Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Templates : Control Cavity Templates

Control Cavity Templates


Read 11 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Rear control cavity and cutout set for our Control Cavity Cover Plate.

See details below

Email a friend
Control Cavity Templates
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1117 Set of 2 Yes
$16.75


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Swamp Ash Body Blank



African Mahogany Body Blank



Alder Body Blank



Ball Bearing Router Bits



3M Double-stick Tape



Swamp Ash Body Blank
African Mahogany Body Blank
Alder Body Blank
Ball Bearing Router Bits
3M Double-stick Tape



Details
 Pictures
Transparent acrylic routing templates are laser-cut for smooth-edged precision. They ensure proper router placement on a guitar body, eliminate guesswork and produce cleaner results. We recommend ball-bearing router bits for best results.They can be positioned with countersunk screws or double-stick tape. 3/16" (4.76mm) thick.

Set of two templates: for the cavity in the body, and the recess shape for flush mounting the cover plate.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Control Cavity Templates
Control Cavity Templates
 
3.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 11 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
1 8-28-2013
whats the point

You're supposed to use the cover template to make a very shallow route. But in order to do this you have to make a thicker template or shim it. Thats right, time wasted.

madmannc  nc
3 7-21-2013
Templates are over-sized

I find these templates to be way over-sized for what the actual cavity sizes should be. In order to use these templates effectively, you will have to line the inside of the templates with several layers of adhesive tape to reduce the template size. This is aggravating, a hassle, very time consuming, and seldom results in a neat job. You can also try to route out your own templates using this template set as a guideline especially for curves (use double sided tape and keep moving these templates over the ones you create with the guided router bit tracing only selected portions of the over-sized templates, so you would end up with the exact (reduced) template sizes you are after). Some folks above made reference to the templates being too thin. I find the thickness to be adequate. The templates have the center lines clearly marked which is a plus. In summary, these templates are not a disaster but they are not very very adequate either.

Tarek S.  Plymouth Meeting Read my reviews (3)
4 7-18-2013
Bigger than anticipated

The template was bigger than expected but worked well.

CJ Mac  Wheeling, WV Read my reviews (4)
4 6-18-2013
Very useful

These are good, and the price is not bad. I would recommend using these as master templates to make other, thicker templates.

rich.chaffins  Morgantown, WV Read my reviews (11)
4 6-14-2013
Seems okay

I just got mine, was a little bigger than anticipated. However, I'll still try to use it. Its fairly thin, but still feel substantial, not at all flimsy. I'll likely try making a copy to some thicker MDF before using it on my guitar.

Andrew H.  South Carolina, USA Read my reviews (44)
3 9-18-2012
Got somewhere in the end.

I am not sure that I am on the ball with these templates. They are recommended for use with ball bearing router cutters but these are too long to cut the shallow shelf for the cover itself. So I copied the templates onto thick ply to solve the problem - and so I had much bigger templates that could be clamped down too. Given that is what one is supposed to do with templates (i.e. make a working copy) then I guess that this is good kit. But a hint or two would have been nice. Probably just as easy to make your own from scratch.

CliffE  UK Read my reviews (7)
2 4-28-2011
not quite II

I have to agree with Cory. I'll probably have to make a template for the inner part myself.

Claudio Kezen  Brazil Read my reviews (18)
2 4-24-2011
not quite

The fact that these are laser-cut made me think they should be superior to any template I could make myself. The fact is, the outer template does not have smooth transitions from the straight section to the rounded ends. As you get to the rounded part, the shape actually goes outward a bit. This results in an imperfect cavity shape (hard to match cover plate shape exactly to this cavity shape). To be honest, I could just make a template myself if I was satisfied with this level of precision.

Cory  South Lyon, MI Read my reviews (2)
5 4-03-2011
Another great tool from SM.

Used along with the SM control cover, this is the easiest and neatest install I've done on a control cavity cover.

Ronald  Sulphur, Louisiana Read my reviews (9)
5 12-15-2010
Good Templates

Could be a little higher but fixed with some shims. I had no problems using these templates.

jakemit1  Cibolo,Tx Read my reviews (15)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 36 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce