Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Templates : P-Bass Pickup Routing Template

P-Bass Pickup Routing Template


Read 10 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Transparent acrylic templates to rout for Precision Bass® pickup.

See details below

Email a friend
P-Bass Pickup Routing Template
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1103 For body cavity and pickguard cutout Yes
$5.55


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Pickup/Control Cavity Routing Template Set



Ball Bearing Router Bits



3M Double-stick Tape



Dremel 4000 Rotary Tool Outfit



Bosch Colt Router



Pickup/Control Cavity Routing Template Set
Ball Bearing Router Bits
3M Double-stick Tape
Dremel 4000 Rotary Tool Outfit
Bosch Colt Router



Details
 Pictures
Laser-cut for precise edges: Our routing templates are laser-cut for smooth edged precision, and centerlines are laser-etched when needed for correct placement.

Our 3/16" (4.76mm) transparent acrylic templates ensure proper router placement on a guitar body or pickguard, eliminate guesswork and produce cleaner results. They can be positioned with countersunk screws or double-stick tape.

Carbide-tipped Ball-bearing Router Bits are preferred for use with our templates.

These single-coil templates are also included in our Pickup/Control Cavity Routing Template Set which has ALL of our Gibson and Fender pickup routing shapes plus control cavities.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
P-Bass Pickup Routing Template
P-Bass Pickup Routing Template
 
3 out of 5 stars
Based on 10 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10
2 2-02-2013
I just don't know

It looks ok for the body cavity, but I can't imagine how it could be used for the pickguard cutout, which is far more critical.

alder  NJ USA Read my reviews (17)
4 9-07-2012
P Bass Template

Cavity is perfect,,,bigger work space for router base would be good !! ps,,those who state thicker templates,,they make pattern tracing bits that are 1/2 x 1/2 ,,works like a charm with this thin material . then just go over the cut with a 3/8's tracer

axman  Long Island . NY Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-23-2012
This is a no brainer, seriously...

I've spent a lot of time thinking this through beforehand, and I've decided to give a review based on logic and analysis... For those of you that didn't give this 5 stars, I present these thoughts. If you don't have a CNC machine, you are not going to get the 1/8 inch radiused corners of a P-pickup route into the body. I don't know why no one has realized this but you can forget it, not going to happen. They don't make a 1/8 inch flute bit with a bearing on top, unless Dremei makes one. What does exist however, is a 3/16 pattern/trim bit with a bearing on the bottom. So you can pattern the inside from a Fender pickguard to make your own pickguard or mounting ring, or if you're building a replica, then you're going to use a pickguard anyway. And by the way, if you want to make you're own humbucker mounting rings, you will need the 3/16 pattern bit. EVEN IF Stewmac offered a perfectly precise template with 1/8 radiused corners, you still won't get them tight enough with a 3/8 or 1/2 inch flute bit. And believe me, I've looked for small router bits.
So my recommendation to you all is assume you will use a pickguard if you think you might not like the look of the slightly larger and rounded corner route from this template. If you're painting it black then it won't really be obvious anyways, but I'm just taking all these things into consideration. I haven't tried the jazz pup template, but it looks like the 3/8 bit will give you tight corners, haven't analyzed it yet. I'm giving this 5 stars because its made precisely, with lines to line it up with. I'll use this for the body and cover it with my own custom mounting plate/ring which I patterned already, and then zipped around the outside for the final shape. Sorry I'm not providing a picture at this time but the pickups fit tight into it. Once I'm done I will put the P-pups in the route, then put my ring over it to line it up, then drill my holes for the ring into the body. Easy as pie :-)

DAB Custom Guitars  Pa Read my reviews (9)
1 6-19-2012
P-Bass pickup routing template

This template is a great disappointment. I have always been very satisfied with StewMac products but this one isn't worth the money. It is a very sloppy fit. It is certainly too sloppy for a body route and I would think even for a pickguard. The J template is a perfect fit so I am at a loss to explain why this one is so poor in comparison.

JBenesh  USA
1 10-18-2011
P Bass template? No thanks!

I'm building my take on the P-Bass with split Prec p'up and Jazz bridge p'up, neither being set into a pickguard.I've got the templates for P90/mini hum, Jazz bridge and full-size 'bucker and they're great, but the P-Bass is a total dud!

The Fender Vintage pickup doesn't fit (maybe the Golden Age ones do?) and the screw flange routs are far too large! Very disappointing. So I now have to somehow fill in the extra space and re-rout free-hand or find p'up covers with huge screw flanges.

Kenny Fox  Perth, Australia Read my reviews (11)
1 10-09-2011
Don't use for pickguard!

Body cavity - yes. Pickguard - not a chance. It's simply not the same shape or size as a P-Bass pickup! Not nearly good enough for professional fit and finish. StewMac did such a perfect job on the J-Bass pup template (recommended) but I'm very disappointed with this one.

MB  Canada
4 2-06-2011
P-Bass Pickup Routing Template

Perfect for under pickguard cavities but too big for open no-pickguard cavities. Template should be pickup sized like the Jazz Bass templates.

Martín  Rosario, Santa Fe, Argentina Read my reviews (78)
4 11-05-2010
Almost perfect

I had to do a little final hand shaping of the pickguard opening, but still pretty good.

Bluboibass  Acworth, GA USA Read my reviews (13)
3 9-19-2010
P-Bass routing template

Good for an under the pickguard roomy body cavity, but not as ideal for a no-pickguard snug fitting body cavity or a close fitting pickguard opening. It works fine, so it just depends on how close you what your pu's to fit, especially at the side screw flanges.

GEO  Pacifica CA Read my reviews (2)
5 7-16-2010
works great!

love it.

Schuyler  San Francisco, CA Read my reviews (15)
Displaying 1 – 10 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 36 of our latest catalog.


Precision® Bass and P-Bass® are registered trademarks of Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce