Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Templates : Tremolo Routing Templates

Tremolo Routing Templates


Read 37 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Template set for routing a traditional Fender tremolo and Floyd Rose and Schaller locking tremolo systems.

See details below

Email a friend
Tremolo Routing Templates
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1110 Traditional Strat tremolo front / rear cavites, set of 2 1+ month
$13.75
This item cannot be
ordered at this time.
1118 Floyd Rose or Schaller locking tremolo front / rear cavities, set of 2 Yes
$18.75

1119 Floyd Rose or Schaller modification for recessed front cavity Yes
$19.55

1087 Complete set of routing templates for tremolos SAVE $5.27 1-3 days
$46.78


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Swamp Ash Body Blank



African Mahogany Body Blank



Alder Body Blank



Ball Bearing Router Bits



3M Double-stick Tape



Swamp Ash Body Blank
African Mahogany Body Blank
Alder Body Blank
Ball Bearing Router Bits
3M Double-stick Tape



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
The most precise routing templates available. Helpful centerlines are laser-etched to aid proper placement, eliminate guesswork and produce cleaner results. Transparent acrylic, 3/16" (4.76mm) thick. Instructions included.

Sold individually or SAVE when you buy the complete set of routing templates.

Clear templates for Stratocasters® and clones having standard Fender-style, Floyd Rose® or Schaller locking tremolos with rear-routed spring cavities.

These time-saving templates can be attached to the body with countersunk screws or double-stick tape. We recommend ball-bearing router bits for best results.

The #1119 for recessed tremolo is a template to modify the front cavity to allow extra arm travel for super whammy action. Recessing the tremolo creates extra clearance at the rear of the unit, and increases the range of upward arm movement. The tremolo (and the strings) can be closer to the guitar's face, reducing the need for neck shims.

Use the #1110 Strat templates for proper installation of these tremolos:



Gotoh Traditional Tremolo for Strat


Wilkinson/Gotoh VS-100N Tremolo


Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo

Use the #1118 Floyd Rose templates for proper installation of these tremolos:



Schaller Locking Tremolo


Golden Age Locking Tremolo


How to install a Strat tremolo and get it right
How to install a Strat tremolo and get it right
How to install a Strat tremolo and get it right Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman has a quick tip that will save you a lot of trouble.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Tremolo Routing Templates
Tremolo Routing Templates
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 37 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  4 >
4 11-21-2013
tremolo routing templates

I found these to be a real time saver, the templates themselve need to be transfered to a much larger piece of MDF that can be really solidly secured to the guitar body. I found the double tape method completely unsatisfactory. The back template has holes in it to supposedly make use of the rear cavity cover plate screw holes, but they did not line up with the screw holes in the cover plate.

sandalogue  Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan Read my reviews (2)
5 10-25-2013
Handy

These templates make it super easy to hit the right marks. Nothing worse than an out of control hole maker! Save yourself the headache and spring for 'em!

Ropen  East Central FL Read my reviews (2)
4 8-24-2013
Watch the centerline

The vintage screw holes and overall shape of the trem are very close to a vintage Fender rout. Be aware that the Wilkinson Gotoh holes are definitely NOT centered on the template. If you mark the centerline from those, the entire rout will be skewed ~ 3/32" to the treble side, which could cause your trem block to lack clearance on the bass side of the rout for up pulls. The spacing of the Wilk/Goth holes is 2 3/16" not the 2 7/32" found on Fender Am Std or drop in replacements for it.

Midnight Luthiery  USA Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-19-2013
Easy and professional

I love to modify guitars and the right tool is a key. I went through all Internet and didnĀ“t find anything better.

rafsza  EU Read my reviews (2)
5 10-07-2012
Makes Vintage Drilling a Strat Simple

For dowelling and re-drilling this Mex-Strat for a Vintage Bridge, this template made a tough job simple. After the dowels were glued into place, I used this template to drill the mounting holes for the bridge. Just something about the tone of the vintage Strat bridge with steel tone block that's well worth it.

GZ  Media, PA Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
4 9-16-2012
good

It's a piece of laser cut plastic.

James Love  Z-Tron Read my reviews (18)
5 9-13-2012
No-brainer

I bought these templates to rout a body I was building for a Floyd Rose bridge from the '80s. Upon receiving them, I verified that the post spacing was accurate and scribed the squaring line between the posts. After that, it was a matter of drilling to attach the template, drilling the aligning hole through the body, routing the front, locating the back template and routing the spring cavity. The drilling (with a drill press) and routing was routine and everything came out perfect. Is peace of mind worth $19 to ya?!

DrewB  Independence, MO Read my reviews (2)
5 7-02-2012
templates

the templates I got where just what i needed.and they work great

lefty's rule  duluth mn Read my reviews (32)
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-02-2012
temolo templates

these are gtreat template to work with.I make thicker templates and keep these for masters.

lefty's rule  duluth mn Read my reviews (32)
Customer supplied image for review
2 6-13-2012
Ehh....

Not what it claimed to be. Although this is a nice, quality template, It does not accurately fit the wilkinson/gotoh vs100 trem, as I was informed by Stewmac that it would not only fit it, but perfectly. Once I received the template, I placed trem inside (and on several different angles and axis) and it didn't line up properly where the bridge pins are supposed to go. If I had a Strat, this would be perfect... but I don't, so it is a $13.75 paper weight. There should be more detailed information on it... or any of these for that matter. A little disappointed.

Habstep18  Colorado Springs Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 67 of our latest catalog.


Stratocaster® and Strat® are registered trademarks of Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.


Floyd Rose® is a registered trademark of Floyd Rose Industries.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce