Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Binding Tape

Binding Tape


Read 65 Reviews   |   Write a Review

First choice for binding work! High-tack adhesive and stiffer backing make this the strongest paper tape we've found for securing bindings while the glue dries.

See details below

Email a friend
Binding Tape
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0677 Binding Tape Yes
$4.39


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Weld-On Cement



Natural Wood Bindings



Precision Router Base Complete Set



TrueChannel Binding Router Jig



Weld-On Cement
Natural Wood Bindings
Precision Router Base Complete Set
TrueChannel Binding Router Jig



Details
 Pictures
Articles
3/4" x 60-yard (19mm x 55-meter) roll.

Not recommended for use on vintage or delicate finishes.

Our binding tape has a strong adhesive - good for applying pressure, but be cautious about using tape on soft top woods like spruce. With soft woods, first stick our binding tape to a cotton t-shirt to give it less tack before applying it. This will help reduce the possibility of any damage when you go to remove it.

Once the glue is dry, remove any tape slowly and gently — pulling at an angle and lightly rubbing it with your index finger. Warming the tape will also help it lift away easily without pulling out wood fibers.

For more information, see our How to Install Bindings article.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Binding Tape
Binding Tape
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 65 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7 >
5 4-10-2011
This stuff sticks

I used your binding tape to attach purfling strips around the edges of a demi-lune Federal card table I built. Your tape provided the required holding power to produce a handsome and tight seam.

mario rodriguez  United states Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-16-2011
works like a charm

Works well and comes off clean with a little help from the heat gun.

Bill Scanlon  Keller, TX Read my reviews (9)
5 3-13-2011
Works great

Yeah, you could try different tapes like me and finally realize that this tape is slightly cheaper than other specialty tapes, and works better. I researched this to find out that this is actually Butcher's tape or something almost exactly like it, but it costs more elsewhere and doesn't' come this narrow, which works PERFECTLY for holding down bindings. And I use a lot of wood bindings, and don't always prebend them, this stuff holds, and its on my next order again...

DAB Custom Guitars  Pa Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-04-2011
stiky stuff

This tape is great for all sorts of little jobs , from using tiny pieces to hold wiring in place until you fit cable clips to marking the bridge position on a tailpiece instrument while working on the saddle. A little heat and it peels away with no residue, great stuff.

col in kendall  bry lancashire uk,
5 3-04-2011
Great

One of my best mate in guitarmaking.

gabriel.v.savoie  MontrĂ©al Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-31-2011
Best option for the binding job

Fantastic solution to the binding quandary. This tape sticks without slippage and has the tension to hold wood bindings with confidence. Could be a little tougher on the corners, where it is liable to tear under high application pressure. But all told, this binding tape beats elastic bands and all measure of complicated clamping arrangements for obstructive binding materials.

JGS Guitars  South Africa Read my reviews (11)
5 1-13-2011
WONDER TAPE!

This stuff is great! I use it for EVERYTHING!
It comes off clean and is great for EVERYTHING!
I use it to apply cloths or paper over the body and pickups when doing fretwok, holding pickups in cavitys when i'm turning the guitar over to work the electronics, masking the fret board. and you can write notes and stick it to a guitar. this stuff is AWESOME!

Mikes Guitar Garage  Sydney, Australia Read my reviews (10)
5 1-05-2011
Tape of 1000 Uses

I have to echo what others have said - now that I have this tape I use it everywhere. Buy a roll and you'll wonder how you ever got by without it. One caution - it can damage already compromised finishes on vintage guitars.

Rick J  Powhatan, VA Read my reviews (9)
5 12-31-2010
Binding Tape

Once you use it - you don't how you did without it. I find a dozen things a day to use it on.

C.Cavuoto.  Roch. N.Y. Read my reviews (2)
5 10-08-2010
Great Tape !

This is all I will use for binding a guitar with plastic or wood bindings. It works great, and does not damage most tops when it's time to remove the tape. With spruce you do have to be careful of the fibers.

T. C. Tyler  Portland, OR Read my reviews (6)
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 32 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce