Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tuners : Guitar, solid peghead tuners : Schertler Tuning Machines for Solid Peghead Guitar

Schertler Tuning Machines for Solid Peghead Guitar


Read 8 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Swiss design and distinctive look! High quality 3-left/3-right Swiss-designed tuners that bring a distinctive look to steel-string guitars.

See details below

Email a friend
Schertler Tuning Machines for Solid Peghead Guitar
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5396 Satin chrome with ebony 1-3 days
$119.00
3 or more $107.10  

5396-B Matte black with ebony Yes
$119.00
3 or more $107.10  

5396-M Metallic with ebony Yes
$119.00
3 or more $107.10  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Schertler Tuning Machines for Slotted Peghead Guitar



Schertler Classical Guitar Tuning Machines



Peghead Bushing Reamers



Tuner Bushing Press



Peghole Reamers



Schertler Tuning Machines for Slotted Peghead Guitar
Schertler Classical Guitar Tuning Machines
Peghead Bushing Reamers
Tuner Bushing Press
Peghole Reamers



Details
 Pictures
Specs
Schertler machines are precisely engineered with 18:1 gear ratio, nylon worm post bearings in a compact cast aluminum base, and adjustable knob tension. The result is impressively smooth and accurate operation. All models feature genuine polished ebony fitted with brass internal shaft bushings for durability, and eye-catching unplated brass crown gears.

Also available for slotted peghead steel string and classical guitars.

18:1 gear ratio
3-left/3-right with mounting screws
Removable ebony knobs
10mm (13/32") diameter pegholes required
Knurled press-fit peghead bushings
Available in satin chrome, matte black, and Metallic (translucent black)

To be sure these tuners fit your instrument, compare your existing machines and peghole dimensions to our listed specs to help determine the best replacement.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Schertler Tuning Machines for Solid Peghead Guitar
Schertler Tuning Machines for Solid Peghead Guitar
 
4 out of 5 stars
Based on 8 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 8
5 11-21-2013
Still loving these machines!

I've used these on quite a few guitars now with great results. I have one customer that once swore by locking tuners. With these, he realizes that a good machine is all you need for tuning stability.

Kopp String Instruments  Catawba Island, Ohio Read my reviews (13)
Customer supplied image for review
2 11-08-2013
String Breakers!

First off, these tuners look great. If they functioned as well as they look I would be delighted in the product. But they do have several flaws. The first being they're responsible for 4 broken strings on my guitar already (2 e and 2 G strings), and I've only had them installed for four days. The string gets kinks in it when it wraps around the post, and when you tune down and back up, SNAP! All four strings have broken at the post. Next, they don't tune smoothly. They turn as smooth as glass, but I don't notice a change in pitch until after sometimes a whole turn of the button. Lastly, others have complained of the grain orientation causing their buttons to fall off. I've not experienced this, and live in a low humidity climate (Utah) so I don't anticipate this being an issue, but heed their warnings if you live in a high humidity climate. I won't be purchasing these again.

Patrick Robbins  Murray, UT Read my reviews (2)
3 3-22-2013
Design problems

Firstly, I love these tuners. Smooth, accurate, not heavy and look great, and I have been using them in all my guitars. However, one guitar bounced with two failed tuners. The Ebony knobs were twisting around on the shaft. Further investigation revealed the guitar had been in high humidity. It has already been pointed out that grain of the Ebony is in the wrong direction, but that is unlikely to be a structural problem because the tuners are so smooth. However, under high humidity the Ebony will take up moisture and expand across the grain. The hole will get bigger, the ribbed brass insert in the knob will come loose and the tuner will fail. It looks as if the insert is glued, but in this case the glue failed in all 6 tuners since all were loose, but only two failed. These tunes are great if you look after your guitar and avoid high humidity, but are not suitable for musicians who are likely to submit their guitar to high humidity. Professional musicians sometimes don't have any choice, they still need to do the gig if it is raining and hot. That was the case here, 4 days of constant rain and temperatures around 34deg C. Failure is likely in tropical climates. I also think the screws are too small. They are a pain for old blokes like me with eyesight not like it used to be, and with constant use do tend to come loose. I am now thinking about changing to different tuners which is a great pity.

mbuilder  Australia Read my reviews (2)
5 10-31-2012
Excellent Quality and a Modern Look

I was searching for modern looking tuning machines for my new "Paloma" model hybrid acoustic guitar. I really wanted the quality that a Waverly machine has, but I did not want that "traditional" look. The Schertler machines gave me exactly what I was looking for with my newest guitar design. I am writing this review after well over two weeks and two sets of strings on the instrument and I have to say that I could not be happier with the Schertler machines. I found the quality only slightly less than I expect from Waverly machines, but the modern look has me sold. These are great machines and you should not hesitate to use them on any instruments. They will be standard on my Paloma model from here on out. Cheers! Denny Kopp

Kopp String Instruments  Catawba Island, Ohio Read my reviews (13)
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-18-2012
Smooth and accurate

Very smooth and accurate. It is true that the Ebony grain seems to run parallel to the shaft, but they are so smooth that is not likely to be a problem in use. In practice have had no problems.

mbuilder  Australia Read my reviews (2)
5 2-09-2011
Smooth and Good Looking

I purchased 3 sets. All arrived in great condition. I installed the first set 2 weeks ago. They are really smooth and they hold their tune great - exact, accurate tuning adjustments.

The ebony knobs are well machined and well attached - I expect no problems with them. They look GOOD. They are a wide knob, so be sure you have appropriate spacing between tuners. They did not fit my Scotty's hand winder - I had to use a different one.

Installation was a breeze. Be sure to drill practice hole in scrap wood to be sure you have the exact sized hole. Correct hole is a tight fit (more than just snug).

Satin finish is really nice looking. I accidentally scratched the finish when trying to remove a tuner from the test hole with a screw driver - a reminder always to use wood, etc for pressing tuners out of tight fits when servicing and fitting.

I am a fan of open back tuners. I think these look great with an acoustic guitar. They look (and are) solid tuners. I think they would not look as well with all electrics. I have tried most open back tuners, and these are definitely at the top of my list (I have not tried Waverly's, so I can't compare to them). I plan to make these a standard on my acoustic guitars.

James Couture  Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Customer supplied image for review
2 1-06-2011
engineering problems

I purchased these based on their unusual looks. They are really cool looking; unfortunately, the ebony on the knobs is oriented with the grain going in exactly the wrong direction. Four of the six tuners had cracked knobs before they even got out of the box. The mechanism looked good, but I returned them before trying them on an instrument. They need to re-engineer this product.

Mr. Noble  Denver, CO
5 9-24-2010
Excellent Euro style tuner

These seem to be models after Alessi tuners. They are VERY smooth, and precise. Look great (to me), and were a breeze to install. The grain on the buttons does run parallel to the shaft, but they turn soo easy I doubt it will be an issue. One of the smoothest tuners I've ever used. I wish they had a nickel plated version, or a gold plated for solid peghead, but for now I'm liking the "metallic" color.

John Mayes  Norman,OK Read my reviews (18)
Displaying 1 – 8 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 57 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce