Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tuners : Guitar, solid peghead tuners : Gotoh Tuners : Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners

Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners


Read 40 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Locking versions of the classic oval knob, stamped housing tuners found on vintage Fender® guitars. For 6-in-line pegheads.

See details below

Email a friend
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1954 Nickel, 6-in-line Yes
$59.94
3 or more $47.39  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set



Gotoh Vintage Oval Knob Tuners



Guitar String Retainers



Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar



Vintage-Style String Retainer



Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set
Gotoh Vintage-style Oval Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
Guitar String Retainers
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
Vintage-Style String Retainer



Details
 Pictures
Specs
Instructions
6-in-line locking tuners that are the perfect upgrade for old or new Fenders with "Kluson-style" tuners — they're a direct retrofit!

These fine reproductions feature old style stamped gear housings, but have modern improved 15:1 gearing for smoother, more precise action.

All sets include mounting screws and round press-fit peghead bushings. Peghole spacing is 4-11/16" (119.06mm). 11/32" (8.73mm)-diameter pegholes required. Please note that 3 of the tuners have a green decal on the back of the machine. These 3 machines have a smaller diameter string hole, and are to be used with the unwound (G,B,E) strings.

To be sure these tuners fit your instrument, compare your existing machines and peghole dimensions to our listed specs to help determine the best replacement.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
 
4 out of 5 stars
Based on 40 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 6-16-2013
Great locking vintage tuners

I bought them for my son. Installed without any problems on a strat, drilled for vintage tuners. Works fine. Locking tuners and vintage look. What more could you ask for...

Nils on wheels  Nice, France
5 4-17-2013
Nickel lockers

I think they work great. Very happy

Rob Schnapf  Los angeles Read my reviews (20)
5 3-31-2013
These Tuners Rock!

I was very skeptical on buying these tuners because of the terrible reviews on the screws that came with them. I had NO problems with the screws at all! These tuners are rock solid - I thought there would be a little play in them also but there's not. Great Tuners!

DJB  USA Read my reviews (4)
5 12-11-2012
great tuners

Awesome precise, feel good/look good tuners.

Only down side (I am being pick here) is that the top piece can completely come off making it a risk for them to get lost. However, if you have these tuners in a guitar and there is no strings, you are doing it wrong :)

Jorge Aquiles  Los Angeles, CA Read my reviews (4)
5 12-09-2012
Works great, perfect fit, high-quality

This is a GREAT product, high-quality and made in Japan. Yes, the included screws are a little bigger than the original tuners' screws. This is a good thing. If your screw holes are stripped, the new (slightly larger) screws will fix that problem. Use a little soap and they go in easier. If you break or strip the screws, you are doing something wrong! If your holes are not stripped, just use your existing screws. Either way, the tuners install in 5 minutes. I like how they don't detract from a vintage guitar look too. Highly recommended.

Asbury Mick  Asbury Park, NJ Read my reviews (2)
4 11-06-2012
Let me tell you the truth about this!

Regarding poor screw, at least for my case.

I install it into my American Vintage '62 reissue.
You know, the screw that came with this tuner is about 2 mm longer than original screw in my strato. I also try to install new screw but, it was hard to set it down due to that 2mm, I suggest you that need to drill extra 2 mm for this new screw, if you don't then screw may break at last minute. so as I don't like to drill into my guitar, I just reuse my fender screw. so no issue at all.

And regarding Tuner Bushings, Gotoh's tuner post and Bushings was narrower than Fender's one, so if you need to keep current Bushings in Fender. Gotoh new tuner's post may have more gaps. so I removed Fender Bushings and install Gotoh's Bushings, it was more fit with Gotoh post. but, Still Gotoh Bushings was a little small than Fender's tuner hole, so Finally, I add some paper tape around Gotoh Bushings to make it more fit into tuner hole. Yes, Still it needs some manual touch but I'm happy with this locking tuner than original tuner for tuning.

coolmac  Korea Read my reviews (2)
5 7-18-2012
Perfect function, excellent look

Looked high and low for vintage style (oval key) locking tuners that fit the smaller, vintage peg holes. Found these but was reluctant to purchase based on reviews that discussed the cheap screws and associated problems. I bought them anyway and had them professionally installed. Even the luthier broke a screw, so evidently they are a problem. No matter - he had others that he used. Factory bushings were reused rather than those supplied in the kit. Fit, finish and function are awesome - excellent product, and I have OFR, Shaller, and Sperzel equipped guitars to compare it to. I installed these on a mid-90's MIM Strat.

Texan  Texas
5 7-12-2012
Fantastic

Works just as well as they say it does - super easy to instal. I didn't have problems with the screws, but I was replacing originals and the holes worked perfectly. It really does make a tuning difference.

Caleb  Washington, DC
4 2-12-2012
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners

I installed these on my '97 California Strat a few weeks ago. I used the old screws because of all the bad reviews on the screws that comes with the new tuners. I also left the original sleeves in place and reused those. I didn't see any difference with the naked eye so I went with it. After installing and tuning it, I have retuned very little and that's probably from just sitting for a week. The only reason I'm not giving it a 5 is because the tuning posts are not solid in place and can move inside the sleeve. When the string is not pulling with force on it , it leans and/or wobbles around in the sleeve hole. I may disassemble it and install the new sleeves and see if there's a difference with the posts. Other than that, I'm very happy with them. They are identical in appearance with the originals, I love that part.

lmilam  Oregon
4 12-19-2011
Very good tuners, but very poor mounting screws

The tuners are very solid and good to use, but I confirm that the screws are too weak: I drilled a good hole before than I force just a little bit on the latest two turns and the screw broke into the hole!
Fortunately I manage to drill a little hole near the old one and replace all the screws for better ones, but believe me, don'y use the SCREWS coming with the tuners, they are too risky !!

Maurizio Giovanardi  ITALY (ROME)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 58 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce