Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Truss rods : Wrenches, hex keys : Gripper Truss Rod Wrenches

Gripper Truss Rod Wrenches


Read 40 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Dang! Somebody used the wrong size wrench, and now you can't adjust that worn Allen truss rod nut. Fear not, our Gripper wrenches can save the day!

See details below

Email a friend
Gripper Truss Rod Wrenches

Play video

 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
6107-G For 1/8" Allen nut Yes
$10.50

6210-G NEW! For 1/8" Allen nut; single-bend with 2-1/4" reach for clearance on 6-in-line pegheads Yes
$9.50

6113-G For 4mm Allen nut Yes
$10.50

6115-G For 3/16" Allen nut Yes
$10.50

6108-G For 5mm Allen nut Yes
$10.50

6209-G For 1/8" soundhole nut; single-bend with 5-3/8" reach Yes
$9.50

6211-G For 1/8" soundhole nut; triple-bend with 5-3/4" reach Yes
$9.50

6212-G For 4mm soundhole nut; triple-bend with 5-3/4" reach Yes
$9.50

6110-G For 5mm soundhole nut; single-bend; 2" reach Yes
$8.98

6114-G For 5mm soundhole nut; single-bend with 4-1/2" reach Yes
$8.98


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Truss Rod Wrench Set



Precision Straightedges



Notched Straightedge



Neck Relief Gauge



Basic Setup Kit



Truss Rod Wrench Set
Precision Straightedges
Notched Straightedge
Neck Relief Gauge
Basic Setup Kit



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Each wrench has a 3/8"-long end that tapers from slightly undersize to slightly oversize, giving you a snug fit to turn the nut and avoid a costly replacement job.

Our veteran guitar technicians developed these high quality steel truss rod wrenches. The length, comfortable rubberized handles, durability and variety of sizes let you perform formerly difficult truss rod adjustments with ease. The straight wrenches are 12-1/2" long, keeping your knuckles safely away from the peghead.

#6210-G Gripper wrench has a special angled handle for tuner clearance on 6-in-line pegheads. For 1/8" Allen nut; 2-1/4" reach.

Special notes for the soundhole wrenches
4mm is for Hot Rod truss rods. #6110-G is for pre-August 2007 Martins; #6114-G and #6212-G are for later Martins. Triple-bend wrenches provide clearance under the guitar's braces.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Gripper Truss Rod Wrenches
Gripper Truss Rod Wrenches
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 40 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  4 >
5 3-26-2014
6114-G Allen Nut

A fine implement, which does the job well. It arrived soon in distant South Africa, and was very well-packed.

Nicholas M  South Africa
3 3-18-2014
We Need To Talk

We initially bought this 5mm straight gripper wrench because we had several stripped 5mm t-rods in the shop, but particularly a nice Asian-made J-Bass with a partially stripped out rod end. Also, the t-rod was fairly ineffective, so we were going to pre-load the rod in hopes of getting some correction. We found that this wrench grips a stripped out allen nut very well, but not a shallow one. Also, the shaft of the wrench was a bit too bulky in diameter, especially for this particular instrument. We feel it really needs to be a T-handle so you can get a good grip on it with your hands.

Guitartec  Coventry, RI USA Read my reviews (11)
5 2-12-2014
Well worth the money

These are the perfect tool for damaged truss rod nuts. I was skeptical at first, but the first time I used it, I got a perfect fit on a nut that was way too damaged for a standard allen wrench.

WebGuy  Lancaster, OH Read my reviews (5)
5 12-14-2013
the best fix!

Even with the correct wrench the rod nut can sometimes slip. Not with the "gripper". I have used it to re-adjust some real problem nuts with just a twist. You need this tool!

pedalman  Boston area Read my reviews (6)
5 8-30-2013
It worked!

My 4mm truss rod nut was completely stripped, the standard 4mm wrench spun freely in the socket. 5mm was too big and everything else was either too small or too big. The gripper wrench slipped a little at first, so I was prepared for the worst, but with the right angle and pressure I got the nut out in a few seconds. Neck saved!

Eric68  Ithaca, NY
5 7-23-2013
The Gripper Truss Rod Tool

Saved a used LTD EC-256P with the P-90s. Someone stripped the 4mm hex. The Gripper got it out, I chased the rod threads to clean them up, replaced the hex barrel nut, got the neck properly adjusted and it plays like a champ. Thanks again, Stew-Mac. You're a lifesaver.

GoldtopSam  Arlington. Texas
5 6-20-2013
Must have tool!

I get numerous stripped truss rod nuts in my shop. This tool is a must to remove those stripped ones to replace with a new one. Great, great tool!

Bob Long, The Guitar Surgeon  Corpus Christi, Texas Read my reviews (10)
1 6-15-2013
Didn't work

Strat truss rod must be too rounded, too stripped. Because this tool didn't work. Wasted my money. Strat truss rod problem unsolved.

CG  MA Read my reviews (2)
5 6-05-2013
Great tool, with caveat

This tool helped me save a great strat neck that had its truss rod nut horribly ham-handed by a previous owner. I say "with caveat" because I had to file down the end a bit before it would grip. But that's still way, way easier than trying to jerry-rig one of these myself. Maybe a bit overpriced for what it is, but completely worth it for how much money and work it can save you if you have a stuck truss rod nut.

Slugw0rth  USA
5 5-03-2013
very helpful

These wrenches are helpful. If you have a nut that is SLIGHTLY stripped, they can help enormously. You could always make your own, but for 10 bucks why would you? They also work really well just as your everyday truss rod tool when there is room for the wrench to fit around tuners and string trees.

IronHorse  Orangeburg, NY Read my reviews (7)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 15 of our latest catalog.


Hot Rod® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce