Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tuners : Banjo tuners : Five-Star 5th String Peg

Five-Star 5th String Peg


Read 20 Reviews   |   Write a Review

A right-angle design with smooth 14:1 gear ratio (non-planetary) with string post.

See details below

Email a friend
Five-Star 5th String Peg
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0033 Nickel Yes
$13.25
3 or more $11.74  

0033-G Gold Yes
$18.85
3 or more $16.99  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

5th String Peghole Reamer



5th String Capo Spikes



Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs



Bone Banjo 5th String Nut



Banjo Tuner Knobs



5th String Peghole Reamer
5th String Capo Spikes
Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs
Bone Banjo 5th String Nut
Banjo Tuner Knobs



Details
 Pictures
Specs
The pearlescent plastic knob matches our Five-Star Banjo Tuning Pegs. Fits a 23/64"-diameter peghole.

To be sure these tuners fit your instrument, compare your existing machines and peghole dimensions to our listed specs to help determine the best replacement.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Five-Star 5th String Peg
Five-Star 5th String Peg
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 20 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2
5 3-18-2012
5th String Five-Star Tuner

Replaced the old tuner with no problem. A little adjustment on the angle and hole size but with little or no problem. Smooth and easy to tune now. I recomend this to all.

Gary Major  Windsor Ontario Canada Read my reviews (2)
5 2-09-2012
HUGE step up from a Friction Peg for minimal price

I'm a guitar player who bought and loved an older Silvertone banjo. However, that friction fifth peg drove me bonkers. If you have one, you probably know what I mean.

I bought this one, not wanting to put a bunch of money in the banjo, just wanting to make it playable, along with item # 5017 to replace the tired original cheap tuners. For about $26 and some elbow grease, it's like a have a new banjo. It stays in tune, retunes when I change into a new tuning, and is just overall much more fun.

Fiskoni  Des Moines
5 9-19-2011
Five-Star 5th String Peg

When I held it in my hand the first time I knew that this was a high quality product, in looks and feel! I installed it on a beginners banjo for a friend and was impressed with how well it stays in tune with even a new string from the start! I Highly recommend this product to anyone!

Hentie  Pretoria. Gauteng, South Africa
5 9-13-2011
Five Star 5th. string Peg

Put together one of your 3R kits back in the early 80's and it came with a friction 5th peg which never stayed in tune. After all these years of slippage, I decided to upgrade to this beautiful tuner peg. Couldn't get the friction peg out until I e-mailed your customer svc. dept. Was advised to heat it up with a soldering iron-Voila-it worked. Epoxied the peg into place...Perfect!

Larry's 3R  Bayside, NY
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-01-2011
Read the Specs

I like the way this gizmo works but some Banjo's just can't take this much improvement. The tuner hit the support rod on my PearelyJo [pictured]. Talk about Buzz! A friction tuner worked out OK. I plan to use this fancy job on the Banjo I'm putt'n t'gether in the shop.

Poncho  Frankfort, IN - USA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-08-2011
Great Peg

Used this to fix a friend's banjo. He had an old friction peg that slipped and slipped. One thing worth mentioning though is that this thing is pretty big. It looks a little out of place on a smaller necked banjo and I had to trim the end of the peg with a dremmel so the alignment was correct. The end of it came up against the truss rod...Still a great peg!

Trev  Charleston, SC Read my reviews (3)
5 5-01-2011
Great Tuners

Replaced some older tuners with these and they really solved my slipping problem. Solid and smooth

Jack Axe  Hockley, Texas
5 4-19-2011
five-star 5th string banjo peg

Excellent piece of machinery for the price. All I needed to do was pull the old direct drive 1:1 5th string tuner (not gear driven, widen and deepen the tapered hole and epoxy in the five-star. This resulted in much better control over the string tuning and decreased the chance for the string slipping out of tune. Big bang for the buck. Overall impact: excellent

Ted's setups  berwyn heights, md
5 3-05-2011
excellent hardware

I have used stew mac hardware on my banjos and found it to be the best value for the money.

gary schattl  thousand oaks ca.
5 12-01-2010
Banjo Peg

The banjo peg you sent is wonderful
I also enjoyed the free informative guitar parts magazine you sent with it.

Roofer  Vancouver Canada
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 83 of our latest catalog.


Five-Star® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce