Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tuners : Guitar, solid peghead tuners : Economy Tuners : Economy Open Gear Tuners

Economy Open Gear Tuners


Read 18 Reviews   |   Write a Review

These inexpensive tuners are a quick and easy way to get your guitar up and strummin' again. Set of 6, with screws.

See details below

Email a friend
Economy Open Gear Tuners
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0936 Chrome, 3L/3R Yes
$14.55
3 or more $12.60  
24 or more $11.50  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Economy Covered Gear Tuners



Economy 3-on-Plate Tuners



Guitar Bench Rest



ColorTone Lemon Oil



Economy Covered Gear Tuners, 3L/3R
Economy 3-on-Plate Tuners
Guitar Bench Rest
ColorTone Lemon Oil



Details
 Pictures
Specs
This open-gear set is ideal for fixing up those "yardsale special" guitars. Economy tuners fit 5/16"-diameter pegholes. 14:1 ratio; white plastic knobs. Mounting screws and press-fit bushings included.

To be sure these tuners fit your instrument, compare your existing machines and peghole dimensions to our listed specs to help determine the best replacement.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Economy Open Gear Tuners
Economy Open Gear Tuners
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 18 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
5 11-27-2013
Great

Cheap and effective. Perfect for an old giutar with buzzing tuners.

Chriztian  Norway Read my reviews (8)
4 6-06-2012
great for projects

If you want to make some project/experimental instruments or refurbish some trash, these can't be beat!! The next step up in price is waaay beyond reasonable for those types of use. If, however, you are replacing tuners on "your baby," spring for the gotoh, etc. Ain't nobody got time for that!

andrescbgs  delaware USA Read my reviews (6)
5 4-20-2012
Fit the need perfectly

These tuning machines are exactly what I needed, and the price is better than fair.

Steven Irene  Bremerton, WA
4 4-20-2012
Economy tuner quanlity

I like the economy tuners, but the last order I received the tuners appeared to be lighter ,not as strong as before.

Spring  Mi ,usa
StewMac responds

Spring,
We're happy to hear that you like these tuners. We thought you'd like to know that we did check our stock, and it appears the weight of the tuner has not changed. Thank you for review, and if there's anything we can do, don't hesitate to ask.

5 3-16-2012
Have a few sets of these on hand for projects

Tuners might be the hardest thing on a stringed instrument to try to make/fake yourself, so if you build instruments as a hobby its a must to have a few of these on hand at all times. These are economy tuners, but that doesn't mean they crappy. They're definitely sturdy enough for any kind of guitar. I used these in a few cigar box guitars and they've held up fine. I did have a screw head shear off, but that might have been my fault.

GrahamLangdon  Four Oaks, NC Read my reviews (5)
5 12-16-2011
Why pay more!

I required economy tuners for a community project making cigar box ukeleles. These turned out to be perfect for the job. They come with bushings, which means that they should stand up well to the test of time.

Phil from Oz  Perth, West Australia Read my reviews (6)
2 12-09-2011
Economy Tuners

Economy is an accurate description. Yes the work, but the have a lot of backlash and I have already had a tooth break on the gear of one set. These will work if you can't or don't want to spend a little more. Even for low budget builds such as cigar box banjos, I will spend a little more and get better quality tuners next time.

CigarBoxBuilder  Virginia
5 10-30-2011
Buy them

Good looking,simple,inexpensive,and they stay in tune.I will be buying more.

AtticHouse  New Jesey Read my reviews (3)
5 10-21-2011
Perfect

Tuners do exactly as advertised, nothing more and nothing less. I used them on a couple of projects that came out great. Stew-Mac did a great job with these.

Economical Guitarist  Bracey, VA
4 6-24-2011
Economy Open Gear Tuners

I use Economy 0pen Gear Tuners on a lot of the instruments that i build and have had very good luck with them. Out of many sets that i have used have only three tuners that were bad. I have been very impressed with Stewart Macdonald service and products.

Chaswood  Mayflower, Ar
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 57 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce