Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Finishes and solvents : ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer

ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer


Read 96 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Traditional finishes made simple! Ideal for touch-up work, or for finishing an entire instrument. Fast-drying and resistant to alcohol and water.

See details below

Email a friend
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5880 Vintage Amber
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$15.90
3 or more $13.97  

5881 Cherry Red
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$15.90
3 or more $13.97  

5882 Tobacco Brown
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
5-7 days
$15.90
3 or more $13.97  

5883 Red Mahogany
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$15.90
3 or more $13.97  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Foam Polishing Pads



ColorTone Touchup Markers



ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Foam Polishing Pads
ColorTone Touchup Markers



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Formulated specifically for musical instruments. Tinted and sunbursted nitrocellulose lacquer finishes never go out of style. Now you can finish your instruments in beautiful traditional colors that enhance the wood grain, without complicated spray equipment.
13-ounce spray cans.

ColorTone® Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer can be sprayed over smooth unfinished wood; over sanded basecoats of grain filler; over ColorTone nitrocellulose Sanding Sealer, and over ColorTone Stains. Spray additional coats of ColorTone Clear Aerosol Guitar Lacquer for a hard, durable finish with a deep gloss.

Aerosol spraying is an economical way for the beginner to apply a finish. Aerosols produce a slightly rougher surface than spray guns however, and more sanding of the clear topcoats may be needed for a level finished surface. Tinted coats should not be sanded.

Application Tips: We recommend spraying multiple thin coats, in a low humidity environment. Heavy-bodied Sanding Sealer (one coat equals two coats of lacquer) will seal stained or unstained wood before the color coats or clear topcoats are applied. At least one can of Sanding Sealer and 4-6 cans of lacquer will usually finish a complete guitar.

Use warm lacquer, not cold!
Pro shops spray heated lacquer because cold lacquer spatters, requiring extra sanding. You should warm up your aerosol lacquer too, simply soak them in a sink of warm tap water.


Our ColorTone Aerosol Finishing Kit is a great choice for the first-time instrument maker. It includes our easy-to-apply clear gloss aerosol finish with the best instruction book available!

How to spray a sunburst using aerosol cans
How to spray a sunburst using aerosol cans
How to spray a sunburst using aerosol cans Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman uses tinted aerosols to recreate a vintage Strat 3-tone 'burst.
Read more...

Subscribe now
California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 96 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  10 >
2 10-18-2013
Mixed results

I've used the Vintage Amber and it worked great, but the Cherry Red I got was an epic fail. I had to use lacquer thinner to get the can to spray and it made a mess of a guitar body I was finishing (had to be sanded back down to the sealer) what a mess. I wouldn't buy the Cherry Red again.

Tim Halloran  Pittsburgh, PA
5 10-13-2013
Solid product

Easy to apply. Easy to work. Solid product. Highly recommend if you are in need of a vintage tint.

Pete Lee  Boise
5 7-22-2013
Excellent toner

Excellent lacquer toner. I've been using these for a long time. These are the best I found. I wish there were more colors.

mrtony  Albertson, Long Island
4 6-27-2013
Did a good job, mostly

Used Clear Gloss and Tobacco Brown. The brown went on especially smoothly. The nozzle on the clear spit a lot, even after I warmed the can. I switched to a new Tobacco Brown nozzle (they're different nozzles) and it worked much much better. They should dump the little nozzles on the clear.

SouthHill  Berkeleky, CA Read my reviews (3)
3 6-05-2013
Good product but strange color

This lacquer went on well and did a nice job but vintage amber it is not, more like neon yellow. I was trying to get an appropriate color on a 62' strat neck so I ended up sanding it off and mixing/spraying my own color.

mando builder  Poulsbo
5 5-26-2013
Great Finish

If this is in the color you need it is great to use for a small repair job.

Merle, NC  Read my reviews (6)
4 5-11-2013
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer

I love this product. If you prep your guitar correctly, you can get a perfect finish. I've even sprayed beautiful sunbursts in my garage. The spray is nice and even with just the right fan width. Clean up is easy too. Thanks

Sig's Guitar Repair  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-01-2013
Some things are just more perfect than others!

I have been playing guitar Doctor for a few years now. That is to say, I refit necks and bodies to become, obviously, used instruments that are refurbished and very pleasantly playable. I recently bought a LP type body whose front was in great shape but the back, uh, not so much. There were some gouges and rough places that needed a great deal of TLC and while starting that, I realized that the color was entirely in the sprayed finish. The wood was much too hard to begin to accept stain. It was a great tobacco brown color....mostly....with bare wood spots after I smoothed and fixed a lot of the evidence of many years. I use a great many StewMac items in the shop and decided that maybe their tinted nitro spray would be the answer. The shipment came mid morning to my office and I hurried home at lunchtime to have a go with it. This is no joke.....do you know how it feels when it all works SO perfectly that you stand back and say "whoa!!!". That's what happened. The product went on so seamlessly that I was amazed. A-m-a-z-e-d!! Five minutes later I was walking back out of the shop saying "wow.....some things are just more perfect than others!"......Thank you, StewMac!

Doctor H Customs  Macon, Georgia
5 4-29-2013
Excellent Choice !!!!!!

I would like to start by saying I was skeptical about using the aerosol lacquer from reading reviews but let me ease your mind this product was very easy and effective in producing a first class job. I live on the Gulf Coast with a 100% humidity and the job turned out awesome. Just apply as instructions say, very light coats until you acquire what your after. Bam that's it. Great product Stewmac keep up the good work its well appreciated !!! Thanks,Jerry Lee

Jerry Lee  Pass Christian ,Ms Read my reviews (6)
5 4-24-2013
colortone aerosol lacquer

I love how easy it is to get a professional finish with these cans.I used Vintage Amber,Red Mahogany,and gloss black to get a real nice sunburst that I couldn't be more proud of.

chris smith  chardon, ohio usa Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 39 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce