Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tuners : Guitar, solid peghead tuners : Economy Tuners : Economy Covered Gear Tuners, 3L/3R

Economy Covered Gear Tuners


Read 23 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Inexpensive tuners are a quick and easy way to get your guitar up and strummin' again.

See details below

Email a friend
Economy Covered Gear Tuners
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0935 Chrome, 3L/3R Yes
$21.59
3 or more $18.70  
24 or more $17.06  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Economy Covered Gear Tuners



Economy 3-on-Plate Tuners



Economy Open Gear Tuners



Acoustic Guitar Pickguard



ColorTone Touchup Markers



Economy Covered Gear Tuners, 6-in-line
Economy 3-on-Plate Tuners
Economy Open Gear Tuners
Acoustic Guitar Pickguard
ColorTone Touchup Markers



Details
 Pictures
Specs
• 14:1 ratio
• Fit 5/16"-diameter pegholes
• Press-fit bushings and screws included
• Set of 6

To be sure these tuners fit your instrument, compare your existing machines and peghole dimensions to our listed specs to help determine the best replacement.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Economy Covered Gear Tuners
Economy Covered Gear Tuners, 3L/3R
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 23 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 >
5 12-07-2013
Worked for me

I was replacing the tuners on a Conrad LP knock-off. Tuners were worn and needed replaced. I measured and compared to specs provided, just didn't notice that the mounting tabs were on opposite corners to mine. So I used the gears out of the new ones and rebuilt the old ones. Now the originals look original and work great. I lucked out. Great buy from StewMac.
MrDana

MrDana  Payson, AZ
4 5-11-2013
Economy tuners

After 34 years, the tuners on my first guitar, a '79 Alvarez 5914, were getting a tad cantankerous, so I ordered a set of the Economy Covered Guitar Tuners; they looked right, and the price was right (if they last another 34, I'll pop for the Waverley's then). I was thrilled when they arrived; they looked right in the catalogue, but side-by-side I'd be willing to bet $5 Federal that they were made on the same tooling as the OEMs - exact match. At least on the tuners themselves; got the old ones off & discovered that the new bushings had a thicker wall - just to the point of not going in. Lacking jigs, reamers, drill press, or funds to acquire them, I ended up reusing the old bushings. Not ideal, but better than freehanding with a hand drill. Other than that, it went without a hitch, and I love the result; the G once again rolls smoothly to pitch, instead of jumping in fits and starts. I know it's probably psychosomatic, but the tone even seems richer. Are they an engineering marvel? No. Does the quality surpass expectations for the price? Absolutely!

Cozmik Cowboy  DeKalb, IL
5 3-04-2013
Speedy Recovery

The G string on my guitar was causing the tuner for my low E to rattle so badly I couldn't stand to play the stupid thing anymore. It was driving me nuts. So at 3:00 am Friday morning, I ordered these Economy Tuners. They arrived Monday. I just put them on. The rattle's gone. That's made me happy. As an added benefit, the guitar is holding tune better and open notes seem to have a longer sustain. Then again, maybe I just couldn't hear it over the rattling before. Whatever the reason, it sounds much, much better overall. Its not new strings - I haven't changed them since replacing the tuners because I wanted to make sure the rattle was gone first. It's not a great guitar - its an old Fender acoustic. But it will last me a while longer now. And while I'm happy with the product, I especially impressed with the fast delivery. If I need anything, I won't hesitate to order from these guys again.

IrishJD98  Chicago, IL
5 2-28-2013
5 stars for the price

These tuners are absolutely adequate when money is an issue. easy to install and stay in tune. That's about all you can really ask out of a tuner anyway.

Ryan M  Missouri Read my reviews (2)
5 12-08-2012
Great Tuners

Easy to install, much better than ones on my cheap Epiphone and they look great and work just fine. Smooth and no slip. Oh I almost forgot. They got here really fast. Like 2 days!

Rob Robbins  Lewisville, Texas
4 10-29-2012
If it's not an exact match, you can use it for repair parts.

Many reviewers mentioned that these tuners were close to their original tuners. This was the case with my MIJ Crestline Marauder electric (Gibson copy). The mounting hole diagonal spacing on the new tuners is 1.00 inch (which should be mentioned in the specs but isn't). The mounting hole spacing on my Marauder's tuners are 1.10 inch, one hole lines up perfectly, the other is off as seen in the photo. I didn't want to redrill the headstock, so I used the new tuner's brass gear, shaft screw, mounting screws and post bushings to rebuild the old tuners.
The part dimensions were identical, so everything went together perfectly. Tightening the gear mounting screw till the shaft didn't wobble, and lubing the gear assembly with a little lithium spray lube produced a reasonably smooth tuning action with little backlash. Definitely worth the effort if you want to keep your guitar looking original (I like my keystone shaped tuners) and easy to tune.

AustinGuitar  West Caldwell, NJ Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-05-2012
Look better than original

These at first you'd think for the price would be cheap looking, but they are not, they look more expensive than the old originals I took off... the old guitar stays in tune better now than ever..

Tmc  Trinity Ala Read my reviews (5)
4 9-09-2012
Econo tuners

Perfect for that beach guitar you have, or a friends unit that needs a little TLC. Great value

Dean W Richardson  Kirkland, Washington Read my reviews (6)
4 7-18-2012
Great for the price

I needed to replace the old worn out tuners on a Les Paul replica, and I wanted something better than these economy tuners to do it with. The problem was that I couldn't find anything else that would come close to fitting the same screw holes as the old ones. These tuners were pretty close so I decided to try them out and with a very slight modification they fit the guitar just right. After trying them out I have to say that I'm pleasantly surprised. These tuners stay in tune, have a nice damped feeling to them, and are a huge upgrade to the tuners that I had on the guitar. My only complaint is the gear ratio, but at $20 I can't complain too much;)

kennoyce  Redlands, CA
4 5-09-2012
Good Bargain

Certaintly not top of the line, but for what I use them for they can't be beat. Good product, works well, and easy to install.

Merrill Tindall  Blackshear, GA
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 57 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce