Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Truss rods : Carbon fiber : Carbon Fiber Neck Rods

Carbon Fiber Neck Rods


Read 29 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Stronger than an equivalent volume of steel, carbon fiber rods can supplement an adjustable truss rod to help prevent neck twisting.

See details below

Email a friend
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4401 1/8" x 3/8" x 18" length Yes
$17.49
4 or more $15.88  
8 or more $14.30  

4402 1/8" x 3/8" x 24" length Yes
$21.00
4 or more $19.37  
8 or more $17.76  

4403 0.200" x 1/4" x 18" length Yes
$16.42
4 or more $14.65  
8 or more $12.86  

4404 0.200" x 1/4" x 24" length Yes
$20.72
4 or more $18.87  
8 or more $17.02  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy



Router Bit for Carbon Fiber Rods



Dovetailed Acoustic Guitar Neck



Bolt-on Acoustic Guitar Neck



Slotted Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod



Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
Router Bit for Carbon Fiber Rods
Dovetailed Acoustic Guitar Neck
Bolt-on Acoustic Guitar Neck
Slotted Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Short sections can be installed to reinforce the base of a peghead. Formed with heat and pressure in an epoxy base, carbon fiber adds little weight, but adds significant stiffness.

4401 1/8" x 3/8" x 18" length
3.18mm x 9.52mm x 457.20mm
4402 1/8" x 3/8" x 24" length
3.18mm x 9.52mm x 609.60mm
4403 0.200" x 1/4" x 18" length
5.08mm x 6.35mm x 457.20mm
4404 0.200" x 1/4" x 24" length
5.08mm x 6.35mm x 609.60mm


Strengthening a square-tube Martin truss rod
How to strengthen a 1970s-era Martin truss rod
Strengthening a square-tube Martin truss rod Read more

In this issue:
Dan Erlewine’s doing a neck reset on a Martin that has a square-tube truss rod. While he has the neck off, he shows how to improve the truss rod before regluing the neck.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 29 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 29 < 1  2  3
5 12-26-2010
Carbon Fiber rods

As an update to my review of 09/08/2010, the addition of the C.F. rods seems to have changed the sound of the guitar for the better. It now sounds more like a "classic strat" with all the chime and quack that one would expect from an old strat. Highly recommended!

Dave C.  Read my reviews (2)
5 12-01-2010
Consistently great

I have used these carbon fiber rods for years. They are always consistent and the service is spectacular.

Brock Poling - Poling Guitars  Columbus, OH Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-17-2010
Bring in the reinforcements

I use Stewmacs carbon fiber neck rods in most of my guitars. It allows me to make a very thin yet stiff neck. Carbon fiber doesn't add any weight to the neck as well which is essential for maintaining the proper balance that a comfortable instrument must have.

Tom Drinkwater  Oakland, Maine Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
4 10-30-2010
Carbon rods for neck

The rods are very light, yet stiff, ideal for the flamenco guitar. I wanted to build a very narrow and light neck, with a thin fretboard, for a balanced instrument weighing under 3 pounds. The rods are hard enough to keep the neck from arching.

Marcio Costa  Brasil Read my reviews (37)
5 9-10-2010
stiffer than a board

It is nice to have a convenient source for carbon fiber that is the right dimensions. I wouldn't know where to get this otherwise. I've put these in an old Kent bass that needed a little help and currently about to glue a bunch of them into a pair of acoustics. One standard with Port orford Cedar top and rosewood back n sides, the other a Baritone with bearclaw spruce top and crazy figured myrtle back, sides, and neck. The carbon fiber will definitely be a factor in how these turn out!

I agree with the other posts that it is no replacement for an adjustable rod. The dual action rods also offered by stewmac are great. We were making our own welding them up by hand but the ones you get here are absolutely worth the price.

Tastychoice  Portland
4 9-08-2010
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods

The application was a 1995 American Standard Strat that the truss rod had separated from the anchor at the heel of the neck. I routed out the "skunk stripe", removed the rod and rebuilt from the back using two 1/8"X 3/8" carbon fiber rods on either side of the truss rod. The results are what I expected, a flat finger board with no more adjustment problems. To amplify on another review, I would use a truss rod in addition to the C.F. rods. I don't think the C.F. rods will get the job done alone.

Dave C.  Read my reviews (2)
2 8-25-2010
Carbon Fiber Rods for Fretless Banjo

Used the 1/8 X 3/8 rod in a fretless banjo neck. The strength feels fine so far but these do not replace an adjustable rod. After making the neck and checking carefully to make sure it was straight and flat, I put in the carbon fiber rod, without anything else. When attaching the finger board a slight warp developed. There was no adjustment as I had not put in an adjustable rod. Planing very lightly did take the slight warp out, but I would not use one of these without including an adjustable rod next time. In fact for a banjo I would not bother with this but just put in the hotrod adjustable support.

Pete Miller  Goshen, Indiana
5 8-21-2010
12 years with no adj. truss and still going strong!

I built the laminated neck in this thru-neck over 12 years ago. I recently cut it out of the original guitar it was built into and designed the curly mahog custom in the attached picture around it because I loved the neck so much. I used three 1/8" x 3/8" carbon rods down the center and two 1/4" x .200" rods on either side of the center stack. What it produced is a very solid and stiff neck with INCREDIBLE tone and sustain from a super light-weight honduran mahogany neck...WILD! I would warn new builders to always include an adjustable truss rod unless you have the tools and know how to true in a non-adjustable neck correctly. I started using carbon rods 14 years ago in my guitar building and every neck I have built since then includes at least two of them.

dmbwoodworking  Burlington, Vt Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-13-2010
Cigar Box Instruments

I am starting to step up my builds quality and am very excited about these little Carbon Fibers.My current not yet complete Four string Blues build has one and my next Cigar Box Mando is gonna have one of those little boogers placed right in its little Ole Neck.

James Bernard  Odessa,FL Read my reviews (6)
Displaying 21 – 29 < 1  2  3 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 72 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce