Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Truss rods : Adjustable truss rods : 4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod

4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod


Read 93 Reviews   |   Write a Review

A smaller 4mm (5/32") Allen nut for most instruments. Smooth two-way action corrects upbow and backbow, giving complete control over the neck.

See details below

Email a friend
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
2550 12-1/4" overall length Yes
$15.79
6 or more $13.64  
12 or more $12.38  

2551 14-1/4" overall length Yes
$15.99
6 or more $13.91  
12 or more $12.67  

2552 18" overall length Yes
$16.99
6 or more $14.84  
12 or more $13.60  

2553 24" overall length Yes
$20.99
6 or more $18.96  
12 or more $17.74  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Allen Truss Rod Wrenches



Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods



Carbon Fiber Neck Rods



Slotted Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod



Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod



Allen Truss Rod Wrenches
Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
Slotted Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod



Details
 Pictures
Specs
Instructions
Easy to install. The Hot Rod® fits in a straight channel. For proper operation, this truss rod must be installed so that the active rod (the rod with the adjustment nut) is below the passive rod. A wooden filler stick is not required.

Smooth 2-way action with superior strength for stubborn necks.
Our Hot Rod neck adjustment system features twin rods in threaded brass collars. The stainless steel active rod turns for smooth neck alignment, with 2-way action to correct upbow and backbow.

The Hot Rod requires an access cavity for the adjustment nut, and a straight 7/32"-wide x 7/16"-deep slot (measured from the bottom of the fretboard) for installation.

Pick the Hot Rod Truss Rod size you'll need:
(overall length includes the nut)

Instrument
Resonator guitar
Acoustic guitar with 12th fret at the body
Acoustic guitar with 14th fret at the body
Electric guitar
Banjo
Bass
Size
12-1/4"
12-1/4"
14-1/4"
18"
18"
24"

We've designed the Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods especially for routing your neck to fit our truss rods.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
4mm Allen Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 93 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  10 >
5 7-16-2013
Truss rods confidence

StewMacs truss rods are the only ones I will ever trust again. The cheap price of another brand or style is long forgotten after the hassle and hard work it takes to remedy a mistake.

Mack's Project  Springfield Louisiana
5 7-08-2013
Hot Rod

Being new at this game I had to work out how it all worked. Google again is a great help. and the instruction that came with it helped too.

Bill Konings  Hamilton ,New Zealand
4 6-22-2013
Nice quality but check your measurements

These are really well made. I like the red shielding on the rods and the dual action makes them work really well on finicky necks that need a replacement rod. The only problem with the rods isnt their performance. Its their size. If you are making a thin neck profile, they may not work. They are quite tall. I do like the nice squared off brass nuts. With the router bit that's made for these, the rods fit nice and snug. Don't forget a little silicone caulk at the ends. I also would recommend adding a drop of oil on the threading of each rod where it threads into the nut. then work it in and out a few times. Once its sealed in the neck it will help the brass from bending or binding. Brass is pretty soft but if its lubed up it works like a snap.

PNC Guitars  Washinton USA Read my reviews (26)
5 5-12-2013
Smooth and solid

This truss rod worked great for my banjo build. I would surely use it again!

Johnny Banjo  Michigan Read my reviews (13)
5 3-26-2013
WORKS LIKE A DREAM

Was a bit hesitant about cutting the truss rod channel - but worth it: Truss rod works like a dream - Very tough little "Dude"

Dave Jazzphantom  Read my reviews (2)
5 2-28-2013
Hot Rod Truss Rods

I use these in every guitar I build and wouldn't go back to single rods at all. For me they are easy to install and work great. Thanks StewMac. Tom at AZGuitars.

Tom Palecki  Cornville, AZ
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-23-2013
2 way truss rod

I used them once, and I`m never going to use anything else. They are effortless too, and provide tremendous control over the neck. By using two carbon fiber reinforcements on either side of the truss rod, it is possible to make a very thin but very strong/stiff neck.

Hans-Jørgen Jul  Frederiksberg Denmark Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-21-2013
Hot Rod Bass Truss Rod

This was my first time replacing a Truss Rod on any instrument, but the instructions were detailed, and the product performed flawlessly!! Really great Truss Rod! I did research the fretboard removal using a clothes iron and wet cotton sock, worked very well. Thanks Stewart- MacDonald!!!

TimCompton  UNIONVILLE, TN
5 2-07-2013
Dual Action Truss Rod

I love these rods. They go in all my builds these days, along with a pair of carbon fiber reinforcement strips. My necks are absolutely rock solid and stable, yet still still have just enough give in them to perform neck bends when desired. That can be a tough balancing act for any luthier to achieve, but these rods make it easy.

Also, the perfectly sized router bit that Stew Mac sells for both the rods and the carbon fiber strips makes installation a breeze.

Adam Bloch  Buffalo, NY Read my reviews (3)
5 2-02-2013
Dual action truss rod

These are a great item. I have only used these truss rods in my builds, and they perform flawlessly. Easy to install, and adjust; they simply just work!

Nick Teasley  Marietta, GA
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 72 of our latest catalog.


Hot Rod® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce