Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tuners : Guitar, solid peghead tuners : Gotoh Tuners : Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners

Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners


Read 40 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Locking versions of the classic oval knob, stamped housing tuners found on vintage Fender® guitars. For 6-in-line pegheads.

See details below

Email a friend
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1954 Nickel, 6-in-line Yes
$59.94
3 or more $47.39  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set



Gotoh Vintage Oval Knob Tuners



Guitar String Retainers



Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar



Vintage-Style String Retainer



Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set
Gotoh Vintage-style Oval Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
Guitar String Retainers
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
Vintage-Style String Retainer



Details
 Pictures
Specs
Instructions
6-in-line locking tuners that are the perfect upgrade for old or new Fenders with "Kluson-style" tuners — they're a direct retrofit!

These fine reproductions feature old style stamped gear housings, but have modern improved 15:1 gearing for smoother, more precise action.

All sets include mounting screws and round press-fit peghead bushings. Peghole spacing is 4-11/16" (119.06mm). 11/32" (8.73mm)-diameter pegholes required. Please note that 3 of the tuners have a green decal on the back of the machine. These 3 machines have a smaller diameter string hole, and are to be used with the unwound (G,B,E) strings.

To be sure these tuners fit your instrument, compare your existing machines and peghole dimensions to our listed specs to help determine the best replacement.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
 
4 out of 5 stars
Based on 40 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  2  3  4
3 5-03-2011
Beware cheap screws!

Solid tuners, but the screws that are included are terrible. Either they will strip, or will break off into the headstock, both of which happened to me as I installed the tuners. Make sure you have spare screws when installing these tuners!!

jlucis  Sydney, NSW
4 4-30-2011
Nice :)

They look good.

I installed them with no problem, it had some small green stickers to indicate the 3 ones that are used for the lower strings, so you won't be making a mistake when installing them, nice touch.

The screws are a bit soft, even when using the exact size of screwdriver it needs, slip a little, and they get a bit damaged over time. I'll order the replacement screws in my next shipment.

Simple way of locking, simple instalation. It would be good to have 18:1 ratio, but it's good enough anyway.

Alfredo Rocha  Mexico City, Mexico Read my reviews (16)
4 3-02-2011
Amazing Tuners!

I just recently reliced my Fender American Tele, and wanted to go with a vintage tuner. HOLY COW these things are beautiful, easy to install, and hold a tune with out needing to stretch the strings! The ONLY reason I gave them 4 our of 5 stars is because the screws they came with are cheap aluminum and one broke off into my head stock. I bought the replacement screws from the StewMac website and they work great! I highly suggest these tuning pegs to anyone looking for a vintage look. Just order new screws to have peace at mind.

William Nathan  Florida
Customer supplied image for review
2 2-24-2011
Bent towards bridge from tremolo

I constructed a Warmoth Stratocaster with a Gotoh Wilkinson bridge. After installing these tuners, stringing up some 10-46 strings, and using my whammy for a week, the tuner posts that stick up through the headstock gradually bent towards the bridge: they are now no longer at a right angle to the headstock, especially the posts for the big strings - low E, A, and D. The tuner's structure did not hold up to the pressure of a Gotoh trem, it seems. I would have thought a Gotoh worked with a Gotoh, you know?

My buddy, who built his Strat with the same bridge and tuners I used, had this exact same problem.

That being said, these tuners seemed well constructed before the trem did them in, they looked awesome, and they'd probably be suitable for a Tele or hardtail Strat.

Stewmac's customer service is great - they are sending me some locking Grovers I chose and letting me mail these bent Gotohs back to Athens on their bill.

Twobears  Cleveland, OH
4 2-12-2011
good tuners

These are good tuners and they look cool too. It's nonsense that you can't fit a low E string there – I used a .056 without any problems. Actually I am amazed someone might be unable to do it. You just unscrew the locking head until your string passes.

They'd get five stars if the ratio was 18:1

Vlad  Ukraine Read my reviews (2)
5 1-24-2011
RESCIND- Low E string fit review

What they don't tell you.

I did get a .049 to fit through. The locking head may fall off in your hand first, but then you know it's one thread back on and the string should out though. Close but it works. Don't lose the original screws unless you want to try "their" longer screws.
Don't make the mistake I did and not replace the inner sleeve. It's hammer-time!. The new sleeves are loose. I took some grey picture tacking putty and applied a very thin coat in two or three places around the cylinder, so it doesn't squoose out. Works fine. This is on a Telecaster Hot Rod.
Better than the tuners that came with it. Know what I mean?

eustibo  USA Read my reviews (2)
2 1-24-2011
Low E Strings that don't fit

They forget to mention you are limited in the size of the low E string that will go through the hole. .049 and 0.50 are definitely out. They won't go through the hole. I had to use Lite strings, .009 to .042. Not happy

eustibo  USA Read my reviews (2)
5 1-10-2011
A nice alternative to vintage tuners

Hello Everyone:
a lot of us want to replace the worn out tuners or put locking tuners on a guitar to keep the strings in tune, right?.

well these tuners offer a lot, best of all if you have a vintage strat or tele that has the kluson style tuners, it will work, it's also great for the newer reissues especially if you have a strat with a whammy.

why drill out new holes and ruin that investment when you can drop these right in.

now please note you might have to use different bushings depending on the holes drilled in the headstock, fender used two different sizes on their recent reissues, the USA models use the standard size in most cases, where the Imports from Japan and Mexico in some cases you might have larger holes.

they do make adapter bushings, and in most cases the original bushings will work with these tuning keys.

I purchased this set for my tele, big difference, nice and smooth, best of all no slop when winding the strings.

Take Care
George

George  Hobart, IN Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-26-2010
Good upgrade.

I used these on a Japanese made Jazzmaster as part of an overall rebuild, they're a lot better than the previous tuners. They have both a better feel to them and will make changing strings easier, and probably hold the tune a little better. Good buy!

L Mollard  Saint Louis, Missouri Read my reviews (2)
5 10-15-2010
Gotoh, the best one

The definitive solution when you have tuning problems. Buy them!

Rubber Soul  Italy Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  2  3  4 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 58 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce