Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Templates : Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender

Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender


Read 31 Reviews   |   Write a Review

For guitars and basses. Accurate template for Fender and guitars with bolt-on necks.

See details below

Email a friend
Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1120 Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender Yes
$22.75


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Blank-peghead Guitar Necks



Electric Guitar Neck Blanks



Ball Bearing Router Bits



3M Double-stick Tape



Alder Body Blank



Blank-peghead Guitar Necks
Electric Guitar Neck Blanks
Ball Bearing Router Bits
3M Double-stick Tape
Alder Body Blank



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Instructions
Dual-purpose: with patterns for both guitar and bass. Laser-cut acrylic with accurate centerline.

Use this template with our 1/2" Ball Bearing Router Bit to create a clean neck pocket for guitar or bass.

The template is slightly oversize to allow for variations in neck width and finish thickness. To rout a smaller neck pocket, reduce the template size by adding a few layers of binding tape. To learn more see instructions.

Note: both the guitar and bass routs are shaped for necks with radiused heels (Strat®, Jaguar, P-Bass®, J-Bass®). The guitar rout is not intended for use with Telecaster® necks (which have a square heel). Typical neck joint rout depth for a Fender® guitar or bass neck is 5/8".

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender
Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender
 
4 out of 5 stars
Based on 31 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 5-07-2011
Neck Template

Wish I bought this template sooner. Follow the new instructions and you will be good to go.

Clell  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (21)
3 5-02-2011
Neck Joint Routing Template For Fender

This template is sold as a "FENDER" neck template. Yet it is over-sized to accommodate over-sized Fender "type" necks. To actually use it for a Fender neck requires padding the template or router bit with tape. Seems like a "FENDER" template should fit Fender products. Very disappointing and unprofessional.

Doug Rowell  L.A. CA.
1 4-06-2011
Not as expected

To be fair, these aren't unusable as they come, but to have a nicely fitting neck joint you're going to need to either tape the edges to reduce how oversized these have been cut, or use bearing guided bits on your router to counteract it. A shame really as the rest of the templates have been great! :(

Fusion Guitars  St Columb, UK Read my reviews (2)
StewMac responds

Fusion Guitars,
We're sorry to hear this item didn't meet your expectations. You may return it, unaltered, for a refund or exchange.

4 4-03-2011
Great template

I bought this template to aid in a bass build I was doing for a pal. The neck is from Allparts, the heel is a tad smaller than the temp. I used masking tape to down size the template and it worked great!

Ronald  Sulphur, Louisiana Read my reviews (9)
4 3-26-2011
Thicker would be nice

The template is the perfect shape of Fender neck heels, as you would expect. I wish it were a little thicker, though, because using a 1/2 inch high bit, and starting with 1/8 inch deep route, causes the bearing to be above the template. I know the instructions say to put some shims under the template to give it extra height, but it it were just 1/8 inch thicker this would not be needed.
Having to stop and remove the shims introduces the possibility that you won't align it exactly the same when you do the deeper passes, causing a bit of ledging on the sides of the pocket.

Stalky  Friendship, ME
2 1-24-2011
Good but with flaws

This is a nicely made accurate template with one huge flaw. It is way too oversized. The instructions say to use masking tape to increase the bearing size. This does not work well. If the bearing catches at all it simply melts off the tape increasing the route size and ruining your project. They should offer a template in the correct size and also an oversized version.

Most variations are about .005 to .010 not .040 it's just too much. I have purchased one elsewhere that is the correct size and it's far less hassle. I should have returned this one as soon as I measured it!!

SteveG  Dodge City KS Read my reviews (2)
2 1-05-2011
Template sucks

While it is true that this template is finely cut, and the center line and holes are most useful, what would REALLY be nice is if they did NOT cut the thing .040 over. Following the instructions, I put .020 worth of heavy duty masking tape over the bearing. The tape came off, in the process ruining the template AND destroying the body. Cost me $103 bucks and that is money I could use elsewhere. Needless to say I am rather angry.

Gar  Wheat Ridge, Colorado
StewMac responds

Gar,
Please accept our sincere apologies for the problems you've had with our Neck Joint Router Template. Your review inspired us to take a second look at how we can make this template more "user friendly". We've also edited our instructions and added an online video that addresses some of the problems you described. We take customer feedback very seriously and we'll continue to work hard to provide our customers with high quality, easy to use tools they can depend on.

5 12-09-2010
Great product

I used this to build my custom guitar and it worked excellent. I am very pleased with the results

Thomas Miller  Saint Clair, MO
Customer supplied image for review
4 10-16-2010
Good, but...

This is an incredibly useful tool, but it would be even better it were twice as thick, then you wouldn't have to raise it up on various contraptions.
Also, would be good if there was one for a Telecaster, and another one that gives you the 4-5 degree angle needed for a tune-o-matic bridge...

Rhythm Shack  UK
Customer supplied image for review
4 10-07-2010
Neck Pocket Routing Template

This work great as long as you take note of the instructions. I suggest using a router bushing, like that which you'd use routing hing butts, rather than the Ball Bearing Router Bits. Then you get a nice tight fit on your neck to body joint. Other than that it works just fine. The center line is extremely helpful it getting the correct line-up.

JTE Guitar Works  La Pine, Oregon Read my reviews (7)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 36 of our latest catalog.


Stratocaster® and Strat® are registered trademarks of Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.


Jazz Bass® is a registered trademark of Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.


Precision® Bass and P-Bass® are registered trademarks of Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.


Telecaster®, Tele®, and Esquire® are registered trademarks of Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce