Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Truss rods : Carbon fiber : Carbon Fiber Neck Rods

Carbon Fiber Neck Rods


Read 29 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Stronger than an equivalent volume of steel, carbon fiber rods can supplement an adjustable truss rod to help prevent neck twisting.

See details below

Email a friend
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4401 1/8" x 3/8" x 18" length Yes
$17.49
4 or more $15.88  
8 or more $14.30  

4402 1/8" x 3/8" x 24" length Yes
$21.00
4 or more $19.37  
8 or more $17.76  

4403 0.200" x 1/4" x 18" length Yes
$16.42
4 or more $14.65  
8 or more $12.86  

4404 0.200" x 1/4" x 24" length Yes
$20.72
4 or more $18.87  
8 or more $17.02  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy



Router Bit for Carbon Fiber Rods



Dovetailed Acoustic Guitar Neck



Bolt-on Acoustic Guitar Neck



Slotted Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod



Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
Router Bit for Carbon Fiber Rods
Dovetailed Acoustic Guitar Neck
Bolt-on Acoustic Guitar Neck
Slotted Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Short sections can be installed to reinforce the base of a peghead. Formed with heat and pressure in an epoxy base, carbon fiber adds little weight, but adds significant stiffness.

4401 1/8" x 3/8" x 18" length
3.18mm x 9.52mm x 457.20mm
4402 1/8" x 3/8" x 24" length
3.18mm x 9.52mm x 609.60mm
4403 0.200" x 1/4" x 18" length
5.08mm x 6.35mm x 457.20mm
4404 0.200" x 1/4" x 24" length
5.08mm x 6.35mm x 609.60mm


Strengthening a square-tube Martin truss rod
How to strengthen a 1970s-era Martin truss rod
Strengthening a square-tube Martin truss rod Read more

In this issue:
Dan Erlewine’s doing a neck reset on a Martin that has a square-tube truss rod. While he has the neck off, he shows how to improve the truss rod before regluing the neck.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 29 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 >
4 3-24-2014
Good

I use them a lot. They keep working for me.

JSD  Europe Read my reviews (31)
4 4-16-2013
stiff rod...

Used these a lot over the years, just built myself a 5 string bass and installed 4 of these in the neck...solid as a rock and a great consistent tone over the entire neck. I think a two way truss rod is crucial when using these rods as it can stiffen a neck so much...you can't get the relief you want from string pull alone.

Bravewood Guitars  Cornwall, UK Read my reviews (3)
5 2-23-2013
Carbon fiber rods

This is the first time I've used these Carbon fiber rods. They work well, and fit nicely, and allow me to make a very thin but very strong/stiff neck. In the photo you can see them installed along with a two way adjustable truss rod, in my son’s guitar which he orders very strong so that he could string it with thick strings for playing hard rock.

Hans-Jørgen Jul  Frederiksberg Denmark Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-23-2013
Going for lightweight? Go carbon

I switched to cedar for the necks of my electric guitars. The combination of a spoke nut hot rod and carbon reinforcement is very lightweight, strong and extremely stable.

DhaenensGuitars  Aarschot, Belgium, Europe Read my reviews (10)
4 2-07-2013
Good as any carbon fiber on the market, but price is high

I put a pair of carbon fiber rods, and a dual action Hot Rod, in all my necks. Stew Mac's carbon fiber is as good as any I've used. I'd give a five star rating, if the price were more reasonable.

Adam Bloch  Buffalo, NY Read my reviews (3)
5 1-27-2013
So Easy to Use!!!!

I love them for my Bass ukes and Mando's

Adrian Stuckey  Gold Coast Australia Read my reviews (29)
5 12-29-2012
Just as described

Excellent rods. They really helped me reinforced a 5-stringed bass neck. Rods are very stiff and extremely light weighted.

sofislele  Athens, Greece Read my reviews (8)
3 10-07-2012
Poorly shaped

The section of these rod is not rectangular: on each of the narrow sides there is a seam protruding some. To seat it well on a rectangular channell, you have to scrape those sides flat; not fun on carbon fiber...

D_  Spain Read my reviews (2)
5 4-28-2012
Carbon rod reinforcing

I've used these a number of times and since I have the custom router bit, I continue to use them. They work well, and fit nicely. You can really see how much stiffer the neck is with these installed. In the photo you can see them installed along with a two way adjustable truss rod in a blank for a headless neck.

Bill Wilkat  Montreal, Canada Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
3 3-06-2012
i hate titles...

just a little bit to thick. I got the 1/8"s and with my 1/4" truss rod, had to hammer the whole thing in

Steeve Rock  Lévis, Québec, Canada Read my reviews (9)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 72 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce