Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Tool Kits : Guitar Shop Starter Kit

Guitar Shop Starter Kit


Read 18 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our 3 most popular pro tool sets, combined! Fret Work Step-By-Step book and our luthier's digital caliper are included FREE.

See details below

Email a friend
Guitar Shop Starter Kit

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4942 With inch String Action Gauge Yes
$475.41

4942-M With metric String Action Gauge 2-3 weeks
$475.41


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Essential Fretting Kit



Basic Setup Kit



Essential Nut Making Tool Kit



Fret Work Step-By-Step



Guitar Player Repair Guide



Essential Fretting Kit
Basic Setup Kit
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit
Fret Work Step-By-Step
Guitar Player Repair Guide



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Ready for business!
When you're ready to make the dream of your own repair shop a reality, we're ready to help you get a good head start. We've combined our three most popular guitar setup and repair tool sets, and included a FREE Fret Work book and luthier's digital caliper.

These are the same professional tools we supply to leading lutherie schools, designed by luthiers and used every day in shops that depend on high quality, durable, innovative tools for their livelihood. Good tools that quickly pay for themselves and help you grow your business.

Our Guitar Shop Starter Kit includes:

The Essential Fretting Tool Kit
 Fret Cutter
 Deadblow Fretting Hammer
 6" Fret Leveler
 Double-edge Fret File
 Fret End Dressing File
 Dressing Stick
 Fret Rocker
 Fret Work Step-By-Step Book (included FREE)

The Basic Setup Kit
 String Action Gauge
  (Metric version included with #4942-M kit)
 18" Precision Straightedge
 Set of 9 Understring Radius Gauges

The Essential Nut Making Tool Kit
 Set of 4 Double-edge Nut Files
 Set of 2 Nut and Saddle Shaping Files
 Gauged .010" Saw
 Feeler Gauge Set
 Nut and Saddle Vise
 String Spacing Rule

FREE Luthiers Digital Caliper



/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Guitar Shop Starter Kit
Guitar Shop Starter Kit
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 18 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 18 < 1  2
5 1-12-2012
Yes, It is

I use every thing in this set, good for fret job setup nut/setup guitar

niponz  Thailand Read my reviews (31)
4 11-04-2011
Guitar shop starter kit

This is a good basic kit for setups and nut making. I wish it included the neck jig or straight edge with the string slots and both crowning files for frets.Make it a real bargain and throw in one of those three.

abieber  arizona Read my reviews (3)
4 9-07-2011
A pretty good start....

This kit is well worth the $$$, if you have it. Within minutes of opening the box I was well on my way to making my 78 LP Goldtop play like butta using the straightedge, feeler gauges, fret rocker, understring radius gauges and a few files.

Based on my initial experience, perhaps a Gibson and Fender truss rod wrench should be included. All the tools seem well made but you can tell right away that the numbers on the files will rub away eventually. I'm going to add numbers to my file handles with a label maker.

Thom Abell-String Theory Guitar Repair  Mount Juliet, TN Read my reviews (20)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-18-2011
a god send..

this is an absolute fantastic kit, and truly is good enough to fix any guitar issues! I can't go on tour without these now

JMOGuitars  Cardiff, UK Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-16-2011
Nice kit

I have used most of these tools and they haven't let me down. It would be nice if they included a 24" straight edge instead of a 18" though.

MN_Jeff  Appleton, Wi Read my reviews (9)
5 5-12-2011
Great Beginnings

I couldn't top the value of this starter kit adding individually to my shopping cart. The calipers , booklet and especially the savings couldn't be ignored! Suitable items for the beginner repair guy.

toneage  canada Read my reviews (6)
5 3-06-2011
Great Kit

This is a great kit. I wanted some tools to make a guitar after doing some repairs on electric and accoustics. The Fretwork booklet and info sheets are full of great information. The Vise is really good for holding nuts and bridge pieces without making marks. The files and free caliper have already been noticed by guitar makers. All the tools deserve good reviews

Really good value for money

Mike Lee  Brisbane Australia Read my reviews (6)
5 3-01-2011
The best start!

I haven't bought this package but own all of the components of it, which are the essentials for any competent guitar servicer. Great price. Anything else you might need is more of a case-by-case basis or specializing in specific kinds of jobs.

T Copley  Australia Read my reviews (22)
Displaying 11 – 18 < 1  2 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 13 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce