Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tuners : Mandolin tuners : Grover F-Style 309 Mandolin Tuning Machines

Grover F-Style 309 Mandolin Tuning Machines


Read 16 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Grover F-style mandolin tuners are available in two different gear configurations, with engraved die-cast baseplates and 18:1 gear ratio.

See details below

Email a friend
Grover F-Style 309 Mandolin Tuning Machines
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5675 Worm under string post, nickel, 4L/4R Yes
$59.67
3 or more $53.40  
6 or more $48.33  

5675-G Worm under string post, gold, 4L/4R Yes
$80.10
3 or more $71.68  
6 or more $64.87  

5674 Worm over string post, nickel, 4L/4R 3-4 weeks
$59.67
3 or more $53.40  
6 or more $48.33  

5674-G Worm over string post, gold, 4L/4R Yes
$80.10
3 or more $71.68  
6 or more $64.87  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

1920s-style Tuner Bushings



Mandolin Peghead Drill Jig



Grover A-Style 309 Mandolin Tuning Machines



Golden Age F-style Mandolin Tuners



1920s-style Tuner Bushings
Mandolin Peghead Drill Jig
Grover A-Style 309 Mandolin Tuning Machines
Golden Age F-style Mandolin Tuners



Details
 Pictures
Specs
These are complete sets of 4-left/4-right tuners on two baseplates, with removable pearloid plastic knobs.

Standard 29/32" (23mm) string post spacing; screws and knurled press-fit bushings included. 11/32"-diameter (8.73mm) pegholes required.

Available in two different gear configurations:
#5675 with worm gear under string post (turn the the knob counterclockwise to tighten the string)
#5674 with worm gear over string post (turn the knob clockwise to tighten the string)
Important: These two styles may not be interchangeable on the same peghead.
See Specs before ordering.

Tip: Plate-mounted tuners can't work efficiently if the pegholes are improperly drilled. Our Mandolin Peghead Drill Jig ensures precise 29/32" spacing for accurate alignment for these tuning machines.


To be sure these tuners fit your instrument, compare your existing machines and peghole dimensions to our listed specs to help determine the best replacement.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Grover F-Style 309 Mandolin Tuning Machines
Grover F-Style 309 Mandolin Tuning Machines
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 16 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
5 10-21-2013
Great improvement over the originals!

I put Grover machines on practically every new string instrument I buy because of the turning ratio. The Grovers have a much better ratio and they tune so much more smoothly than most original machines. On my $500 mandolin these mandolin tuning machines have made a world of difference, all for the better!

dhbailey  Nashua, NH
5 5-13-2013
Good fit for the Epiphone MM-50E Mandolin

If you are considering these tuning machines for your Epiphone MM-50E I would highly recommend them. Perfect fit, easy tuning & stays in tune unless you bump or turn the keys. I have used them on mine for a month and I love them!

Rayman  Franklin, OH
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-03-2013
great tuners

I've installed them on my new Eastman, I didn't even had to drill new holes, they really do fit and what's more important, work perfect. Now i'm thinking of replacing the tuners on my Gibson A1 also. As for the shop: super fast delivery, that is how an internet shop should work! thank you! It did not take more than 3 days including German customs after ordering!

Ferenc  Berlin, Germany
4 12-13-2012
Grover Tuners

Excellent tuners for the price. Posts seem a bit loose at the base and can be loose after installation. But under load function ok. Would be nice to have a counterbore bit with 1/4 pilot the right size for the bushings. Would also be nice to have button options. Real mop or ebony or ivoroid. I also saw some differences in the mounting screws. Some bright brass and some matte in the same set.

Steve Hinde  New Hartford, IA Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-28-2012
Excellent Value

These tuners are every bit as good functionally and visually as Waverlys. I see no reason to spend a dime more than what these tuners cost unless the customer prefers status over functionality.

The Lefty Luthier  Spring Branch, Texas Read my reviews (40)
5 11-10-2012
Washburn Machine Replacement

I had to replace the factory machines on a Washburn Mandolin as they were very hard to tune and after a considerable effort getting them in tune they would quickly slip out again. The answer was the Grover tuning machines. They tune up fast and stay in tune much longer. I only had to drill two holes. They look great and you can feel the quality. I'd recommend these over your common factory machines any day.

Kevin Breeze  Tura Beach NSW Australia Read my reviews (10)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-21-2012
tuner I've used

they very good and work really nice and look good too!

Dr. Michael D Mortensen DC  Fort Bragg, ca. 95437 Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-13-2012
Grover F-style mandolin tuners

These are very smooth tuners, but beware in the installation thereof! The bushing recess is advertised as 11/32". I used a twist drill in reverse to ream the recess, and the bushing was too loose. I then used a 21/64" twist drill, and got the perfect fit. A word to the wise. I managed to build up the loose fit by gluing a ring of paper inside the too-large hole, but if you use a bit, use a 21/64" run in reverse to prevent its digging in.

Doc Rock  Calgary
5 12-17-2011
Quality!

My Collings F5 went from a tuning aggravation to a dream!

Wilmer Gingerich  Jamesport MO Read my reviews (76)
5 9-28-2011
A nice upgrade

These tuning machines were a direct replacement to the stock machines on my MK mandolin, which uses 'worm over string post' tuners, except for a few screw holes. The only drawback is that the tuners work the opposite way compared to the originals, i.e. clockwise to tune up on the lower strings side.

I guess Grover uses the same parts for 'worm over' and 'worm under' models, and the worms are made primarily for the 'worm under' model. Nevertheless the tuners are of top quality, with a smooth and precise action. For a mandolin this is very important due to the high-tension of the strings and micro-metric tuning requirement. Thanks to Stew-Mac for the fast shipping!

Fran├žois  Toronto, Canada Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 87 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce