Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tuners : Guitar, solid peghead tuners : Gotoh Tuners : Gotoh Vintage-style Oval Knob Tuners 6-In-Line

Gotoh Vintage Oval Knob Tuners


Read 29 Reviews   |   Write a Review

These fine reproductions feature old style stamped gear housings, but have modern improved 15:1 gearing for smoother, more precise action.

See details below

Email a friend
Gotoh Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0648 Nickel, 6-in-line Yes
$37.92
3 or more $29.63  

0648-G Gold, 6-in-line Yes
$55.80
3 or more $44.65  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

3/8 Conversion Tuner Bushing



Guitar String Retainers



Vintage-style Tuner Bushings



Vintage-Style String Retainer



Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set



3/8" Conversion Tuner Bushing
Guitar String Retainers
Vintage-style Tuner Bushings
Vintage-Style String Retainer
Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set



Details
 Pictures
Specs
Set of 6-in-line.

The oval knobs on these tuners are just like the ones found on electric and acoustic guitars manufactured in the late 1940s to present.

Includes mounting screws and round press-fit peghead bushings. Peghole spacing is 4-11/16" (119.06mm). 11/32" (8.73mm)-diameter pegholes required.

Also available: Special conversion bushings for installing tuning machines into 3/8" or 10mm pegholes, without redrilling.

6-in-line locking tuners, which are the perfect upgrade for old or new Fenders with "Kluson-style" tuners — they're a direct retrofit!

To be sure these tuners fit your instrument, compare your existing machines and peghole dimensions to our listed specs to help determine the best replacement.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Gotoh Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Vintage-style Oval Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 29 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
5 6-26-2012
My absolute favorites

The best vintage tuners possible, available at a very reasonable price point... what's not to love?

M Dixon  Reading, MA Read my reviews (3)
5 6-16-2012
Great price and tuner plus excellent tech support

Tech support's suggestion was to drill the very top of the pilot screw hole out slightly larger to fit the collar of the screw (which is slightly larger than the screw threads), worked like a charm.

Stephen T.  Atlanta, GA Read my reviews (2)
5 4-01-2012
Gotoh Vintage Oval Knob Tuners

Great tuners and very good price!

Martín  Rosario, Santa Fe, Argentina Read my reviews (78)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-22-2012
Very good, solid tuning machines

Gotoh is a well known name within the guitar making industry. These tuning machines did the trick and look great doing it.

rickhal53  Pembroke, MA Read my reviews (5)
5 3-04-2012
Best vintage tuners around

I've used these many times on new builds, and as upgrades...durable, stable and smooth tuners at a very good price.

nadzab  Maine, USA Read my reviews (4)
5 2-05-2012
Why I love these

I love these because with a simple procedure, they grab and wind up perfectly every time. Cut the string two tuners past the one one you're winding, put about a 1/3rd inch bend on the end, slip in the split post and down the hollow shaft, then wind while pressing the string down on the headstock with your finger for best angle to the nut--they wind perfectly everytime. Some locking tuners only have a little knob nowadays, you can barely get one wind--it's unsatisfying! Now if they improved these some more with sealed housings and perhaps a better mounting scheme they'd be superb.

Kal  Aurora CO
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-18-2012
Tried all the vintage "Kluson" style these are the best

I use quite a few of these and had only one issue a pac had 2 top end tuners. I called StewMac on it and they sent a replacement no sweat but they charged me for it. No problems with the bushings most times I make my own for the 1950 look. The screws go in like a breeze no step drilling just use a bit o bees wax on the threads. Good product great price!

Marc Rutters  Vista California
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-02-2012
Great Vintage Vibe but with all the Modern trimmings.

Retrofitted the nickel tuners to an American Standard and they look perfect. With the bushings there was little work needed apart from drilling the mounting holes. As Blues2 says, you need to drill twice to accommodate the thicker, unthreaded portion of the screw. Do that and there is very little chance of breaking them off in the headstock. It is an amateur mistake and the screws are perfect as long as you know what your doing. A handyman never blames his tools...

Nicholas McDonald  Brisbane, Australia
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-12-2011
Nice Replacement Tuners

Look great and work better. Don't waste money on extra mounting screws like some reviews tell you to. The top of the screws between the threads and head has a slightly wider diameter than the threads themself. Account for this and you will be fine, that means you should start with a smaller drill bit to accomodate the threaded portion and the a larger bit to accomodate the unthreaded lip (this second bit only needs to go as deep as the lip will enter into the headstock (not the same depth as the first hole). Rub your threads on a candle and get a little bit of wax on them, turn slow with the correct size screwdriver and you're done.

Blues2  Chicago, IL
5 8-06-2011
Best Value

For the dollars you really can't complain. Nice look, the split post design means no string stabs and they hold tune flawlessly.

Brinjen  Darwin, NT, Australia Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 58 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce