Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Truss rods : Adjustable truss rods : Traditional Truss Rod Kit

Traditional Truss Rod Kit


Read 20 Reviews   |   Write a Review

One of the most common and traditional truss rod designs used in stringed instruments. This adjustable truss rod can be cut to fit a variety of instrument types and sizes.

See details below

Email a friend
Traditional Truss Rod Kit
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0968 Traditional Truss Rod Kit Yes
$10.11
6 or more $9.10  
10 or more $8.15  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Traditional Truss Rod Anchor Nut

Thread Cutting Die



Truss Rod Wrench Set



Hex Truss Rod Wrenches



Gibson Truss Rod



Traditional Truss Rod Anchor Nut
Thread Cutting Die
Truss Rod Wrench Set
Hex Truss Rod Wrenches
Gibson® Truss Rod



Details
 Pictures
This kit includes a 24" x 3/16" stainless steel truss rod, threaded on one end for the adjusting nut (5/16" hex, supplied with washer). Simply saw the rod to length, cut 10-32 threads on the blank end, then attach and peen the anchor nut securely. The Thread Cutting Die for cutting the 10-32 threads is sold separately.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Traditional Truss Rod Kit
Traditional Truss Rod Kit
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 20 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
4 6-05-2013
old-school cool

Works for the price. Best for small OM-000 sized guitars/necks. In my opinion. The double adjustable "hot rod" style for a few bucks more are a better deal for one at a time builds or for longer/electric necks

Milagra Dulce' Guitar works  Oregon Read my reviews (13)
5 11-17-2012
Truss Rod - Traditional

Used five of these so far for Les Paul builds. Perfect for the job although it should come with the half moon washer as standard. All good though.

Wayne Crompton  Australia Read my reviews (2)
5 10-21-2012
Broke My truss Rod

My strat always had too much relief in the neck. I use pretty heavy strings. I was tightening the truss rod taking my time (three days) on the third day i snapped the rod. After hearing everybody I talked to tell me to buy a new neck I kept researching. Even Fender told me to come to Stew-Mac. I bought the truss rod for the Gibson, replacing the nut with an american standard. I was nervous at first because I had never done anything like this, but what did I have to lose? Truss rod fit perfect. As you can see I chunked the neck a little trying to get old skunk stripe out, but I sanded with some 600 grit and left unfinished to remind myself to leave certain things to the pros!(Yeah Right)Best action I have ever achieved on the guitar since I got it 6 years ago. I may be trying my hand at re-fretting this baby. Again, what have I got to lose? Thanks for being there Mac.

RoaringBender  Philadelphia
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-01-2012
Trussrod (Not metric).

I am building a 59 Burst replica and this product is as close as I can find to vintage specs. It has the 10/32 thread (not metric)that I am after and the round stop pin rather than the strip of metal. It is also 3/16" diameter. All this and a fair price. All too often, anything with a vintage spec is silly money.

John Bauers  UK Read my reviews (2)
4 6-13-2012
Good Value

I used the Traditional Truss Rod Kit as a replacement in a 1977 Yamaha FG345. The kit is good except for the Gibson style adjusting nut which I guess is personal preference. I purchased a Fender style slotted adjusting nut separately. An option to buy the kit with a choice of adjusting nut style would be nice.

Kevin L  Newport, ME
3 5-21-2012
Stainless Steel??

This rod is listed as stainless steel. That would mean it would be non magnetic, but a magnet will clamp right on to it. I think this is carbon steel..

C Newcomb  Madison, Wisconsin
StewMac responds

C Newcomb,
Great observation, and a question we're often asked! Some stainless steels alloys are indeed magnetic and these are used because they're very strong, and easier to machine than non-magnetic alloys. This makes them ideal for our use in our Traditional Truss Rod Kits.

4 4-17-2012
Good replacement

Had to replace the truss rod in a Gibson LG0. Short non standard size. Had to cut and re-thread but all worked fine. Seems like it may age better than the original.

Jon Herter  Syracuse, NY Read my reviews (2)
4 2-01-2012
great product, terrible instructions

the instrustions that came with this kit was awful. I nearly ruined a neck but following the instructions in this kit.

Aaron's Guitars  Winchester, Virginia Read my reviews (4)
4 12-15-2011
Traditional Truss Rod Kit

Everything you said it would be. Works great, no problems. It went in old Harmony H162.

Westerly Guild D4E  Cumberland, RI
5 11-18-2011
.

Excellent

p gaudreau  canada Read my reviews (43)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 72 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce