Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tuners : Classical guitar : Lyra-style Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners

Lyra-style Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners


Read 24 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Handsome 14:1 tuners for nylon-string classical guitars, mid-priced and economy versions. For 3-left/3-right pegheads.

See details below

Email a friend
Lyra-style Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0938-G Gold, ornate Yes
$71.52
3 or more $60.31  

0940-G Antique gold, economy Yes
$19.57
3 or more $17.35  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Tuning Machine Drill Jig for Slotted Pegheads



Depth-stop Drill Bits



Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners



Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set



Schaller Classical Guitar Machines



Tuning Machine Drill Jig for Slotted Pegheads
Depth-stop Drill Bits
Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set
Schaller Classical Guitar Machines



Details
 Pictures
Specs
Complete sets of 14:1 tuners with ornate lyra-style baseplates and plastic knobs. For nylon-string classical guitars with slotted peghead and 35mm (1-3/8") string roller spacing. The string roller sleeves are durable 3/8"-diameter white plastic. Mounting screws are included with each set.

#0938-G is a gold-plated set with ornate baseplates and removable pearl-figured plastic knobs.
#0940-G is Gotoh's "antique" gold-plated economy set, with nonremovable plastic knobs, with subtle pearl shine.

To be sure these tuners fit your instrument, compare your existing machines and peghole dimensions to our listed specs to help determine the best replacement.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Lyra-style Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
Lyra-style Gotoh Classical Guitar Tuners
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 24 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 >
5 4-03-2014
Gotoh 0938G

These went in precisely to fit on a Chinese Caraya 988-RN to turn an Antoinio Torres built with good materials from a mediocre instrument into a reliable flamenco negrita. Thank you these are much appreciated.

Jacomo  Pacific Palisades, California
5 3-16-2014
Quality Replacement Tuners

I purchased these tuners to replace some tuners on an old Goya Nylon String Guitar. The 0940-G tuners (being physically the same size, but different mounting hole locations), worked excellent. They have a good feel when the string is under tension and hold tune perfectly. These tuners exceeded my expectations (especially at the price).

Sloveland  Temple City, CA
5 10-18-2013
Good value for price

The tuners were used to repair a friend's old favorite Sears guitar. My guess is that the guitar was from the 60's and had surprising great sound. A simple remove and replace was all that was necessary. I was surprised that it was a perfect fit. Good value for the price, As always good service from Stew Mac, arrived ahead of estimated time schedule.

PT  Kenosha, WI
5 8-18-2013
After 15 years of use, perfect tuners

I installed the 0938-g tuners on one of my favorite production guitars (a high end Alhambra flamenco) 15 years ago - I have played this guitar more than my other guitars and have never had a problem with slippage or staying tune. Finish looks like it did the day I purchased them. I am a luthier and purchase a lot of tuners so I do look for quality. You can't go wrong with these tuners. Gotoh is one of my favorites for all my guitars.

Jack Holcomb  Atlanta, Ga Read my reviews (4)
2 8-08-2013
You Pay for the Gold

The "Gold, Ornate" Gotoh tuners are not only far more expensive than the cheaper ones, but they are exactly the same mechanically. Make sure you understand before you buy that you are paying for the gold and the replaceable buttons. Functionally, they are not that good - they bind and jump and are imprecise. For the price, I thought they would have worked a lot better. On a more positive note, they fit my vintage Martin 00 classical (made in 1942) perfectly with only the need to drill one hole per side. I think the Martin is worth a bit now, so I suppose the expense was worth it. It just annoys me that I paid so much and they work like $15 machines.

Droidiphile  SF Bay Area
StewMac responds

Droidiphile,
Thank you for your order. We're sorry you were unhappy with the Lyra-style Gotoh Classical Tuners. We offer a 100% guarantee; if any item fails to meet your expectations, you may return it, unaltered, for a refund or exchange.

4 6-07-2013
A lot of tuner for a little dough!

Brought an old "El Degas" classical back to life with these very inexpensive tuners. These entry level Gotoh's were far superior to the "law-suit era" hardware that this mid level, imported guitar was shipped with. My customer loved them!

Cherry Picker Guitars  London, Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (3)
5 4-24-2013
Tuner replacement

Perfect replacement tuners for my late 80's Takemine classical. Better than the originals. Perfect fit.

Harper  Hendersonville ,TN Read my reviews (2)
5 3-31-2013
great service

WONDERFUL product....it was hard for me to order this online......and I was impressed with the product and the quickness of service.

mjgovednik  Hawaii
4 3-11-2013
Lyra style gotoh classical tuners

inexpensive, works great.

othy  new york
5 10-17-2012
Antique gold, economy guitar tuner

I used these tuners to replace the tuners on a Suzuki S-2 guitar that I bought for my daughter while station in Italy in 1976. The tuners look and work great on the guitar. I did have to plug and re-drill the mounting screw holes but that was a very simple task using tooth picks as plugs. My Granddaughter is now using the guitar.

Cecil  Casey, IL Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 55 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce