Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Straightedges : String Action Gauge

String Action Gauge


Read 179 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Fast, accurate measurements for setups. Our String Action Gauge is a "Swiss Army Ruler" for setup adjustments on any stringed instrument.

See details below

Email a friend
String Action Gauge

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0670 Inches Yes
$18.95

0670-M Metric 1-2 weeks
$18.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Precision Straightedges



Radius Gauges



Guitar Player Repair Guide



Fret Rocker



Fret Slot Depth Gauge



Precision Straightedges
Radius Gauges
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Fret Rocker
Fret Slot Depth Gauge



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
Instructions
This pocket-size stainless steel rule has become a luthier's favorite in busy shops. It's the best way yet to get vital measurements on acoustic and electric instruments.
• String height
• Bridge saddle height
• Saddle slot depth
• Fret slot depth (unbound fingerboards)
• Nut height
• Pickup polepiece height


No more "three-and-a-half-64ths or 3/32" plus one of those little lines." This gauge measures in ways that regular rulers can't. —Dan Erlewine

Developed here at Stewart-MacDonald by Dan Erlewine and Don MacRostie, the gauge features a progressive string height scale: simply slide it across the frets and read the measurement under the string. It's faster to use than any ruler, and stays parallel to the fingerboard—much easier than trying to hold a ruler perpendicular to a rounded fret. The string height markers are graduated from .010" to .140" on the inch model, and from 0.25mm to 3.50mm on the metric version.

The back of the gauge has a time-saving fractional/decimal/metric conversion chart.

The String Action Gauge is made of durable stainless steel with precision-etched markings, and fits right in your pocket.

Tip: You can use the gauge to set router depth, instead of a shop ruler. It sits solidly on your router base, with the scale right where you need it.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 179 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 111 – 120 < 1  ...  11  12  13  ...  18 >
5 10-08-2011
String Action Gauge

Love it. Works great.

Doug G  NY Read my reviews (4)
5 9-23-2011
Class Action

Hello again Stew Mac, along with the nut files i purchased i also bought the "String Action Gauge" which helped to dial in the action i desired. It is a very handy tool again to take the guess work out of the job. Recommended for anyone who wants to make the job easier.

D.A.D.  Fullerton CA Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
4 9-20-2011
Cool tool!

Very clever tool, a bit smaller than I expected, but INVALUABLE nonetheless.Thank you for re-invigorating my passion for helping artistic weapons-of-expression sing to the best of their ability, Stew Mac RULES!!!

AJ  Brisbane Australia Read my reviews (4)
5 8-31-2011
great investment

This all in one tool is great addition to my tool chest.Makes set ups so much easier no guess work.

Stoner Antique  Holiday'Florida Read my reviews (2)
5 8-30-2011
My Favorite Setup Tool

This is like a Swiss Army Knife (without any moving parts). This is my most heavily-used item for setups. I'm going to purchase more of these to have on-hand at other locations. This takes the place of a ruler, feeler-gauges, a straight-edge, and calipers!

Middleton Guitars  Southern California Read my reviews (51)
5 8-14-2011
Invaluable for string changes

This is a superb little tool that easily slips in your accessories case.
Yes you can check your action at any time but especially useful when you change string gauge. Good plan to check the string height at 12th fret before the changing strings. A different gauge invariably changes the tension on the truss rod and it's as well to check to see if any adjustment is required on the truss rod.

This tool makes it easy to check before and after to ensure that your instrument plays as well after (if not better than) as before.
Great for setting pickup pole pieces too.

Teeky  England Read my reviews (2)
5 8-10-2011
Great tool - must have for set ups

This is great for set ups. I used to use feeler gauges and calipers and plain rulers. This tool blows them out of the water for ease if use.

blam  edmonton Read my reviews (4)
5 8-08-2011
Excellent Tool

The String Action Gauge is a must have tool for guitar setup. I chose the metric version, since it's better for measuring small distances. Conversion charts from metric to inches are widely available, so it wasn't a problem when comparing my results to the recommendations which are often published in inches.

I also purchased the StewMac Understring Radius Gauges, and the CruzTools GuitarTech Guitar kit, which I found on Amazon. The CruzTool kit has the wrenches needed to adjust neck truss rods, as well as a metal ruler, feeler gauges, and some other setup tools in a nice case.

These tools allowed me to setup my Tele and my Musicman bass so that they play great! Even if your guitar is brand new, you can make it play much better with proper setup.

I also bought the book How to Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great by Dan Erlewine. You can probably setup your guitar without it by using the Web and the instructions that come with the CruzTool kit, but the Erlewine book puts it all in one place, and gives some setup specs and problem solving suggestions as well.

One area that the book was a little weak on was the topic of Neck Angle. After adjusting my bass guitar's truss rod, I still needed to lower the bridge to get the right string height, but the bridge pieces were as low as they could go. So instead I adjusted the neck angle which solved the problem. Luckily, I found some good info on the web about this.

Slip'ry Dan Weisberg  San Jose, CA Read my reviews (6)
5 8-04-2011
A must have

I have more than one. I recently moved and my tools are still packed away. I needed to do a proper setup on a new guitar and I was unable to find the box where my stuff is packed so rather than do it without a string action gauge, i bought another. That's how much I feel this thing is a must have!

Tarz Tarz an mo' Tarz  Little Rock
5 7-21-2011
String action gauge

I absolutely love this tool, setting string, saddle and pole piece height is a snap now

Steve Fields  United States Portland OR
Displaying 111 – 120 < 1  ...  11  12  13  ...  18 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 12 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce