Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tuners : Tuner installation tools : Tuner Pin Drill Jig

Tuner Pin Drill Jig


Read 29 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Aligns your hand drill for accurate tuning machine mounting pin holes.

See details below

Email a friend
Tuner Pin Drill Jig
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4857 Tuner Pin Drill Jig Yes
$37.52


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Schaller Locking Guitar Machines



Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines



Rear Peghole Reamer



1-step Peghole Drill Bit



Waverly Tuner Drill Jig



Schaller Locking Guitar Machines 3L/3R
Sperzel Trim-Lok Guitar Machines, 3L/3R
Rear Peghole Reamer
1-step Peghole Drill Bit
Waverly Tuner Drill Jig



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
This anodized aluminum jig accurately locates mounting pin holes in the back of a guitar headstock. Use it before drilling for the alignment pins found on many modern enclosed tuning machines. These tuners don't use the traditional exposed tuner mounting screw, but rather a hidden pin on the underside of the tuner housing.

It keeps your hand drill perpendicular for accuracy, and works for left or right-side tuners. You can position single-pin Schaller tuners, two-pin Schallers, one-pin Sperzels, and Fender locking tuners. The jig fits into the peghole with a self-centering bushing and thumbscrew for quick and easy attachment. Instructions included.

This jig is designed for use with a No. 38 (.101") drill bit. Measure the height of the alignment pins on your tuners and drill the holes to the appropriate depth.
This product is made exclusively for Stewart-MacDonald by
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Tuner Pin Drill Jig
Tuner Pin Drill Jig
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 29 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
5 4-26-2012
Great item

I love the tool, except it has some issues like requiring a standard spacing and the holding screw clamping is not as positive as I would like. They are great for 19 out of 20 guitars, and most tuning machines.

Satchmo  Hades (Phx Az) Read my reviews (2)
5 4-25-2012
Perfect

Nice and precise tool.

Koolidje  Natal / Brazil
5 2-11-2012
Just what the doctor ordered!

I use it at least once a week. Very easy to use. You can't go wrong purchasing this tool. A must have for the busy repair shop.

D.R. Marshall Guitar Service  N.Hollywood, CA Read my reviews (3)
5 2-10-2012
Worth the money

Bought this after I botched the initial install of my new tuners.

Well worth the money - the schallers were installed in about 20 minutes with the jig. Going to install some sperzels on a friends guitar this weekend as well.

JTW  USA
5 12-23-2011
Removes that "funnyfarm" feeling

Being a new custom guitar builder I wanted not only a much more easy way to do things but being spot on is most important to me. This little jig is one of the best tools that I would put in my "can't do without" list and proves to have value. If your doing one guitar or even plugin a headstock from an old set of tunners, this is indeed valuable.

Denis D  Anderson Indiana
5 9-04-2011
Does the job!!

I used the Tuner Pin Drill to install two-pin locking Tuners on a new neck. It worked perfectly. I positioned the jig by placing a small square across the headstock and pushing the back of the jig against it. It was fast and effective.

C. Bauman  Madras, O R Read my reviews (6)
4 8-31-2011
Best option for drilling holes for the pin

It can be a bit fussy at first, but once you get the feel for setting the jig up, it does an excellent job of locating and helping drill the holes.

Middleton Guitars  Southern California Read my reviews (51)
4 8-11-2011
Good but way Overpriced

Works OK. The jig wobbles a bit if the mounting screw isn't super tight. Next time I'll use a piece of 1x2 and 2 wood clamps to hold the jig parallel to the neck edge. That should cure the wobble issue.

SOCO Custom Shop  Southern Colorado
5 7-21-2011
You gotta buy two (or maybe 3)!!

This tool is so good to have in the workshop. We use a lot of sperzels in our workshop so this tool is a must have. But like a lot of other (clever) folks on here we bought more than one. Why? Because on a 3 a side headstock you will find it way easier to line up heads if you do them in pairs(e/e, a/b and d/g) using a straight edge or ruler to guide you - so simple!


If you are doing a 6 in line headstock use 3 of these in alternate holes (E, D & B and then switch around and do A, G & E) - again using a straight edge to line them up . The job is about 70% quicker to do and will save time money and heartache that way. Also we fitted an exactly sized drill bit in one of the Stanley "snappy" holders to make it super quick to chuck in the drill . we fitted a depth stop made of heatshrink tubing - although we put a bit of masking tape on it in this picture.

Jonathan @ Feline Guitars  Croydon, Surrey, UK Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-19-2011
Great Tool

This little gadget works great.

I have used it on my clients guitars and my own with precision results every time.

Just use a square to line it up and a hand drill (eggbeater) you don't want or need a power drill for this.

Highly recommended for any guitar workshop.

Paul Thurston  Melbourne, Australia
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 21 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce