Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tuners : Guitar, solid peghead tuners : Steinberger Gearless Tuners

Steinberger Gearless Tuners


Read 57 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Improved string locking and 40:1 tuning ratio! Steinberger's unique "straight-through" tuner has no gears, and an astounding 40:1 tuning ratio for unparalleled accuracy.

See details below

Email a friend
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5460 Chrome Yes
$99.98
3 or more $89.98  

5460-B Black Yes
$99.98
3 or more $89.98  

5460-G Gold Yes
$149.98
3 or more $134.98  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...







Details
 Pictures
Specs
Instructions
Straight string pull eliminates winding. The locking knob on top secures the string to prevent slippage. String installation is fast and easy, and the tuning action is impressively smooth. Set of 6, instructions included.

Single pin mount keeps tuner from rotating, no mounting screws needed.
Requires 10mm (13/32")-diameter pegholes.

Minimum headstock thickness: 9/16" (14.30mm)
Maximum headstock thickness: 43/64" (16.89mm)
Maximum string gauge: 0.060" (1.52mm).

To be sure these tuners fit your instrument, compare your existing machines and peghole dimensions to our listed specs to help determine the best replacement.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
Steinberger Gearless Tuners
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 57 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  6 >
5 12-20-2012
Steinberger Gearless "banjo style" Tuners for Firebird = WONDERFUL!

I successfully ordered 2 x set of these wonderful Steinberger Gearless "banjo style" Tuners for my two (2 x) Gibson Firebird V guitars (1995 and 2002 models) from Stewmac.

These Steinberger Gearless "banjo style" Tuners are excellent replacement for the original Gibson banjo style tuners found on the reissue Gibson Firebirds V's.

I replaced the original Gibson banjo tuners because several of the tuners on both Firebirds seemed to have their internal gears possible stopped and could not be fixed. I found that the tuners tha worked seed to be sloppy at best maybe due to wear and tear over the years.

I also found that the original Gibson banjo style tuners became very very hard to to tune exactly even after some time worked on by a professional luthier.

Ordering, shipment and receipt from Stewmac: very fast, efficient and easy. The Steinberger Gearless "banjo style" Tuners arrived within 3 days here in Hong Kong. Excellent indeed.

Implementation: Steinberger Gearless "banjo style" Tuners are very easy to fit. Just need a 8mm socket to the existing tuner holes in my Gibson Firebird V's.. no pressure worked great.

WARNING: make sure you R.T.F.M (read the ) excellent documentation from Stewmac before you go ahead. DONT try and disassemble the tuners!!

Workflow: very very fast to replace a string. Simply after feeding through the bridge , pull string through the tuner hole as tight as you can with your hand. No need for pilers BTW. The use the coarse 'T" clamp to lock it down. Use finger tight only. it will not slip at all. The finally use the finger thumb wheel under the tuner to fine tune it. Its so easy!

Coolness:
a) very fast to replace a string
b) very fast to tune compared to legacy tuner types
c) no need to "guestimate"/allow the length of string for wrap because there NO wrapping!
d) very fine tuning because of the high ratio 35:1 (?) compared to the legacy tuners 5:1
e) they look so cool too! (I have chrome ones)
f) they are very strong and tough and will not ever need replacing and won't wear as far as I can see.
g) very good if you change strings a lot. Luckily I use D'A EXP's and they last a lot longer than the non coated ones for me!
h) excellent for constantly changing tunings (open for example).. very very quick

Warnings:
a) NEVER/DONT try and pull the tuner apart (the centre and the stem). These are press fitted. Sure you can pull them apart but they may not be so easy to use after you do this.. so just dont. There's no need
b) watch out that you DONT LOSE the TEFLON bush (washer) used between the fine adjustment and the tuner. The tuner will become rather unusable. I think a tiny bit of adhesive on the static side by7 Steinberger would have fixed this.. please take note.

Summary:
- highly recommended by me for replacement of ye old legacy Gibson Banjo Tuners for the Firebird V series and you're not a stickler for "original parts" . (same for other I imagine)
- very very good service from STEWMAC to me here in Hong Kong.

Keep up the good work Stewmac!!

WarwickT  Hong Kong
5 9-09-2012
Awesome Tuners

Best value for money... once these babys went onto my Tele it gave it a fresh new look, easy to instal and very accurate on the tunning... Thanks to the team at Stewmac for great service and delivery.

Dion Hobson  New Zealand Read my reviews (3)
5 8-11-2012
A different fix!!

In studying the various options to repair the broken headstock on my SG, I decided to make it into a headless, using 3 of these tuners along with 3 of the originals. There was a small learning curve to make these tuners work, due to no instructions whatsoever (my only complaint as a first time user). I noticed that "Not Ready For Prime TIme" (who gave a 1-star review) had the same problems I did, but sadly, he didn't notice the set-screw adjustment to fix that problem. After a bit of messing around, I was able to make the necessary adjustments. It's now a one-of-a-kind SG, and I love it!! The cost of the total fix was less than 15% of neck replacement, and I never have to worry about breaking the headstock again!!! I received the set with one tuner missing the alignment pin. Stewmac was very helpful, and sent another right away. Granted, I was only using 3 of them, but now, I can do a fix like this for some other unlucky Gibson owner.

Mo  Vancouver, Canada
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-05-2012
Precision Tuning!

I've used these tuners exclusively on my builds for over three years now. Everyone who tries them, wants them on their guitars. At last, accurate, stable tuning!

CJ Beuhler  Saskatchewan, Canada Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-29-2012
Changing strings

If your high strings slip,you can adjust the clamping knob. Loosen the set screw on the knob and back it off 1 or 2 turns, re-tighten the set screw. This info is not in the instructions.

Bruce Macie  Niagara Falls,n.y. Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-04-2012
Great!

Light, extremely accurate, very classy on my Firebird... I don't regret!

Scorpion1211  France Read my reviews (2)
5 6-22-2012
Steinbergers on a Epiphone Les Paul

I was a little worried about trying these on a Les Paul because I could not find any reviews of anyone trying them. So I took a chance, and it seems to work just fine. Easy install without any modification.

Huckball  Copley, Ohio, USA
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-01-2012
Best tuning mechanism ever!

Over the last 18 months, I have used over 350 of these tuners on my travel banjo product line. They are without a doubt the best tuning mechanism money can buy. They are completely reliable, easy to use, and hold up to extensive use and abuse(OK, I did have one customer break off the post, but that was from an impact). Anyone who says they have to use excessive force to tune or that they won't hold the strings securely is not following the instructions correctly. I use them with strings down to 0.010" with no problems. If you bottom out the clamping knob and it's still not gripping your string securely, just remove the clamping knob/threaded shaft assembly, loosen the set screw holding the knob on the threaded shaft, turn the threaded shaft 1 full turn counter-clockwise, and re-tighten the set screw. That will lengthen the shaft slightly and give you all the string clamping power you need. I will never use a conventional geared tuner again - I just wish they were made in sizes for mandolin and bass!

SDFarris  Franklin TN
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-27-2012
Gearless Tuners on Schecter C1

Installed tuners on Schecter C1 and they work great. Because of the Schecter head design the ā€œDā€ and ā€œGā€ tuners are close together, but not too close to be a problem. The tuners look good and work well. I received them from stewmac in less time than promised. Thinking about buying another set for my other Schecter.

Steven E.  Spring Lake, MI
5 4-12-2012
Firebird

Excellent product, worth every penny! Though there is a slight learning curve to using a tuner with a 40:1 ratio, once achieved it's a joy to use.

Hepburn  New Albany, Indiana Read my reviews (6)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 56 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce