Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tuners : Guitar, solid peghead tuners : Schaller Tuners : Schaller Locking Guitar Machines 3L/3R

Schaller Locking Guitar Machines


Read 14 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Smooth 16:1 gear ratio, with a rear thumbscrew to lock the string. Single pin mount keeps tuner from rotating, no mounting screws needed.

See details below

Email a friend
Schaller Locking Guitar Machines
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0659 Chrome, 3L/3R Yes
$87.00
3 or more $78.42  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Depth-stop Drill Bits



10mm Drill Bit



Blank-peghead Guitar Necks



Guitar Nutdrivers



Tuner Pin Drill Jig



Depth-stop Drill Bits
10mm Drill Bit
Blank-peghead Guitar Necks
Guitar Nutdrivers
Tuner Pin Drill Jig



Details
 Pictures
Specs
• 16:1 ratio
• 10mm (13/32") diameter pegholes required
• Removable metal knobs
• Set of 6

To be sure these tuners fit your instrument, compare your existing machines and peghole dimensions to our listed specs to help determine the best replacement.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Schaller Locking Guitar Machines
Schaller Locking Guitar Machines 3L/3R
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 14 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
5 1-03-2014
Significant Upgrade

About the Schaller tuners I have nothing to add to what other reviewers have said. These make the tuners that came with my (expensive) Gibson seem cheap. A word of caution for amateur installers (like me). The 10 mm bit that I bought is pretty aggressive, and a drill guide and backing block is (IMHO) essential to prevent tear-out (or worse) when re-drilling 3/8" holes to 10 mm with a hand-drill. I made my own. The bit will bind on the edges of the existing holes at first, but with the reinforcement of the tightly-clamped guide and block, I got six perfect 10 mm holes, and the rest of the installation was simple.

Ed Aasvik  Boise
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-28-2013
Schaller, I use nothing else

Forget the boutique brands. Forget the budget brands. The best tuners are Schallers, period. I use nothing else on any of my guitars. I've tried every major brand and Schaller is the only answer to the question "What is the best tuning machine?". Don't waste your time on anything else.

Matthews Guitars  Satellite Beach, Florida
5 12-29-2012
Very good tuners

I have these tuners for almost two years now. I have chosen them as replacement tuners for Godin/Seagull C6 guitar - they fit perfectly, no drilling, just remove the original tuners and "plug" these Schallers.

I am very much satisfied with them. They are as smooth as the legendary Gotoh 510 (I have them on another guitar, so I can compare) and they hold the tuning as firmly as Grover 18:1 Sta-Tites - I have them too, they are simple but extremely stable, from my experience).

Another thing that I like is that the relatively large knobs make these tuners very "handy" and easy to operate (may be that is why they "feel" the same as the 18:1 Gotohs); nice also from an aesthetic point of view.

In my case the chrome "colour" was exactly what I wanted, but it is perhaps pity that there are no other options available (gold, black).

The locking mechanism of these Schallers is very good and useful. Just remember that the thickest string one can use with these Schallers is gauge 56 and this already with some difficulty - but usual medium strings with low E in gauge 56 are still OK.

Michal Jerabek  Brussels, Belgium
5 3-06-2012
simply the best!

the only negative thing I can tell about those is that they are not coming in black...!

Steeve Rock  Lévis, Québec, Canada Read my reviews (9)
5 8-31-2011
The absolute best

The Schaller Locking tuners is as good as it gets. I've tested lots of other brands of tuners on my builds, name it and I've tested them. But these beat them all. Smooth action, precision made and beautiful finish.

GoranS  Sweden Read my reviews (4)
4 8-31-2011
Smooth Operation

I use these with pearloid buttons on a lot of guitars. I prefer the thicker locking-knob over the Sperzers.

Kind of pricey, but they are very solid.

Middleton Guitars  Southern California Read my reviews (51)
5 7-07-2011
Schallers are better than Sperzels

Have em both .. Schallers are simpler to use, better locking wheel and add perfect weight to the neck

mikrow  Huntington Beach, CA Read my reviews (34)
5 3-30-2011
Heavy Duty German Tuners

3 a Side locking tuners. It's good to know that if your guitar is ever caught up in a thermo-nuclear explosion, your tuners will survive. Chromed and heavy! Hidden locating pin does away with mounting screws that seem to strip if you attempt to undo them. 16:1 ratio and s-m-o-o-t-h winding makes tuning accurate. Best of all, you just poke in the string, tighten the large knurled nut and you are tuning. No pre-winding and no extra coils around the peg to make tuning non-linear.

Will they make you play better? No. Do they look vintage? No. One side benefit of their weight, was that balance of my guitar on the strap was improved. The price was good too!

resoamp  Beechworth Australia Read my reviews (32)
5 1-18-2011
Excellent Tuners!

These came stock on my G&L S-500 and I wanted a set on my G&L ASAT Classic. Replaced the ASAT standard tuners with these in about 10 minutes and all is good. Excellent service from StewMac!

M Lauden  Keller, TX
5 12-20-2010
Best Tuners!!

These are the most consistent and well built tuners that I have used. Excellent gear ratio for accurate tuning. Will use on all future builds.

HarperAxes  Indiana Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 58 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce