Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Truss rods : Carbon fiber : Carbon Fiber Neck Rods

Carbon Fiber Neck Rods


Read 29 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Stronger than an equivalent volume of steel, carbon fiber rods can supplement an adjustable truss rod to help prevent neck twisting.

See details below

Email a friend
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4401 1/8" x 3/8" x 18" length Yes
$17.49
4 or more $15.88  
8 or more $14.30  

4402 1/8" x 3/8" x 24" length Yes
$21.00
4 or more $19.37  
8 or more $17.76  

4403 0.200" x 1/4" x 18" length Yes
$16.42
4 or more $14.65  
8 or more $12.86  

4404 0.200" x 1/4" x 24" length Yes
$20.72
4 or more $18.87  
8 or more $17.02  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy



Router Bit for Carbon Fiber Rods



Dovetailed Acoustic Guitar Neck



Bolt-on Acoustic Guitar Neck



Slotted Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod



Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
Router Bit for Carbon Fiber Rods
Dovetailed Acoustic Guitar Neck
Bolt-on Acoustic Guitar Neck
Slotted Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Short sections can be installed to reinforce the base of a peghead. Formed with heat and pressure in an epoxy base, carbon fiber adds little weight, but adds significant stiffness.

4401 1/8" x 3/8" x 18" length
3.18mm x 9.52mm x 457.20mm
4402 1/8" x 3/8" x 24" length
3.18mm x 9.52mm x 609.60mm
4403 0.200" x 1/4" x 18" length
5.08mm x 6.35mm x 457.20mm
4404 0.200" x 1/4" x 24" length
5.08mm x 6.35mm x 609.60mm


Strengthening a square-tube Martin truss rod
How to strengthen a 1970s-era Martin truss rod
Strengthening a square-tube Martin truss rod Read more

In this issue:
Dan Erlewine’s doing a neck reset on a Martin that has a square-tube truss rod. While he has the neck off, he shows how to improve the truss rod before regluing the neck.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 29 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
5 2-24-2012
Carbon fiber works great

Very thin neck? carbon fiber rods is the right choice

Liuteria Balladori  Livraga - LO - Italy Read my reviews (10)
3 7-22-2011
Great For Building, Hit Or Miss For Repairing

When we were building flattops these products went in all the necks to supplement the truss rod and in that application they seemed to add a good bit of stiffness.

In repair jobs they can help but if you have a real noodle neck, like some early 70's Martin instruments had they may not help on their own without a compression refret.

There used to be a motto on the wall at the old Colling's shop that said "We Fought The Flaw And The Flaw Won." If the neck is built from flawed wood these rods are just a band-aid.

Jack Straw Guitars  Prescott, Arizona Read my reviews (7)
5 5-09-2011
Oh Yeah!!!!

With a hot rod truss rod and 4 (yes, four!) carbon fiber rods in my guitar neck, I'm shure that it won't break!
If I throw my guitar on the floor, the floor will break!
And my instrument remains in tune even after a whole concert! FANTASTIC!

El Vedova Da Garés  Belluno, ITALY Read my reviews (2)
5 4-24-2011
Carbon truss rod

I picked up an old John Grey and Sons London 5 string banjo that was being keep straight with eyelet screws and metal strings. I routered the back of the neck and set the rod in with epoxy. I then glued a piece of wood in the groove, sanded and finished the neck. The neck is now straight and solid. The product didn't add any extra weight. I have been sitting on this project for over a year and this was the best solution.

guitarserge  St Eustache Quebec
5 4-20-2011
Carbon rods

I've used these Carbon Rods to reinforce my 5 string bassnecks, they are excellent! Also the shipping time was very fast, StewMac has the right stuff! It's a shame they don't have a shop in the Netherlands.

rockwood  netherlands Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-30-2011
Carbon is great

I have built banjo necks for over ten years and the only truss rod I use are the SMD carbon filament rods. The oldtime open back banjo necks work great and deliver a beautiful tone. No problems with neck warp, although I do use two rods in each neck and I use split neck construction.

CloverLick Banjos  Burlington, WI 53105 Read my reviews (4)
5 3-12-2011
Weight of Carbon Fibre

Contrary to popular belief, carbon fibre WILL add weight to the neck of your instrument... just not very much weight, because the bar is relatively small compared to the rest of the neck. The math is simple: hard maple weighs ~44lbs/ft3, while the material used to make these inlays weighs ~100-110lbs/ft3. (It also happens to be ~13 times as stiff, which is why we use it.) It may be "light" in comparison to steel, but not wood.

That said, its superb stiffness for a modest weight gain makes it an excellent tool in the guitar-builder's arsenal.

B. Ennis  Saskatchewan, Canada Read my reviews (4)
5 2-14-2011
Added strength without the added weight!

This is one of those great products that add value to your instruments. I've been using these Carbon fiber neck rods for a while now with all of my instruments and everyone comments on how straight my necks are :-) Cheap price to pay for added security without the added weight

RiveraInstruments  Walkersville, MD Read my reviews (4)
5 1-23-2011
Excellent piece for my guitar

I bought a couple of the 18" x 1/4" x 0.200" carbon rods and just cut the slots for them today. They are VERY stiff for their dimensions and should hold up well and help keep the neck straight for years to come. I'm also happy with the shipping from Stew Mac, the pieces arrived on time with no problems.

Mr. Dude  Pensacola FL, US. Read my reviews (12)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-19-2011
Nice!

The quality of these carbon-fiber neck supports are unmatched. An absolute must!

Michael Grannis  Phoenix, Az Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 72 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce