Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : String Lifter

String Lifter


Read 50 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Speeds nut slotting jobs! This simple little tool will save you a lot of time when you're filing a nut slot.

See details below

Email a friend
String Lifter
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4803 String Lifter Yes
$4.79
3 or more $4.25  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

String Spreaders



Nut Slotting Gauge



Feeler Gauges



String Spacing Rule



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



String Spreaders
Nut Slotting Gauge
Feeler Gauges
String Spacing Rule
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step



Details
 Pictures
Just slip it under the string in front of the nut, and quickly lever the string up and out of your way. There's no need to loosen the string, and you can quickly reseat it to check the slot depth frequently as you work, without tedious retunings.

The String Lifter fits any string up to .062". Our thanks to luthier Rolfe Gerhardt for this clever idea.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
String Lifter
String Lifter
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 50 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 >
5 4-02-2013
Great

I bought "Guitar Grease", and the string lifter works a lot better than my fingers when the strings are in tune. They don't really go out of tune that much and my fingers definately don't hurt now.

beecroft  ontario, canada Read my reviews (2)
5 1-16-2013
perfect tool !!!

This is one of the few tools I use daily in my shop. Because it is so small it really has a special place on the wall. But today I was looking for something different than a screwdriver to lock the nut on a Taylor output. This was in sight, so I gave it a try :-) Works well !!!

stijnkenens  Antwerp Belgium Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
4 1-02-2013
Works pretty good

The only problem is that the string is still under tension - it wants to chip the side of the nut slot, so be careful.

Gunner3160  Ogden UT Read my reviews (3)
4 11-26-2012
Dandy!

I would have gone five stars here, my only wish would be for a bit of a handlegrip for old fingers like mine.Way safer for fretboards than the kludges I was using before.You may want to buy a few as they are easy to misplace, but at the price it only makes sense!

Leo M Whitebird  Mpls Mnn Read my reviews (17)
5 11-13-2012
In constant use

Cheap, good and fast. You rarely get all three.

Reid Hall  New York City Read my reviews (6)
5 10-31-2012
lift your string

easy. :)

jiROck Custom  Philippines Read my reviews (58)
5 10-07-2012
Great idea

Simple and very useful item.

Kroeber  Japan Read my reviews (6)
4 10-04-2012
string lifter

i use this with the nut slot gauge

juanleggcraig  philadelphia Read my reviews (5)
5 7-17-2012
Simple and Smart

It does what it says it does. For under five bucks just add one to your next order, you won't regret it.

hbgb  New Braunfels,Texas Read my reviews (6)
5 7-05-2012
It works!

Cheap little tool that should last a while. Works as described to lift strings under tension from the nut. Didn't know how often I'd use it but have had it on the bench in use since it showed up.

tb  Portland OR Read my reviews (50)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 18 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce