Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Tool Kits : Basic Setup Kit

Basic Setup Kit


Read 97 Reviews   |   Write a Review

  • String action gauge
  • Understring radius gauges
  • Precision straightedge
  • FREE guitar setup instructions


See details below

Email a friend
Basic Setup Kit

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3910 With inch String Action Gauge SAVE $4.90 Yes
$96.95

3910-M With metric String Action Gauge SAVE $4.90 2-3 weeks
$96.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!



Precision Straightedges



Radius Gauges



Dan Erlewines Maintenance & Setup for Steel-string Acoustic Guitars



Dan Erlewines Maintenance & Setup for Electric Guitars and Basses



How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!
Precision Straightedges
Radius Gauges
Dan Erlewine's Maintenance & Setup for Steel-string Acoustic Guitars
Dan Erlewine's Maintenance & Setup for Electric Guitars and Basses



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Instructions
Make any guitar play better!
We're often asked to recommend "must-have" tools for setting up acoustic and electric guitars. We've made it easy—the Basic Setup Kit includes our most popular setup tools. These are the same super-accurate, high quality steel setup tools that professional repair shops depend on.

Includes:

String Action Gauge The fastest way to measure the height of strings, nuts, saddles and pickup polepieces. Designed for stringed instrument work, it's much faster to use than any ruler.

18" Precision Straightedge Machined for fanatic accuracy (to ±.0015" per foot)! Use it to check neck relief and evaluate truss rod adjustments.

Understring Radius Gauges A big help for matching bridge saddle heights to the fretboard curvature, for easier playability. Accurately laser-cut from stainless steel, the set includes 9 different fretboard radii.



Truss rod adjustment is an important part of guitar setup, too.
Our Truss Rod Wrench Set has the tool you need.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Basic Setup Kit
Basic Setup Kit
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 97 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  10 >
5 10-16-2013
must have

great quality, great function.really makes setups a snap. why pay fifty bucks a shot at a guitar store when you could spend a hundread once?

thesultan  Portland,Me Read my reviews (3)
5 8-24-2013
Must have Tools!!!

I already purchase this item.great!! help my job much-much more accurate and easier no need to be math genius to use it...Must have tools!!!

Barry Philip  Penampang Baru,Sabah,Malaysia Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-20-2013
The Right Tool for First Time Fretters

I ordered this tool kit when conducting my first refret job. I was nervous, but using these tools and instructions I was able to properly install, dress, and level frets on a strat. Don't try to cut corners by ordering the tools separately, you will need everything here!

Terence  Missouri Read my reviews (15)
5 6-17-2013
Basic Setup Kit

An excellent piece of kit , everything you need to get started in one package

John at the guitar hospital  london england Read my reviews (2)
5 6-17-2013
Great!

I am not a luthier and I just wanted to setup my electric guitars. And with these tools it was piece of cake. Thank You!

emericus  Presov, Slovakia
5 6-16-2013
Expensive AND Worth EVERY Cent!

If you're DIY-challanged like me this kit is a must! It pulls together all you need to do a great set-up - tools and instructions. Yes, you can find cheaper tools or use no tools at all. But, for me, the convenience of getting the right tools and great instructions far outweighed any cost savings. Unlike a lot of other people here I freely admit I am totally ignorant about do-it-yourself projects. I break out into hives and hyperventilate when I need to screw in a lightbulb. But, I did want to start doing my own set-ups. Now I can. And if I can you definitely can! Also, do yourself a favor and also get Dan Erlewine's excellent book "How To Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!" It brings all of the procedures to life...

SlopeRocker  NYC Read my reviews (3)
5 6-01-2013
Great place to start

The Basic Set up kit is a great starting point for any advanced player or beginning guitar tech. Having the correct tools for the set up allows for precise and accurate adjustments.

Axemon Dan  Williamsburg, Va
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-17-2013
Great basic Kit

Great quality on the tools, the guide is really simple but achieved a nice setup and I am happy with the results, my guitar feels great to play.

RodrigoR  Rochester, MN
5 5-16-2013
Just buy it

I didn't want to buy this cause its a bit pricey for what you get but then I got one and realized its worth every penny. You'll use the strait edge and string height gauge/measuring tool every day. It is very basic and you'll need more tools later but this is where to start.

PNC Guitars  Washinton USA Read my reviews (26)
5 5-13-2013
Life saver for repairman job

This basic set up kit really suit with its name but you can use it for variety job like fretting and make a new acoustic saddle using the under string radius and can pin point accurately depth or height saddle using the string action gauge..for making new string nut also really good even I still think better buy the correct tools for it (time saving)...other i have no complaint good tools good quality worth to buy it!!

Barry Philip  Penampang Baru,Sabah,Malaysia Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 12 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce