4154
In stock, ready to ship!

$32.78

MIX 2+ SAVE
+
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp Small, fine

Small, fine

Item # 4155
Due 5-7 days
Notify Me

$32.78

MIX 2+ SAVE
+
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp Double-radius, coarse

Double-radius, coarse

Item # 4157
In stock, ready to ship!

$42.23

MIX 2+ SAVE
+
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp Double-radius, fine

Double-radius, fine

Item # 4158
In stock, ready to ship!

$42.23

MIX 2+ SAVE
+
Currency:
Total: $0.00
Quantity: 20

Product Details

Fast working, super-smooth cut.
Unequaled for neck shaping and contouring.

Dragon handcrafted steel rasps have become our first choice for quickly shaping instrument necks, solidbody guitar contours, custom jigs and clamping cauls.

Double-cut rasp has two different radii for quickly shaping a neck heel or the base of a peghead.

Dragon rasp teeth are individually hand-struck on both sides of each file, leaving a slightly random pattern that a machine-made rasp simply can't equal. This reduces chattering and "wandering," giving a smooth but aggressive cut.

Dragon rasps have the right shapes for contouring a variety of neck sizes.

Use the coarse rasp to quickly shape:
• Solidbody contours
• Necks and bridges
• Jigs and cauls

Follow with the fine rasp for:
• Final shaping
• Smoothing
• Softening corners

Large 10" long x 1-5/8" wide   (254mm x 41.28mm)
Small 6" long x 1-3/16" wide (152mm x 30.16mm)
Double-radius 7" long x 7/8" wide (178mm x 22.22mm)


Ratings & Reviews

Dragon Hand-cut Rasp

  • EXCELLENT PRODUCT
  • GOOD PRODUCT
  • AVERAGE PRODUCT
  • FAIR PRODUCT
  • POOR PRODUCT
  • Based on 43 Reviews
Displaying 4 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
Write a review

OMG!

By GavinB from Perth, Australia
(Customer's Reviews) Thursday, September 01, 2011


Awesome Rasps. Very glad I came across and acquired these for my workshop. Saw plenty rasps at the local hardware store and reviewed many on the net. But knowing I can trust the reviews on Stewmac I thought "what have I got to lose?" Now I need to figure out the easiest method to attach a comfy handle to the rasp or it'll be my fingers if I get too carried away! These rasps are fantastic on my mahogany necks. The course rasp rips through the wood easily without needing any force and the fine rasp smooths the course rasp's finish. I finish off the shaping process with the highly technologically advanced eraser wrapped in adhesive sandpaper and the job is done in no time at all!

Great tool

By David Newton from Beaumont, Tx
(Customer's Reviews) Thursday, July 14, 2011


This tool has revolutionized how I shape necks. I don't know how I worked without it up till now. It cuts so fast, but it can be smooth too.

amazing rasp

By flatfootjohnny from London
(Customer's Reviews) Thursday, June 23, 2011


I was a bit dubious as to how good a rasp could be, which is why i went for the double radius (then i dont have to buy two). But i was amazed at how it cut through the timber, so easily and smoothly and the double radius is real handy too.

Very efficient rasp - worth the price

By Serge from Montreal, Canada
(Customer's Reviews) Wednesday, June 22, 2011


Almost a year ago I bought a small/fine half-round version of these Chinese-made rasps. Its quality is really great even if it was made in China proving that not everything coming from the Asia is really sub-par. The teeth on my small rasp are still sharp and the tool is a joy to work with - it cuts fast, effortlessly and leaves a smooth surface. I used to only employ my spokeshave to shave the necks, and now I engage this rasp more and more often to do the same task (it's a great addition to the spokeshave). Besides the neck shaping there all the other sorts of shaping jobs where this rasp excels. Now I just need to buy the coarse one :)

Great quality rasp!

By Chris Thomas from Elizabeth, PA
(Customer's Reviews) Tuesday, June 21, 2011


I was very impressed how you can both aggressively cut yet maintain some pretty good control. I shaped an entire neck with this rasp and a spoke shave. It worked very well.

Dragon Hand-cut Rasps

By john abbott from south dennis,ma.
(Customer's Reviews) Tuesday, May 03, 2011


In my 43 years of luthiery I've never found anything better than these files. Buying the full set is expensive, but I did it and I've never looked back. I had a visceral rush when I first used them and you'll have to keep them locked up to keep your friends from temptation-I've been warned already. They're fabulous and much more fun than a computer and a CNC rig. If you don't invest in these files you're pathetic.

Great rasp

By DagS from Norway
(Customer's Reviews) Monday, April 11, 2011


I am not a very experienced woodworker, but I have to say it works really well when I am shaping the neck on my classical project.

go the rasp!

By greebly2 from australia
(Customer's Reviews) Sunday, April 10, 2011


i love this little thing, its on my bench all the time, waiting to be used. i keep finding new uses for it- any time i need to shape anything or, flatten something, take a little bit off for whatever reason. it doesn't tear out the grain, just needs a little sanding to finish off.

LOVE IT

By smokie from IL,
(Customer's Reviews) Wednesday, April 06, 2011


I Love All the Dragon Rasps, coarse fine large or small they are outstanding, I bought the liquid plastic dip from home depot to put on the handle's they will tear your hand up, but in all aspects you can take this thing and rip through a 2X4 with it

Well Worth the Money

By Robin from Pomona, CA
(Customer's Reviews) Tuesday, December 21, 2010


I am not a full-time luthier, but I am learning under one while going to college. I used to form necks using a combination of belt sanders and pad sanders. This rasp beats them hands down. It cuts through the wood very quickly and accurately.


The person who is teaching me now is considering getting one due to its ease of use after 30+ years of being in the business and I am also considering getting the smooth cut rasp now since the rough cut worked so well. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is looking for a neck shaping tool.

Displaying 4 of 5
1 2 3 4 5


Shown on page 25 of our latest catalog.