Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Truss rods : Adjustable truss rods : Spoke Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod

Spoke Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod


Read 21 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Easy neck heel adjustment in electric guitars and basses. Smooth two-way action corrects upbow and backbow, giving complete control over the neck.

See details below

Email a friend
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1016 18" overall length Yes
$20.15
6 or more $17.91  
12 or more $16.66  

1017 24" overall length Yes
$24.47
6 or more $22.66  
12 or more $21.44  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods



Carbon Fiber Neck Rods



Slotted Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod



4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod



Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod



Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
Slotted Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod



Details
 Pictures
Specs
Instructions
The 1/2"-diameter "spoke" nut is designed to protrude slightly from the heel of a bolt-on neck; you can insert a thin tool into the side of the nut to turn it, without pickguard removal.

Easy to install. The Hot Rod® fits in a straight channel. For proper operation, this truss rod must be installed so that the active rod (the rod with the adjustment nut) is below the passive rod. A wooden filler stick is not required.

Smooth 2-way action with superior strength for stubborn necks. Stainless steel adjustment rod corrects upbow and backbow.

Hot Rod's neck adjustment system features twin rods in threaded brass collars. The stainless steel active rod turns for smooth neck alignment, with 2-way action. The Hot Rod requires an access cavity for the adjustment nut, and a straight 7/32"-wide x 7/16"-deep slot (measured from the bottom of the fretboard) for installation. The 18" rod fits many electric guitars; the 24" rod fits basses. Overall length includes the nut.

We've designed the Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods especially for routing your neck to fit our truss rods.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Spoke Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 21 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
5 4-04-2012
Easy as.

I was having nightmares about this part of my first scratch build... No need for that! use the router bit made for the job and in she goes no dramas. When I tested it I was surprised as to how far a small tweak can move the neck! A must have product from StewMac, again!

Dingobass  Perth, Australia Read my reviews (76)
5 2-26-2012
spoke nut hot rod

great truss rod ,easy to install ,would recommend it highly thanks!!!!

sicosi  scottish highlands Read my reviews (2)
4 11-10-2011
Works Great!

They are very effective in controlling upbow/backbow.

My only complaint is they add a significant amount of weight to a neck vs. a traditional-rod (It uses 2 rods, plus the end-blocks so it's to be expected).

Middleton Guitars  Southern California Read my reviews (51)
5 10-08-2011
Hot Rod

I've used the Hot Rods in all my builds, 9 now, and I think they are excellent. Just one comment though; since the the spoke nut is visible it might benefit from having a chrome or nickel finsh.

Kenny Fox  Perth, Australia Read my reviews (11)
5 8-04-2011
Hot Rod!

Works as it should. Great adjustability! Use on all my builds!

HarperAxes  Indiana Read my reviews (4)
5 7-17-2011
Very good rod

I've installed this in Fender style from the rear. I used a filler strip skunk stripe and it sits in there perfectly. So far so good.

If the rod ever breaks it would also be possible to slacken it off, withdraw it and simply slide a new one in. Truss rods have never been so much fun.

Toby Carter  UK Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
4 7-07-2011
Good rod

I built my first guitar and used this rod for the ease of adjust it provides, and it does everything I was hoping for. I'll be using it again.

RG  Garden Grove Read my reviews (4)
5 3-26-2011
Spoke Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod

I have used both this version and the allen wrench version on a number of guitars and basses. The spoke nut version is easier to adjust, as you can get more torque on the nut. The allen wrench version tends to feel like it may strip. The spoke nut version is best used with the adjustment at the guitar body end of the neck as there is more wood there. I would not use the spoke version at the headstock end of the neck because of the large rout needed.
The ability to adjust the neck in both directions is essential to an accurate dressing of new frets.
After using the Hot Rod dual-action truss rods, I would not even consider using the old-style one-way truss rod.
Gary Stevens

Gary Stevens  Las Cruces, NM Read my reviews (3)
4 3-10-2011
Love the nut, but...

Dear StewMac,
If this rod were thinner I would use it on everything. As a guy who's been doing repairs longer than building, this rod made sense for the adjustment nut alone and so I use them in most of my builds. I do from time to time need to build something with a very thin neck and have found that I cannot use these rods for those projects. The LMI rods are just as good and 1/16" thinner by design. If they had a spoke nut I would be buying them only. Other than that, I've been using these for years and never had any problems with them.

Chellee Guitars  Orange City, FL Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-16-2011
Excellent rod system!

I have been using them for many years...
I think that an improvement would be to make then less deep for thinner necks and also to perma weld the passive bar to the extremities, this would improve the overal strenght IMO...

hufschmid  Montreux Read my reviews (18)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 72 of our latest catalog.


Hot Rod® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce