Gauged Saws

  • 60 Reviews
  • Write a review

Quickly rough-in new slots with these low-profile saws, and save your nut files to refine the depth and width.

Read more
Gauged Saws 0.030" (0.76mm)

0.030" (0.76mm)

Item # 3594
In stock, ready to ship!
Closeout!

$8.98 $7.18

+
Gauged Saws 0.025" (0.64mm)

0.025" (0.64mm)

Item # 3599
In stock, ready to ship!
Closeout!

$8.98 $7.18

+
Gauged Saws 0.020" (0.51mm)

0.020" (0.51mm)

Item # 3598
In stock, ready to ship!
Closeout!

$8.98 $7.18

+
Gauged Saws 0.015" (0.38mm)

0.015" (0.38mm)

Item # 3597
Discontinued
Closeout!

$8.98 $7.18

Gauged Saws 0.010" (0.25mm)

0.010" (0.25mm)

Item # 3596
In stock, ready to ship!
Closeout!

$8.98 $7.18

+
Currency:
Total: $0.00
Quantity: 20

Details

Quickly rough-in new slots with these low-profile saws, and save your nut files to refine the depth and width.

Handy for trimming nuts, saddles, bridge blanks, violin pegs and other small parts, too.

Each saw has a 5" x 7/16" (127mm x 11.11mm) steel blade with 22 teeth per inch, and a comfortable turned wooden handle.


Trade Secrets! Newsletter

Making a glue scraper/saw

Dan Erlewine went to the Columbus Guitar Show to sell some fixer-uppers. Nobody bought this beautiful 1930s Kay Deluxe; its neck joint problem must have seemed like too much work. The guitar came back home and volunteered for this Trade Secret about making a tiny saw for cleaning old glue joints!

Product Instructions

Making a Nut, Step-by-Step

Dan Erlewine, of Stewart-MacDonald's R&D Team, walks you through making and installing a new nut.

Ratings & Reviews

Gauged Saws

  • EXCELLENT PRODUCT
  • GOOD PRODUCT
  • AVERAGE PRODUCT
  • FAIR PRODUCT
  • POOR PRODUCT
  • Based on 60 Reviews
Displaying 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
Write a review

These saws are a nightmare!

By Gusty from Ro
(Customer's Reviews) Wednesday, October 15, 2014


These saws are a nightmare! The blade is not right and dulls very quickly. I own variants of .10, .15, .20 .. I do not understand why there are so many positive comments!

Almost perfect

By Garon from Los Angeles
(Customer's Reviews) Friday, May 09, 2014


I have only used the .010 so far, but I agree with the consensus that these should be pull-cut. Nonetheless, they're great saws when you hold them backwards.

Great Saws. But for accuracy and Convenience, Why not make them Pull-Cuts?

By Rockin' Mike Burton from Canada
(Customer's Reviews) Thursday, February 13, 2014


I used these saws when making a couple of bleached bone nuts. I even used one to cut the excess side material off. They certainly got the job done, but I think they should be Pull-Cut saws...That would put these bad boys over the top!

Worked like they said they would

By Robert1986 from Kalispell, Montana
(Customer's Reviews) Sunday, February 09, 2014


Bought these to get the string slots in the nut started and they've done great at just that. Big time savers in the shop. I saw down to just short of my mark for final depth and then file the rest of the way.

Make it a pull saw.

By Mobiuscloud from Berkeley, CA
(Customer's Reviews) Thursday, January 09, 2014


I have the .010 and it is very good, wish it were a pull saw not a push.

Great for everyday jobs

By Tai Fu from Taiwan
(Customer's Reviews) Friday, November 22, 2013


I use the .010" saw, and it works well for everyday tasks such as trimming bindings, purfling, backstrip, inletting kerfed linings, etc. in addition to nut work. To make this a pull saw, pull the blade off of the spine with pliers or whatnot. Be extra careful to not bend or break the blade but once you are able to pull the spine off, simply reverse it and pound it (carefully) back into the spine, and now you have a pull saw without affecting the function of the saw. It will need sharpening eventually as the saw doesn't come that sharp out of the box... some time with a saw file and it's good as new.

I saw the light

By axe fixr from Richardson (Dallas) Texas
(Customer's Reviews) Thursday, October 31, 2013


I bought a set of these saws to cut the string slots for the brass nut on my project. They did the job flawlessly. I would recommend these saws to anyone. Finish off slot with the gauged files.

Must have tool set

By 4 seasons pickups from Netherlands
(Customer's Reviews) Saturday, October 26, 2013


we have the set @ 4seasons pickups and makes repair jobs much eyser

Nut file preservers

By Martin Fuerstenau from Unterfoehring
(Customer's Reviews) Tuesday, October 01, 2013


If have tested them on several nuts. Good cut. Fast and easy working. Well worth the money paid. Normally I prefer a push cut but with these saws I think pull is better. Not for control but the risk for buckling is higher when you push the saw. I have made a second handle which can be attached to the saws with 2 little clamp bolts.

To make it a pull cut

By AJ Hand from CT
(Customer's Reviews) Thursday, August 01, 2013


For you guys who wish it were a pull-cut saw:
Cut off the existing handle and epoxy a wooden handle of your own design on the other end. Anyone who can make a guitar should be able to tackle that simple task.

Displaying 1 of 6
1 2 3 4 5 6


Shown on page 4 of our latest catalog.