Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Templates : Humbucker Pickup Routing Template

Humbucker Pickup Routing Template


Read 41 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Transparent acrylic templates to rout for Gibson humbucking pickup.

See details below

Email a friend
Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1094 For body cavity rout Yes
$5.55

1095 For pickguard cutout Yes
$5.55


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Pickup/Control Cavity Routing Template Set



Ball Bearing Router Bits



3M Double-stick Tape



Dremel 4000 Rotary Tool Outfit



Bosch Colt Router



Pickup/Control Cavity Routing Template Set
Ball Bearing Router Bits
3M Double-stick Tape
Dremel 4000 Rotary Tool Outfit
Bosch Colt Router



Details
 Pictures
Laser-cut for precise edges: Our routing templates are laser-cut for smooth edged precision, and centerlines are laser-etched when needed for correct placement.

Our 3/16" (4.76mm) transparent acrylic templates ensure proper router placement on a guitar body or pickguard, eliminate guesswork and produce cleaner results. They can be positioned with countersunk screws or double-stick tape.

Carbide-tipped Ball-bearing Router Bits are preferred for use with our templates.

These single-coil templates are also included in our Pickup/Control Cavity Routing Template Set which has ALL of our Gibson and Fender pickup routing shapes plus control cavities.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 41 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 >
3 11-22-2012
Thicker

Basically there would be no need to prop these templates up higher if they were built thicker in the first place. Once you get the initial route started in the wood, your bearing wheel will take over the rest of the way and you can remove the template...so why not just build the template thicker? Otherwise they are good...except I've already chipped mine out, ruining it because I was tired of building splints for it and tried to just use it as is, and set my bearing wheel to a sliver to catch the template...but of course it slipped. Anyway, it's kind of making me angry just thinking about it.

Peter Lagios  Clear Lake, Iowa Read my reviews (7)
5 10-26-2012
Great template

Works a treat. Bargain.

Leroy  Australia Read my reviews (2)
4 10-20-2012
Good, basic template

These are good basic templates...a little thin which several folks have already mentioned. I have the entire set and use them regularly. Be carefull not to catch the acrylic template with the router bit or other cutting tools as it will chip unlike polycarbonate. I remove the cavity waste wood with a forestner bit first and then use the template to clean up the job.

PST Guitars  King George, VA Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-24-2012
perfect fit

I just used the humbucker template to route the cavities for my first guitar build. I screwed it directly to the body, because it lined up perfectly with the pickup rings I used. The only hiccup here is that you need to countersink the holes pretty deep if you don't want your router base to drag on the screws.

Using a 7/16" collar on my router, I used a combination of 1/4" and 3/8" bits (the 3/8" has a very close fit to the collar, so be careful not to ruin your bit or collar). Worked great with no other need to tape or mod the template.

Robert P.  Virginia Read my reviews (2)
5 8-22-2012
Makes things quick and easy.

A well made, accurate template. If you're going to use humbuckers you're going to need it. I hog out material to depth with a 1/2" bit and use a 3/8" bit on the corners for a little extra wiggle room.

Ayers Guitar Co.  Phoenix, AZ Read my reviews (14)
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-02-2012
humbucker templates

good starter templates so you can make thicker ones.

lefty's rule  duluth mn Read my reviews (32)
Customer supplied image for review
2 6-22-2012
template is too thin

The Humbucker template is a nice piece, but in my opinion it is too thin. I thought I had my router bit and bearing set to the correct depth but I was a hair off so the bearing wound up binding on the wood and melting the template. This was my error, but this error could have been avoided if the template was thicker. I wound up building my own template out of fiber board.

Cory H  St Paul, MN
5 2-03-2012
What more to say

This is the perfect template to use for a Humbucker Cavity. Make sure to use bearing on your rotor bit so you dont cut in the template

DT  New-brunswick Read my reviews (22)
5 1-01-2012
Works

A little thin, but well made. Must be handled carefully.

Claudio Kezen  Brazil Read my reviews (18)
5 10-12-2011
Really good

Like these a lot, I've bought two and stuck them together, gives a better guide for your first pass.

Slicepack  UK Read my reviews (12)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 36 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce