Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Tool Kits : Basic Setup Kit

Basic Setup Kit


Read 97 Reviews   |   Write a Review

  • String action gauge
  • Understring radius gauges
  • Precision straightedge
  • FREE guitar setup instructions


See details below

Email a friend
Basic Setup Kit

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3910 With inch String Action Gauge SAVE $4.90 Yes
$96.95

3910-M With metric String Action Gauge SAVE $4.90 1-2 weeks
$96.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!



Precision Straightedges



Radius Gauges



Dan Erlewines Maintenance & Setup for Steel-string Acoustic Guitars



Dan Erlewines Maintenance & Setup for Electric Guitars and Basses



How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!
Precision Straightedges
Radius Gauges
Dan Erlewine's Maintenance & Setup for Steel-string Acoustic Guitars
Dan Erlewine's Maintenance & Setup for Electric Guitars and Basses



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Instructions
Make any guitar play better!
We're often asked to recommend "must-have" tools for setting up acoustic and electric guitars. We've made it easy—the Basic Setup Kit includes our most popular setup tools. These are the same super-accurate, high quality steel setup tools that professional repair shops depend on.

Includes:

String Action Gauge The fastest way to measure the height of strings, nuts, saddles and pickup polepieces. Designed for stringed instrument work, it's much faster to use than any ruler.

18" Precision Straightedge Machined for fanatic accuracy (to ±.0015" per foot)! Use it to check neck relief and evaluate truss rod adjustments.

Understring Radius Gauges A big help for matching bridge saddle heights to the fretboard curvature, for easier playability. Accurately laser-cut from stainless steel, the set includes 9 different fretboard radii.



Truss rod adjustment is an important part of guitar setup, too.
Our Truss Rod Wrench Set has the tool you need.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Basic Setup Kit
Basic Setup Kit
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 97 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 81 – 90 < 1  ...  8  9  10 >
5 1-31-2011
small repair shop

I have a small repair shop and do setups all the time. Each item in this kit is one that I use constantly. Well worth the investment.

Parhal  Wisconsin Read my reviews (8)
5 1-27-2011
Essential!

The basic setup kit is a must for every guitarist and bassist out there, who's serious about their instruments. Proper setup is important for a guitar to perform at it's highest potential. This is an investment you're not going to regret!

Magnus Nordbye  Hamar, Norway
5 1-12-2011
Great set!

My wife gave me this set as a gift for christmas. I am a pro musician getting into minor guitar repair and french polishing. This set allowed me to set up all of my guitars to perfection. My friends now pay me to do their guitars. The radius gauges helped me set my saddle to fit the neck contour. Must have for basic setups!

Gabriel's Guitar Repair  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (18)
5 1-01-2011
Just what I needed!

I have 3 electric guitars and have never felt comfortable with their "playability." After setting up my Strat and Tele with Fender's recommended measurements for a light attack I fell back in love with them!

If you are as sensitive as I am when it comes to your setup this is more then worth the price. The metric action gauge is a god send. I set up 2 guitars in less then 15 minutes.

BUY IT!

Jesus Saucedo  Chicago, Illinois
5 12-19-2010
Christmas List

I have not had a chance to use the Fret Wire. It is a Christmas gift that I just have to wait and open. I did check the packaging to ensure every item was there. Good job on the packing. Everything was secure and all of the items were received without damage. I have a lot of plans to use it all and order more.

Kazz  Troutville, VA
5 12-15-2010
Has everything you need

this kit has everything you need to do great quality set ups. I love the string action guage. I use it everyday

jakemit1  Cibolo,Tx Read my reviews (15)
5 12-12-2010
setup kit

With 8 guitars in my house setups cost money since buying this kit and the refretting kit I have saved £800. If you are thinking of buying, just buy. You cant do the job without them. Well done stewmac

john k  england Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-20-2010
Good Investment

Simple, easy to use, good results. What a tool set ought to be.

yakbass  SE Connecticut
5 11-06-2010
Must Have.....

This is the smartest purchase of guitar tools I have made. Top quality and indispensable tools for making guitar setup enjoyable in addition to fast.

Gordo K.  Columbus, Ohio Read my reviews (2)
5 11-05-2010
Basic Setup Kit a Must!

Everything you need to go from "feels right" to "is right"

WikkedEggGuitars  Sterling, CO Read my reviews (10)
Displaying 81 – 90 < 1  ...  8  9  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 12 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce