Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Wrenches : Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench

Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench


Read 41 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Here's a special wrench that's ideal for the round knurled mounting nuts on Gibson® pickup selector switches.

See details below

Email a friend
Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1699 Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench Yes
$17.71


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

ESP Multi Spanner



Tune-o-Medic Bridge and Tailpiece Tools



Knob and Bushing Puller



Metric Toggle Switch



Toggle Switch Plate



ESP Multi Spanner
Tune-o-Medic Bridge and Tailpiece Tools
Knob and Bushing Puller
Metric Toggle Switch
Toggle Switch Plate



Details
 Pictures
Your pliers WILL mar the nut — this is a much safer tool, with adjustable chuck-style jaws for a good non-slip grip. Thanks to the deep socket, you won't even have to remove the switch knob. Made of sturdy steel with durable plastic handle.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench
Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 41 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 >
5 7-11-2013
Everybody should have one

If you have a toggle switch on a guitar you need to get one of these. They work great and are super easy to use. Excellent tool!

Andy M  Shawnee, KS
4 5-19-2013
Perfect for its intended use

Only four stars because it came with no instructions. It would seem that no instructions should be needed but I found out that even though it really is simple, I pulled the handle off before realizing how it closes/opens. When it arrived, the jaw sleeve was screwed back very tightly against the handle and hiding the threads making me think that you push down on the sleeve towards the guitar to close the jaws onto the nut instead of turning it. Well after I pulled the handle off (duh), closer examination showed that the sleeve is threaded and screws down until the jaws are tight on the nut, which makes more sense, instead of sliding. I was able to press the handle back on, break the sleeve threads loose and use as advertised. With that said, I would easily give the actual tool five stars now that I've used it. But still a simple piece of paper showing where to turn the sleeve would help. And to think, I'm a licensed airplane mechanic, heh. I just hacked at it without really looking first. The sleeve being screwed back so tightly threw me off. I've used it now to pull the switches on my two SG's and my Les Paul to clean the contacts thoroughly and it works great. Over the years, I've managed to chew up a nut or two and wish I'd had this long ago. Buy it, use it; you won't be sorry.

John1957  St Louis, MO, USA
4 3-06-2013
Nice Tool

Works well on all toggle nuts I've tried it on. MUCH better (& more safe) than a pliers!

SP  WI Read my reviews (2)
5 2-21-2013
Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench

Making a wiring mod on the "standby switch" of my Gretsch Country Gentleman meant, of course, removing the switch. I bought the Stew-Mac #1699 Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench, as it looked like the most reliable. Other plastic ones look like they'd strip in time, etc, and provide no variability in bit size. (I also have Gibsons & other guitars using the same style switches.) Masking around the switch to avoid scratching, I easily & quickly removed it, and the wrench even revealed another benefit: it held the knurled nut so securely, I just left it there until I replaced it, and never had a chance of losing it. This tool worked perfectly, and I feel it was a good investment. It may cost more than others, but your guitar is worth it!

Berington Van Campen  Los Angeles, CA
5 10-17-2012
Great for Echoplex and others

I bought this for use on the knurled mounting nuts on Echoplex delays. The "sound on sound" switch is secured by a knurled nut. The standard Les Paul size wrench wouldn't fit. This wrench works great - gets the job done and the quality of the tool is good. Highly recommened.

CA_Dan  Los Angeles
Customer supplied image for review
4 9-21-2012
Must have tool

This tool is the only one I have seen on the market to tighten Gibson toggle switch. It is just annoying that it is not open wide enough at rest. This is the only defect of the tool. You'll have to force it a little bit over the nut. It works great after, without damage. Price is correct for this tool.

Eric V  France Read my reviews (4)
5 9-18-2012
Vast improvement on the previous version!

I've only had this tool a couple of days, but wow, am I impressed. Having struggled with the previous plastic version, which stripped after the first couple of uses, and then struggling with leather or rubber padded pliers, I can see that some real thought has gone into this revision, and I can now really torque down on toggle switches, and be confident I won't see them back on the bench again!

Greg Robinson - Guitar & Amplifier Technician  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (54)
5 8-25-2012
A Great Tool To Have When You Need It

I use the ESP Multi Spanner on my personal guitars and for hard to reach places. It's quick and easy, but it can leave marks on the nut. When I work on a customer's guitar, I like to take extra care to not put any marks on it of any kind. This wrench works great. It's adjustable and it's fairly cheap.

Dave Ward  Oklahoma City, OK Read my reviews (14)
5 4-06-2012
Works great!

Like most tools you'll wonder why you didn't buy one sooner. Good quality and no more butchered nuts

mmbharrell  Santa Barbara, Ca
4 3-14-2012
Gizmo

Here's a handy tool for something we all know we have been using the wrong ones up till now. This tighten the lock nut properly.
Pity though the chuck doesn't really open wide enough. You'll have to force it over the nut. But then it works a treat.

Mercwilly  Netherlands
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 27 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce