Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Truss rods : Adjustable truss rods : Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod

Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod


Read 18 Reviews   |   Write a Review

1/4" hex nut design for electric guitars and banjos. Smooth two-way action corrects upbow and backbow, giving complete control over the neck.

See details below

Email a friend
Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0979 Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod Yes
$16.89
6 or more $14.75  
12 or more $13.52  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Hex Truss Rod Wrenches



Pocket Truss Rod Wrenches



Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods



Carbon Fiber Neck Rods



Slotted Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod



Hex Truss Rod Wrenches
Pocket Truss Rod Wrenches
Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
Slotted Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod



Details
 Pictures
Specs
Instructions
Easy to install. The Hot Rod® fits in a straight channel. For proper operation, this truss rod must be installed so that the active rod (the rod with the adjustment nut) is below the passive rod. A wooden filler stick is not required.

Our Hot Rod neck adjustment system features twin rods in threaded brass collars. The stainless steel active rod turns for smooth neck alignment, with 2-way action. The Hot Rod requires an access cavity for the adjustment nut, and a straight 7/32"-wide x 7/16"-deep slot (measured from the bottom of the fretboard) for installation.

The 18" rod fits many electric guitars and banjos. Overall length includes the nut.

We've designed the Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods especially for routing your neck to fit our truss rods.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 18 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
5 7-20-2013
Great truss rod for custom builds

Used the Hot Rod for a custom Telecaster neck build, easy to install and easy to adjust. Since it is a double acting rod, it is capable of adding or subtracting neck relief. It is also VERY sensitive to to adjustments, so go easy with the wrench!

Billy M  Baker, LA Read my reviews (10)
5 4-14-2013
Excellence

These rods are the best. I cant believe how strong they are, and how much control you get over your neck with the slightest of turns. I have never had one fail.

TisDale Custom Guitars  Renton, WA, USA Read my reviews (52)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-05-2013
Works very well

I accidentally ordered the hex nut rod rather than the allen nuts I'm used to, but the bigger nut access still fits under a standard cover and it's much easier to keep a 1/4" nut driver around than an allen key anyway. The truss rod works perfectly, and the 2-way action is a must for any quality guitar.

Marv G Price  Chico, CA, USA Read my reviews (2)
4 8-17-2012
Good product, bad directions

This is a great truss-rod, works as it should. However, the directions it comes with are pretty terrible. The directions are really generic, as they are for all the truss rods in the hot rod series. Basically they are in paragraph form and don't clearly delineate between which measurements and directions are for which model. It would be better if each truss rod came with its own model-specific installation instructions. Other than this however, a great product.

nStratton  GA Read my reviews (3)
4 4-01-2012
Works great, as expected.

I'm using this in a banjo neck, with the adjustment end of the truss rod at the heel rather than the peghead. I don't like to mess up my pegheads with truss rod covers. This probably wouldn't be the best truss rod choice for access from the peghead, since the access hole for the adjustment socket would have to be quite large.

Doug Peters  Winnipeg M Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-18-2011
Great insurance on a custom build

With the 2 way action, I'll never worry about any of my custom necks developing a back-bow.
They are a little bulkier than a single action truss, and as such can be a close fit for a thin neck. I've never NOT been able to use one of these, and recommend them to other builders I speak with.
All my builds get the spoke wheel (heel end) adjuster. Set-ups are a dream!

Bluboibass  Acworth, GA USA Read my reviews (13)
5 7-17-2011
Hotrods every time

Could not be easier to install these rods. SM supply full set of instructions for installation. Flat bottomed channel and no need for a filler strip makes life much easier and the rod will work every time. I will be hard pushed to find another rod as good as this.

Toby Carter  UK Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-04-2011
No Twisting Your Arm

The worst thing about the Hot Rod truss rod is shaping the truss rod channel. That is to say, I had no problems installing this item. It worked great and slipped right in once the channel had been cut to the correct dimensions. A great product. I used it in a mahogany neck on my custom Les Paul-shaped project guitar.

Porterhouse Pat  Charleston, IL Read my reviews (3)
1 5-22-2011
Not recommended for banjos

The 1/2" deep access channel needed to adjust the truss rod at the peghead does not leave very much material between it and the back of the headstock. Also because of this depth, the channel has to start 2 inches up the headstock, which puts it smack in between the high and low D tuners on most headstock designs. This is far too high in my opinion, and makes fitting a truss rod cover very tricky. The only other option is to shorten the channel and buy a 1/4" pocket truss rod wrench (for an additional $8.98). Forget this one and for the same price get the 18" 4mm allen nut or better yet, the 17-5/16" martin-style truss rod for electrics.

Kaitlyn  Montreal
5 5-14-2011
Great rods

It all started with one of my Strat necks which developed a severe back bow... Had it had a double truss rod installed in it, I wouldn't have had to sand it down until too much wood was removed and became too thin... These Hot Rods couldn't be more easy to install and they work to perfection.

Francis Voignier  Arcata, CA Read my reviews (14)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 72 of our latest catalog.


Hot Rod® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce