Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tuners : Banjo tuners : Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs

Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs


Read 26 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The most famous name in banjo pegs. Exclusively from Stewart-MacDonald. For over 35 years Five-Star® pegs are the choice of players and builders for quality and reliable tuning.

See details below

Email a friend
Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5014 Nickel, set of 4 Yes
$76.33
3 or more $69.46  

5014-G Gold, set of 4 Yes
$103.50
3 or more $93.15  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Five-Star 5th String Peg



Waverly Banjo Tuning Pegs



Peghole Reamers



10mm Drill Bit



Banjo Tuner Knobs



Five-Star 5th String Peg
Waverly Banjo Tuning Pegs
Peghole Reamers
10mm Drill Bit
Banjo Tuner Knobs



Details
 Pictures
Specs
The 4:1 ratio planetary gearing is a compact traditional design that provides fast, accurate tuning.

Machined brass gear case and shafts, brass ring gear, steel pinion gears and sealed lubrication ensure durability for long life. The handsome removeable pearlescent plastic knobs have adjustable tension screws for the right feel.

Five-Star pegs fit standard 3/8" (10.00mm) diameter pegholes, and include threaded hex bushings with peghead washers. They fit 7/16" to 3/4" (11.11mm to 19.05mm) peghead thicknesses.

Our Five-Star 5th String Peg is also available.

To be sure these tuners fit your instrument, compare your existing machines and peghole dimensions to our listed specs to help determine the best replacement.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs
Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 26 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 >
4 4-11-2014
Worked for tenor uke

I decided to try these pegs on a very special tenor uke. The customer requested geared tuners, and there are many options available, of course. (I decided against the Waverly banjo set because the cylindrical base is 3/4" in diameter.) The 5-Stars are 5/8" in dia. and require a headstock of 7/16" or more, which worked for us. The tuners work very well. The shaft does protrude a little more than usual for a uke, but in this case it didn't matter. The buttons that come on the tuners are EXTRA ugly (that's why only 4 stars), so I also ordered the ivoroid replacements. The final result was an attractive and elegant presentation on a stunning uke. I'll use them again.

Michael's Ukuleles  Bellingham, WA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
4 11-06-2013
Good Pegs - need updated adjusting screws

The pegs work well but need to be upodated with better adjusting screws featuring big heads that will enable instant tension adjustment without tools. A better screw tension system would also help in the adjustment process.

banjomobile  NYC Read my reviews (3)
5 11-02-2013
Impressed

Having used about every cheap tuner known to man, it is finally fun to grab one that is solid, smooth, consistent, well done, no more cheap tuners for me, Five Star from now on.

Ron Brown  Rapid City, South Dakota Read my reviews (19)
4 4-30-2013
Good value

I've used many, many sets of these and have generally been quite happy with them. My biggest complaint is the UGLY tuner buttons. I know the whole point of them is to sell other tuner buttons, but couldn't they be made just a little less ugly?

S. T.  Athens, OH Read my reviews (5)
5 4-04-2013
All Components

I've been buying from Stewmac since the early 1980's. Everything is top notch and delivered quickly. I can't say any better from any company!

Darrel of Ridge Musical Instruments  Pawnee, Okla
4 4-04-2013
A good, dependable banjo tuner

A good tuner for most tenor, plectrum & 5-string banjos - they seem happy enough with the low G on most Irish tenors up to around 0.046"W. They are really a bit too big for uke banjos - not suitable as a replacement on Ludwigs, for instance. They don't seem to like a lot of sideways stress on the string post so it's probably wise to avoid using them for an old-fashioned cello-, contra-bass or bass-banjo.

Andybanjo  UK Read my reviews (13)
5 2-03-2013
Good stuff

Everything, I have ordered from StewMac (banjo tuners, bridges, tailpieces) have been quality products and the prices are favorably comparable to anything online. Shipping is super fast, packaging is always good, and they combine items for shipping, so you don't get gouged with extra shipping costs.

Rick Newsome  Youngsville, NC
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-24-2013
Five Star Tuning Pegs

Got the pegs in about three days. Great job. The were easy to install (had to drill out the holes a little larger than the guitar type tuners I was replacing) and tighten them up a bit. Work great.

Gary Folk Singer  Oklahoma City
4 1-12-2013
Worth the upgrade from friction tuners.

I have an older tenor banjo. It was in rough shape and the friction tuners that were on the instrument were a headache and wouldn't keep tune no matter what I did, well until I installed these. I also recommend using the hand reamers that are sold here it made it a breeze to change them. I had all four done in under and hour. The only issue I have with them is the tuner "catch" is self tapping. I think I would have rather a more rugged catch that required a drilled hole. I recommend very slowly snugging the nut as I had one start to turn the back side of the tuner as I tightened them. (That said It was my FIRST time changing/ installing tuners).

Tommy M  Rochester, NY Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-13-2012
Solid!

Good stuff as usual! Replaced the wonky old tuners in a 20's Vega, which required a bit of drilling, but with the faux-ivory replacement knobs, it looks (and tunes) better than ever!

El Jaspero  Indianapolis, IN Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 83 of our latest catalog.


Five-Star® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce