Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tuners : Mandolin tuners : Golden Age Restoration Tuners for A-style Mandolin

Golden Age Restoration Tuners

for A-style Mandolin

Read 27 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The early 1900s look is reborn! Long-awaited replacements for the A-style tuners used by Gibson and other makers from the 1910s until 1925.

See details below

Email a friend
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for A-style Mandolin
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
2505 Relic nickel, cream knobs Yes
$60.40
3 or more $54.36  

2505-N Bright nickel, cream knobs Yes
$46.60
3 or more $41.94  

2506 Relic nickel, ivoroid knobs Yes
$84.70
3 or more $76.23  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Peghole Reamers



Golden Age A-style Mandolin Tuners



Golden Age Mandolin Tailpiece



Tuner Bushing Press



Peghole Reamers
Golden Age A-style Mandolin Tuners
Golden Age Mandolin Tailpiece
Tuner Bushing Press



Details
 Pictures
Specs
The "worm gear under string post" configuration and wider vintage post spacing is ideal for restoring older mandolins and improving their tuning, and for making modern replica instruments more authentic. Our relic nickel finish version has the right look to complement vintage hardware.

"People who build replica instruments or who do restoration or repair work are just going to love these."
—Frank Ford, vintage instrument repair expert

Special note about string spacing! These tuners feature historically-correct (1910s-1925) .931" string post spacing. This is wider than standard .906" (29/32") spacing. Please measure your mandolin's string post spacing before you order.

Steel baseplates feature the original early 1900s shape, incised "tread stripes," and vintage-style square riveted worm supports. Each set includes 4-left / 4-right tuners with 1920s-style mounting screws and press-fit peghead bushings.

Gear ratio 15:1
Bushing diameter .283" (7.19mm)
String post diameter 0.236" (6mm)
String post spacing Early 1920s .931" (23.65mm)

These replica tuners have special spacing for vintage Gibson and other makes before World War II. Please be aware that our standard spacing drill jig will not align accurate holes for these tuners.

To be sure these tuners fit your instrument, compare your existing machines and peghole dimensions to our listed specs to help determine the best replacement.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for A-style Mandolin
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for A-style Mandolin
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 27 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 >
5 3-29-2014
nice & simple

these tuners fit many prewar restorations for both A mandolins & mando-banjos / i also use them on new mandolins for a retro look and feel / my customers have only praise for their functionality

ron hyde  wa. Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
4 8-05-2013
Golden Age tuner good but could still use some improvement

I installed a set on my Gibson A3 whiteface. Relic finish much duller than originals, bright finish quite a bit shinier, but I went with bright. These tuners operate very smoothly before installation but become stiff when the strings pull the posts hard against the insides of the bushings. It helps to wind enough string onto the post so it can be guided down close to the bushing, thereby reducing leverage on the post. It would also help if the baseplates were stiffer. Thicker plates wouldn't materially affect the look, they'd resist distortion better, and help the posts remain upright. As it is, string loading bends them to the point I can see daylight under them between the screws (only a light string set, too). This pulls the gears away from the worms, causing play in adjustment and occasional slippage after tuning.

Corrie Lochan Music  Alpine County, CA Read my reviews (2)
5 7-03-2013
Great replacement

These are a great replacement for the 1920's tuners found on the older Gibson A's I have used a couple sets of these and they work and fit very well

B St. Pierre  Harpswell, Me
5 2-09-2013
great tuners

Just bought an ancient Gibson A in London. Turned out it was made in 1912. I then got a little worried about doing anything to it in case it crumbled to dust. However it didn't want to stay in tune and in slight desperation I looked for some alternative tuners online as I kept having to retune all the time with the original ones. These Stewmac replacements are virtually identical and so far the ancient thing hasn't reacted against them... what's more it stays in tune. I'm still amazed that anyone has been so careful with the original design but brought the engineering up to date.

ellisdave  london Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-08-2012
Manjo is alive and well and staying in tune!

I just finished restoring a circa 1920 Mandolin Banjo, these tuners fit perfectly. As I had to replace the top lamination on the peg head anyway having to drill the slightly larger holes for the collar bushings was not a problem. Great product, looks good and functions great! Stew Mac comes through again!

Chris Cooper  Commerce, Mich. Read my reviews (5)
3 5-26-2012
Pretty Good

These are made to be strong, durable and to have the proper spacing for the older Gibsons. They make tuning easier, not just because they are new and tightly meshed, but also because they have 15 to 1 gear ratio as opposed to the old 12 to 1 ratio. They are not totally accurate replacements, as the plates are not as long as the old ones, leaving about a 1/16" of the old footprint showing. Also, the cross-hatch is not well done, being very light as compared to the originals which were deeply imprinted and crisp. Further, the ivoroid knobs are, of course, stark white in contrast to the nicely yellowed antique of my old ones, but I may be asking too much for them to make them yellow, aged looking. One other thing, the ferrules supplied with the replacement tuners are a larger diameter than the originals, so I re-used my old ones. But, otherwise, I can now more easily adjust the tuning on my mando.

AlanRoy  Austin
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-14-2012
Great replacements

I used them for a 50 years old mandolin. The repro relic nickel, cream knob models are almost like the originals. Great product.

Mert Ozdemir  Istanbul, Turkey Read my reviews (4)
5 12-03-2011
Great Upgrade

I was building my first mandolin, so I didn't want to spend too much for a tuner. I decided to buy a cheapie from Amazon for about $15. The mandolin turned out pretty goo except for the tuners, one of which broke in less than a month. I decided to upgrade to these. What a huge difference! These are silky smooth, arrived before I even expected them. Now, I'm building my second mando, and I'm thinking its worth the extra money!

manodmaniac  athens, OH
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-28-2011
Great replacements

I'm restoring an early 30's national reso. mandolin.The tuners were shot and now you would be hard pressed to tell the repro relic nickel,cream knob models apart from the originals. Great product. Neil Russell

Celtic Cross Instruments  Victoria BC Canada Read my reviews (2)
5 9-04-2011
Golden age tuners/A Home Run

For years I have struggled with my Gibson A-4 tuners and have wondered why no one has addressed this issue. Stewmac finally did it and I took the bait with some concern. That concern was not an issue after I installed these tuners on my Gibson. It now stays in tune and you can actually and comfortably turn the tuners without having to lift weights for a year to be able to accomplish that task. They fit perfectly and they work perfectly. I guess that makes them perfect. Thank you very much and hope you get rich from selling them. Be sure to market these so we all know they are there.

knightstik  Sullivan, Missouri
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 87 of our latest catalog.


Golden Age® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce