Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tuners : Mandolin tuners : Economy A-style Mandolin Tuners

Economy A-style Mandolin Tuners


Read 18 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Ideal tuners for fixing up those not so valuable, but dearly loved instruments.

See details below

Email a friend
Economy A-style Mandolin Tuners
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0759 Economy A-style Mandolin Tuners Yes
$19.29
3 or more $17.36  
6 or more $16.51  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Golden Age A-style Mandolin Tuners



Golden Age Restoration Tuners for A-style Mandolin



Grover A-Style 309 Mandolin Tuning Machines



Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set



Peghole Reamers



Golden Age A-style Mandolin Tuners
Golden Age Restoration Tuners for A-style Mandolin
Grover A-Style 309 Mandolin Tuning Machines
Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set
Peghole Reamers



Details
 Pictures
Specs
14:1 ratio with white plastic knobs. Nickel-plated.

29/32" (23.02mm) string post spacing.
5/16" (7.94mm) diameter pegholes required.
Set includes a pair of 4L/4R tuning machines, mounting screws and press-fit bushings.

Tip: Plate-mounted tuners can't work efficiently if the pegholes are improperly drilled. Our Mandolin Peghead Drill Jig ensures precise 29/32" spacing for accurate alignment for these tuning machines.


To be sure these tuners fit your instrument, compare your existing machines and peghole dimensions to our listed specs to help determine the best replacement.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Economy A-style Mandolin Tuners
Economy A-style Mandolin Tuners
 
3.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 18 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 18 < 1  2
5 1-12-2011
They look good and work well for the money

I recently installed these on an Irish Bouzouki I designed and built. They tune easily and hold the string tension. What more could I want.

Leroy Beal  Mountain View, CA Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
3 12-15-2010
Inexpensive but not Cheap

These tuners are certainly not Waverlys but for the money they deliver good value.

The Lefty Luthier  Spring Branch, Texas Read my reviews (40)
1 10-26-2010
Disappointing

These tuners are too low end for my needs. I should have returned them.I found the posts were not very accurately sited. Too much work was required to get them to fit.

philj200  Sea Cliff, NY
4 10-11-2010
Good value

These tuners were just what I needed at a good price. They turned an old, cheap, unplayable Harmony mandolin into an old, cheap, PLAYABLE mandolin.

The mandolin was given to me in the 1970s by a friend who had obtained it in a barter of some kind and then didn't want it. It had become unplayable because the original tuners would bind and you'd need pliers to turn them.

I recommend using the dimensions provided here by Stew-Mac to carefully measure and plan your installation. Though the dimensions were very close, I figured out that I had to enlarge and shift the holes in the headstock a bit, so I was prepared for that. I used a Dremel tool to take care of that.

After that, installation was a breeze. The tuners are easy to rotate, easy to tune to the right pitch, and they stay in pitch. They ain't Waverly's but were perfect to restore playability to this instrument which is now in the hands of a happy 10-year-old!

Peter C  Los Altos, CA, USA
4 10-10-2010
Better than the old ones!

Worked admirably for fixing up my "not so valuable, but dearly loved" mandolin. Easy to install, fit perfectly, and they tune smoothly.

Mike S  Windsor, CO, USA
3 10-08-2010
It don't fit.......Tweak it til it does

I thought I was saving money when purchasing economy tuning machines for my kit built Flatiron mandolin. However, when I installed them they were seriously misaligned and wouldn't fit into one set of peg holes. Tweaking the holes until they fit, I found they were still binding a bit, but I figured the bushings would eliminate any binding and left them alone. When I installed the strings, however, the binding got worse with 1st string of A string duo, and it only got worse with tension. My advise is spend the extra money and purchase a quality set of tuning machines, it'll be worth it in the long run.

Bill from Puyallup  Puyallup WA Read my reviews (8)
2 8-29-2010
Only Fair

It's an economy tuner, don't expect more.

Yaron Naor  Bat Hefer, Israel Read my reviews (16)
Customer supplied image for review
4 6-03-2010
Nice for the price.

The economy tuners are good value.

Liquidguitars  Ojai Ca. Read my reviews (10)
Displaying 11 – 18 < 1  2 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 88 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce