Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Files : Dragon Hand-cut Rasp

Dragon Hand-cut Rasp


Read 44 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Fast working, super-smooth cut.
Unequaled for neck shaping and contouring.

See details below

Email a friend
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4151 Large, coarse Yes
$52.23

4152 Large, fine Yes
$52.23

4153 Both large rasps SAVE $8.75 Yes
$95.71

4154 Small, coarse Yes
$32.78

4155 Small, fine Yes
$32.78

4156 Both small rasps SAVE $5.50 Yes
$60.06

4157 Double-radius, coarse Yes
$42.23

4158 Double-radius, fine Yes
$42.23

4159 Both double-radius rasps SAVE $7.00 Yes
$77.46


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Luthiers File Set



Guitar Brace Chisel



Razor Files



Honduras Mahogany Neck Blank for Acoustic Guitar



Electric Guitar Neck Blanks



Luthier's File Set
Guitar Brace Chisel
Razor Files
Honduras Mahogany Neck Blank for Acoustic Guitar
Electric Guitar Neck Blanks



Details
 Pictures
Dragon handcrafted steel rasps have become our first choice for quickly shaping instrument necks, solidbody guitar contours, custom jigs and clamping cauls.

Double-cut rasp has two different radii for quickly shaping a neck heel or the base of a peghead.

Dragon rasp teeth are individually hand-struck on both sides of each file, leaving a slightly random pattern that a machine-made rasp simply can't equal. This reduces chattering and "wandering," giving a smooth but aggressive cut.

Dragon rasps have the right shapes for contouring a variety of neck sizes.

Use the coarse rasp to quickly shape:
• Solidbody contours
• Necks and bridges
• Jigs and cauls

Follow with the fine rasp for:
• Final shaping
• Smoothing
• Softening corners

Large 10" long x 1-5/8" wide   (254mm x 41.28mm)
Small 6" long x 1-3/16" wide (152mm x 30.16mm)
Double-radius 7" long x 7/8" wide (178mm x 22.22mm)


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 44 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  5 >
5 11-13-2012
One beast of a file

These files are perfect for shaping a neck. You can get aggressive with it and really take off some wood or with a more delicate touch start roughing in the profile. I would recommend to anyone.

DBMiller  Louisiana, USA Read my reviews (3)
5 10-15-2012
Get One

I was dubious too, just like the first review, but this is a really good tool - far better than I've ever bought from a hardware store. Mine is the coarse one, but I think a fine one of these and a coarse 10" one would be a very handy combination.

Ron McQuarrie  NSW Australia Read my reviews (5)
5 9-21-2012
goes through maple like butter

This rasp is REALLY good. I have been using it and its little brother for making handles for dovetail saws. I am glad I bought this one. Worth every penny!

Brad B  USA Read my reviews (2)
5 9-21-2012
Great rasp!

Just the right rasp for those tight places. Great quality HAND STITCHED rasp without the over-inflated price. Highly recommended.

Brad B  USA Read my reviews (2)
5 9-13-2012
Cuts like a devil.

Incredible Rasps. It really cut fast. Buy them.

JoseSRV  Argentina Read my reviews (11)
5 6-03-2012
Great addition to my arsenal

The "small-coarse" rasp is in reality slightly finer than the "large-coarse" rasp. I can't imagine needing a finer rasp for neck work. These tools are perfect now, I hope they last years and years.

David Newton  Beaumont, Tx Read my reviews (10)
5 5-04-2012
Sharp and Clean

Amazing even with Hardwoods. So Sharp and Clean with each movement. Best I've had and perfect size!!!

Adrian Stuckey  Gold Coast Australia Read my reviews (29)
5 3-14-2012
Dragons rock!

I love these new Dragon rasps. I bought the large set and they are so easy to use, even without a handle. The allow shaping and fine finishing and they feel very "natural" in my hands. I highly recommend these rasps!

Diane  Blacksburg, VA Read my reviews (2)
5 1-07-2012
a fine tool...

I have just used these Dragon rasps to carve a mahogany neck and I have to say they are the best I've ever used.

Dave Anderson Guitars  Port Richey,Fl. Read my reviews (5)
5 9-01-2011
OMG!

Awesome Rasps. Very glad I came across and acquired these for my workshop. Saw plenty rasps at the local hardware store and reviewed many on the net. But knowing I can trust the reviews on Stewmac I thought "what have I got to lose?" Now I need to figure out the easiest method to attach a comfy handle to the rasp or it'll be my fingers if I get too carried away! These rasps are fantastic on my mahogany necks. The course rasp rips through the wood easily without needing any force and the fine rasp smooths the course rasp's finish. I finish off the shaping process with the highly technologically advanced eraser wrapped in adhesive sandpaper and the job is done in no time at all!

GavinB  Perth, Australia Read my reviews (26)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 25 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce