Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tuners : Tuner parts : Banjo Tuner Knobs

Banjo Tuner Knobs


Read 31 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Replacement knobs for Waverly, Five-Star and other banjo peg shafts with two flat and two curved sides.

See details below

Email a friend
Banjo Tuner Knobs
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3305 Ivoroid Galalith Yes
$3.98
10 or more $2.98  

3308 NEW! Amber swirl plastic Yes
$3.98
10 or more $2.98  

3309 Ebony Yes
$3.98
10 or more $2.98  

0095 Pearlescent plastic Yes
$0.88
10 or more $0.79  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Waverly Banjo Tuning Pegs



Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs



Five-Star 5th String Peg



Friction 5th String Peg



Waverly Planetary 5th String Peg



Waverly Banjo Tuning Pegs
Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs
Five-Star 5th String Peg
Friction 5th String Peg
Waverly Planetary 5th String Peg



Details
 Pictures
Modification of the knob may be required to fit your tuners.

These knobs will NOT fit Grover friction pegs, #0177 or #0175.

Item Material Shaft hole dimension
#3305 Ivoroid Galalith knob
standard on Waverly pegs
0.20" x 0.15" (5mm x 3.8mm)
#3308 Amber swirl plastic knob 0.20" x 0.15" (5mm x 3.8mm)
#3309 Genuine ebony knob 0.20" x 0.15" (5mm x 3.8mm)
#0095 Pearlescent plastic knob
standard on Five-Star pegs
0.20" x 0.15" (5mm x 3.8mm)

Jewelry for your insturment • A vintage material is reborn
Our ivoroid knobs, pins, and strap buttons are made of Galalith, a dense and durable casein-based material that polishes beautifully. Popular in the early 20th century, Galalith is found today in collectible vintage jewelry. It cannot be molded; each pin is precisely machined and has none of the unsightly mold lines common to plastic pins.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Banjo Tuner Knobs
Banjo Tuner Knobs
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 31 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 11-22-2011
Look great, but fits too tight, just file down the shaft

I got the ebony knobs for my 5 star tuners on my dulcimer build. They look fantastic. very high quality. the only issue, like other reviews here, is that the hole is too tight. this was easily fixed with a few minutes of filing on each tuner shaft.

Goodin  Knoxville, TN, USA Read my reviews (15)
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-28-2011
Nice Knobs

Work great on most modern banjo tuning machines. The last set I bought was for an older Ventura Tenor with some very unusual geared tuners (NOT planetary). Although they did not initially fit a little bit of work filing and fitting and now they look and work great and my customer is thrilled!

Dan at Players Repairs  Los Angeles, CA, USA Read my reviews (3)
4 10-07-2011
nice knobs but ebony ones fit very tightly

I changed out the knobs on two old timey
banjos both with 5 star tuners. the Ivoroid and ebony knobs made the banjos look much better. The ivoroid knobs fit just right but the ebony ones were two tight and needed to be filed with small files in order to fit
over the stems of the tuners.
Paul Mehl

Paul's Stringed Instrument Workshop  Shavertown,PA
5 9-18-2011
Perfect!

The "pearlescent plastic" banjo tuner knobs fit my 1980s Gold Star 5-stringly banjo perfectly. I was thrilled!

epollak  Exton, PA
5 9-15-2011
Quick and simple

I ordered one of these to replace (what I assume is) the original from a 50's Kay banjo. It took me less than 10 minutes to replace it & retune. Five stars. Would definitely try again. Will recommend to others.

Tilly Girl  Cleveland, OH
4 7-09-2011
Needs a little tweaking

I ordered the pearl ones to replace the ones on a Stromberg Voisinet tenor banjo that I'm restoring. Although the holes are the right shape for the post, they are way too small! Once I get them filed out a bit, I have high hopes for them.

Ben K  Rockville, MD
5 4-16-2011
Knobs

Great replacement knobs. Thanks!

BluegrassLover  Lynchburg-VA. Read my reviews (10)
2 4-06-2011
Needed tuners for Deering

Needed a tuner for busted 5th string tuner on my Deering, but the items from Stew Mac were too tight a fit?
May be down to my ignorance, I guess different producers have different sizes.

Ali slowdrag Rae  Peebles Scotland Read my reviews (2)
1 2-23-2011
Check the fit !

The same issues as Alfonso above, almost impossible to fit to four main tuners on Deering Goodtime and definitely impossible on the fifth string tuner. Good quality however so one star.

Mike57  Wales
5 2-06-2011
Banjo Tuner Knobs

I saw a blog where someone used these to replace tuner knobs on a copy of a Hofner violin bass. Not sure if they would work or if I could get them on, I took the chance. Anyways, it was a very easy switch, they fit and look great and dealing with StewMac was awesome.

MarkB  Meriden, CT
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 83 of our latest catalog.


Five-Star® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.


Waverly® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce