Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Truss rods : Adjustable truss rods : 4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod

4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod


Read 93 Reviews   |   Write a Review

A smaller 4mm (5/32") Allen nut for most instruments. Smooth two-way action corrects upbow and backbow, giving complete control over the neck.

See details below

Email a friend
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
2550 12-1/4" overall length Yes
$15.79
6 or more $13.64  
12 or more $12.38  

2551 14-1/4" overall length Yes
$15.99
6 or more $13.91  
12 or more $12.67  

2552 18" overall length Yes
$16.99
6 or more $14.84  
12 or more $13.60  

2553 24" overall length Yes
$20.99
6 or more $18.96  
12 or more $17.74  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Allen Truss Rod Wrenches



Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods



Carbon Fiber Neck Rods



Slotted Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod



Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod



Allen Truss Rod Wrenches
Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
Slotted Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod



Details
 Pictures
Specs
Instructions
Easy to install. The Hot Rod® fits in a straight channel. For proper operation, this truss rod must be installed so that the active rod (the rod with the adjustment nut) is below the passive rod. A wooden filler stick is not required.

Smooth 2-way action with superior strength for stubborn necks.
Our Hot Rod neck adjustment system features twin rods in threaded brass collars. The stainless steel active rod turns for smooth neck alignment, with 2-way action to correct upbow and backbow.

The Hot Rod requires an access cavity for the adjustment nut, and a straight 7/32"-wide x 7/16"-deep slot (measured from the bottom of the fretboard) for installation.

Pick the Hot Rod Truss Rod size you'll need:
(overall length includes the nut)

Instrument
Resonator guitar
Acoustic guitar with 12th fret at the body
Acoustic guitar with 14th fret at the body
Electric guitar
Banjo
Bass
Size
12-1/4"
12-1/4"
14-1/4"
18"
18"
24"

We've designed the Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods especially for routing your neck to fit our truss rods.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 93 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7  ...  10 >
2 9-19-2011
one out of 2 ain't bad :$

Just built my 2nd guitar using these truss rods, using a ball end allen wrench (as suggested on angle) has chewed the inside of the nut completely!! This metal in the nut must be really soft stuff, I barely got a 1/4 turn on my truss rod & an almost finished guitar is now screwed :(

Adam P.  Tasmania, Australia Read my reviews (3)
5 9-05-2011
Great Product

I use the Hot Rod in all my custom guitars. It's strong, it can correct even the worst upbow/backbow with no signs of breaking. Very highly recommended.

TisDale Custom Guitars  Renton, WA, USA Read my reviews (52)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-30-2011
Works great

Routing out the channel for this was easy. Adjusting the neck relief after the guitar was complete went well. The instructions are clear and get the job done.

DanielK  California Read my reviews (8)
1 8-21-2011
4mm allen head hot rod

You'll likely need the special width router bit to get the exact slot width. I got close with two router passes of a 3/16" bit but it was a trick to set up. Got it installed and put the wrench in the socket just to loosen it up and the end broke off ! I'm quite disappointed and I can't return it now cuz it's stuck in the neck. Wary of trying this again, I prefer the old fashioned Gibson type for reliability.

Purplecarrot instruments  Michigan
5 8-18-2011
Hot Rod

This Hot Rod is perfect for my work! Can't wait to see the final result.

Fuen  Coteau-du-Lac, Quebec, Canada
5 8-18-2011
Easy to install and works great

I've used these in several guitars and basses. They are far superior to the traditional Gibson style truss rod setup. For one, they install easy - just cut the flat channel, and pop it in. No top filler stick is required. No cutting, tapping of threads or peening and anchor nut. They adjust upbow and backbow, and respond quickly to just a slight turn of the nut. Well worth the few extra dollars. They are a bit deep, so pay close attention when shaping your neck in the erea below the nut.

Robert S  Virgil, NY Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-05-2011
Hot rod

Very easy to install for a rookie like me, thanks for the instructions sheet added!

Omar Delgado  Mexico City Read my reviews (4)
4 8-03-2011
Pretty straight forward

Nice sturdy rod and very easy to install. The only minor scruple I have is that the adjustment nut gained a bit of surface rust fairly quickly. Other than that it is a great product, happy to have used it

MM  Australia
5 7-30-2011
Easy to install

These are not only high quality but much easier to install than conventional truss rods. And they adjust both ways, can't ask for a better product.

JZ Guitars  Edison, NJ Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
4 7-19-2011
11+ years of using this style Truss Rod.

I have only used the StewMac 2Way Truss Rod for all Kopp String Instruments guitars. There is a reason for this...it has never failed me...ever.
Just recently, they switched to a 4mm size Allen Nut, and it only made me mad because I now own about 17 1/8" Allen Wrenches that I "used to" throw in the case of every Kopp Archtop.
Still so happy with this Truss Rod that I now have to buy a couple dozen 4mm Allen Wrenches per year. ;)
Denny Kopp,
Kopp String Instruments.

Kopp String Instruments  Catawba Island, Ohio Read my reviews (13)
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7  ...  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 72 of our latest catalog.


Hot Rod® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce