Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tuners : Tuner installation tools : Peghole Reamers

Peghole Reamers


Read 22 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Unlike hardware store reamers, these professional luthier's reamers are semi-fluted to help keep the hole round. They're made of quality hollow-ground high speed steel with durable wooden handles.

See details below

Email a friend
Peghole Reamers
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0344 Standard Yes
$53.98

0343 Large Yes
$113.65


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Bridge Pin Hole Reamer



Endpin Jack Reamer



Violin Tuning Peg



Peg Shaper



1-step Peghole Drill Bit



Bridge Pin Hole Reamer
Endpin Jack Reamer
Violin Tuning Peg
Peg Shaper
1-step Peghole Drill Bit



Details
 Pictures
Two sizes are available, with the correct 2-degree taper for accurately fitting pegs in violins, violas, guitars, cellos and other stringed instruments.

Standard reamer tapers from .200" (5.08mm) to .375" (9.52mm), with 5.63" (143mm) cutting length. For full-size violins, violas and flamenco guitars. Also for banjos and dulcimers with wooden tuning pegs.

Large reamer tapers from .312" (7.92mm) to .625" (15.88mm), with 7.88" (200.15mm) cutting length. For guitars and cellos.

TIP: Bridge Pin Hole Reamers are available for fitting guitar bridge pins and endpins accurately.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Peghole Reamers
Peghole Reamers
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 22 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
5 12-18-2011
Standard Reamer

I found this tool to be easy to use (never having used one before) and happily it worked perfectly in fitting tuners. All five worked perfectly.

C. Nyal de Kaye  Emu Plains, NSW Australia Read my reviews (4)
5 12-17-2011
Essential Tools!

I have no idea how you could do without these and do a quality job.

Wilmer Gingerich  Jamesport MO Read my reviews (76)
5 10-26-2011
Got it, love it

This baby really makes a difference! No more wobbly edged holes. It does exactly what it's supposed to do.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
5 9-08-2011
Good tool.

This reamer does a fine job and makes consistently tight fits on the Stew-Mac violin pegs. It is easy to use and I recommend it!

Dean Robinson  Atlanta Read my reviews (2)
5 7-08-2011
AMAZING TOOL

I do repairments on ouds,saz,greek bouzoukis,laouto,and many other Greek-Turkish-Midle Eastern instruments.This is Ideal for the pegholes...Great Job Guys

SPYROS KOLIAVASILIS  WASHINGTON DC Read my reviews (3)
5 5-09-2011
Very sharp and effective

These made it a breeze to install my Gotoh tuners on my Stratocopy guitar. They require very little effort and are extremely sharp. A bit pricey but they make the job quick and easy.

Tim R  USA Read my reviews (7)
4 3-23-2011
replacement for lost tool

I used a violin/viola and cello size reamers with matching peg shapers for many years to fit friction pegs on lutes and fiddles, but mostly to enlarge peg holes for bushings and to fill holes for re-drilling.

I could not justify the cost of the matching peg shaper, so I cannot comment on fitting friction pegs or tapered dowels.

The reamer is certainly as fine quality as the one I purchased from a violin maker's supply over 30 years ago. It cut smoothly and evenly with no interference from residual filling dowel or lacquer drips after re-drilling and refinishing the face of an old mandolin with non-standard spacing. The handle was not quite the "work of art" of my old German-Made one, but was completely functional and comfortable.

J D LaBash  Austintown, OH Read my reviews (2)
5 12-30-2010
Reamed to perfection

Well made. Sharp Effective. Perfect taper, and no tear out. Even on flamed Red gum. Highly recommended.

S Jericho Custom Instruments  Australia Read my reviews (2)
5 10-23-2010
Excellent tool!

Ordered for my violin project, worked like a charm for pegs and end button!
Very sharp item, nice handle.

Ivars  Kuldiga, Latvia
5 9-07-2010
These Reamers Work!

Well made. Debated for while about getting them because they're not cheap- BUT DEFINTELY WORTH THE INVESTMENT. Make short work of the job. You get a clean centered hole that you will not get if you try to use a drill bit to enlarge an existing hole.

JSarge  Attleboro, MA Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 24 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce