Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tuners : Banjo tuners : Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs

Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs


Read 26 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The most famous name in banjo pegs. Exclusively from Stewart-MacDonald. For over 35 years Five-Star® pegs are the choice of players and builders for quality and reliable tuning.

See details below

Email a friend
Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5014 Nickel, set of 4 Yes
$76.33
3 or more $69.46  

5014-G Gold, set of 4 Yes
$103.50
3 or more $93.15  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Five-Star 5th String Peg



Waverly Banjo Tuning Pegs



Peghole Reamers



10mm Drill Bit



Banjo Tuner Knobs



Five-Star 5th String Peg
Waverly Banjo Tuning Pegs
Peghole Reamers
10mm Drill Bit
Banjo Tuner Knobs



Details
 Pictures
Specs
The 4:1 ratio planetary gearing is a compact traditional design that provides fast, accurate tuning.

Machined brass gear case and shafts, brass ring gear, steel pinion gears and sealed lubrication ensure durability for long life. The handsome removeable pearlescent plastic knobs have adjustable tension screws for the right feel.

Five-Star pegs fit standard 3/8" (10.00mm) diameter pegholes, and include threaded hex bushings with peghead washers. They fit 7/16" to 3/4" (11.11mm to 19.05mm) peghead thicknesses.

Our Five-Star 5th String Peg is also available.

To be sure these tuners fit your instrument, compare your existing machines and peghole dimensions to our listed specs to help determine the best replacement.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs
Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 26 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
3 10-10-2012
Five-Star banjo tuners

So far so good. It's a good idea to gradually increase the peg tension until you get it where you want without the string slipping (tuner unwinding).

Rambrew  Canada
5 5-03-2012
Dulcimer Pegs

I've used Stew-Mac 5-star banjo pegs on my top line dulcimers for 40 years now and they are the best for both looks and reliability

Field Musical Instruments  Collingswood, N.J., U.S.A. Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-19-2012
Great sevice from a trusted supplier

I make my own banjos and although I only buy small amounts for individual projects, I have always found Stewmac helpful and very quick to deliver.

Pete Finucane  UK
5 3-18-2012
5 Star Tuning Pegs

Received my tuning pegs and they work great. Now my banjo has upgrated tuners. I Love them.
Was a bit disapointed on the duty charges to Canada when picked up at UPS. Will ship lower mail post next time.

Gary Major  Windsor Ontario Canada Read my reviews (2)
5 10-30-2011
Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs

Easy to install,smooth movement,and they look great to what more can you ask for!!

Daniel Baker  Stoney Creek,On,Canada Read my reviews (3)
5 8-25-2011
Definitely 5-stars!

They were so easy to fit to the tenor banjo, ordered another set for my Tenor Guitar. Easy to adjust, smooth action and they look GOOD on the instrument. Obviously a quality product. Thanks Stewmac.

Banjo Jack  Auckland, NZ
5 5-31-2011
They Work Great On Ekontings

I've been playing banjo for over thirty years, so when I decided to design an ekonting (the West African instrument) with tuners, I naturally gravitated to Five-Star tuners. I use two 5th pegs on the sides of my necks and one standard, straight-through tuner. That's it-- three strings. The Five-Star tuners are easy to work with and have always worked well for me. I always replace the knobs (I agree, the stock knobs are very unattractive), and I haven't had issues as others have mentioned with the replacement knobs being too tight. I have used the ebony knobs. I wonder if this is a recent development (I still have some which are probably two years old). Tried to use Waverly, but they cut the nylon strings. So, I have one steel string ekonting. Fun.

Paul Sedgwick  Boston
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-17-2011
I have been pegged!

I have a number of banjos that have Stew-Mac tuners on them and I am extremely pleased. One set of my 5 star's began to slip and I could not tighten them any further. I called Stew-Mac and was informed that they would replace the set. I was not expecting that. In a few days my new set arrived and I returned the old postage paid by Stew-Mac.

I have always been a fan of theirs and they just keep giving me reasons to continue. They are extremely professional and very personable to boot. I can't say enough.
Regards,
Les Thompson Founding member of the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band.

Les Thompson  N. Virginia
2 1-22-2011
Five-Star banjo tuners

Received a set of Five-Star tuners including a fith string geared tuner. The tuners I received did not fit 3/8" pegholes as advertised in the specs. When I miked the shafts they were five thousands over 3/8". That makes them around 10 mm. Without a reamer, I had to drill out the pegholes. Also, the replacement ebony knobs that I ordered did not fit as the tuner peg shaft is a little oversize. In addition, the fifth string tuner's knob and screw does not match the tuners. I should have sent the tuners back as now I have oddball pegholes. For all the work required to make these work, I would pop for the extra twenty bucks and buy the Waverley tuners.

Dan1  Atascadero, CA
5 1-10-2011
Good quality at fair price

I intend to use these pegs for a Hurdy-Gurdy, and they are just what I was looking for.
I do not like the plastic perloid knobs, but I purchased a set of replacement ebony knobs (which, by the way, do not fit at first instance: you'll have to file a little to get them fit). What I don't know is why they are not produced directly with more attractive knobs from the beginning.

Alfonso Garcia-Oliva  Cantabria, Northern Spain Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 83 of our latest catalog.


Five-Star® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce