Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tuners : Tuner installation tools : Tuner Pin Drill Jig

Tuner Pin Drill Jig


Read 29 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Aligns your hand drill for accurate tuning machine mounting pin holes.

See details below

Email a friend
Tuner Pin Drill Jig
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4857 Tuner Pin Drill Jig Yes
$37.52


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Schaller Locking Guitar Machines



Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines



Rear Peghole Reamer



1-step Peghole Drill Bit



Waverly Tuner Drill Jig



Schaller Locking Guitar Machines 3L/3R
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines, 3L/3R
Rear Peghole Reamer
1-step Peghole Drill Bit
Waverly Tuner Drill Jig



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
This anodized aluminum jig accurately locates mounting pin holes in the back of a guitar headstock. Use it before drilling for the alignment pins found on many modern enclosed tuning machines. These tuners don't use the traditional exposed tuner mounting screw, but rather a hidden pin on the underside of the tuner housing.

It keeps your hand drill perpendicular for accuracy, and works for left or right-side tuners. You can position single-pin Schaller tuners, two-pin Schallers, one-pin Sperzels, and Fender locking tuners. The jig fits into the peghole with a self-centering bushing and thumbscrew for quick and easy attachment. Instructions included.

This jig is designed for use with a No. 38 (.101") drill bit. Measure the height of the alignment pins on your tuners and drill the holes to the appropriate depth.
This product is made exclusively for Stewart-MacDonald by
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Tuner Pin Drill Jig
Tuner Pin Drill Jig
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 29 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 29 < 1  2  3
5 4-24-2011
You need one of these

I agree with the other reviewers. This is a very handy tool. StewMac might consider offering a small engineers square, 3 or 4 inch should be good, that's what I use to line it up.

pdbutler  Canoga Park, CA Read my reviews (11)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-02-2011
Terrific tool

I've used this jig once so far, but the results were excellent. I had a vintage-drilled Strat neck and a set of Fender-Schaller locking tuners. This jig was a big time saver. The conical centering piece worked well even with my hand-reamed holes. The pin spacing proved to be dead accurate. One caveat: torque the jig down good and tight and work slowly. The jig will want to rotate as you drill. I like simple, well-made tools. And this fits the bill.

RAC  New York, NY Read my reviews (3)
5 2-07-2011
The perfect tool

This is a fantastic tool, that saves time, trouble, and heartache. It's made a complicated life a little simpler. And for that I thank it!

Kingtut  Philadelphia
5 12-20-2010
Must have in your shop!

This jig makes life much easier! Very simple, easy to use and well worth the money!

HarperAxes  Indiana Read my reviews (4)
5 11-12-2010
Amazing!

I have been replacing tuning machines for friends and clients for the better part of a decade. This tool makes the process fly by with incredible accuracy. I also love how it protects the rest of the headstock from accidental damage with its guide. This tool, like beer, is proof of heaven on earth!

Jeremy Hartwell  Boston MA
4 11-11-2010
ok- but

This does work but I'm not quite as happy as the other reviewers. Its expensive- and it takes lots of time and pains to be sure it's lined up correctly. The final job turned out just as it should so I'm not complaining but the reviews didn't prepare me for the tediousness required. If you need to drill the locating holes this is the only thing I've seen that will do it.

Steve G.  Columbia TN
5 9-20-2010
Very handy little tool.

I bought this tool to install Schaller and sperzel tuners into new necks that I've made. So far used it for two sets of schaller's and it works great.
I found the easiest way to line up the tool was to use a square running along the top edge of the headstock where the tuner buttons are located. Then push the other edge flush up against the back of the jig. This will ensure your tuners are mounted exactly parallel to the top edge of your headstock.
Highly recommend this tool if you plan to install tuners of this variety, it is quite expensive but will last for a long time!

G.Devitt  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (3)
5 8-30-2010
Excellent tool

This jig made easy and quick work out of installing locking tuners. This was purchased for installing a set of Schaller tuners onto a guitar previously fitted with Sperzels and I used a spare bit inserted into the Sperzel designated hole to ensure that the Schallers would line up perfectly with the previous alignment. Highly recommended.

goodwill559  Fairfield, CA Read my reviews (3)
5 8-25-2010
like a charme

I actually bought two of these. I had tried to make a similar unit out of plastic it was a dismal failure. The reason I bought two is so I can put one on each side of the head and then use a straight edge to make sure they are aligned to each other. This worked great on my last build. I think every luthier should have a couple of these in their tool box.

Victor Johansen  Phoenix, Arizona Read my reviews (11)
Displaying 21 – 29 < 1  2  3 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 21 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce